We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Brook Inn

The Brook Inn
Ranked #35 of 644 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our Business is a family run Restaurant Bar. Our Food is locally sourced, freshly prepared and cooked. We have a number of awards and are a member of Good Food Ireland We change our Menus to take advantage of the seasonality of our food.
cork
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went there on a Monday night 2 weeks ago with my partner and another couple. I asked for a small chicken salad and was told no straight away,I asked if there was any way any kind of a small salad could be made up and again was told no without asking the kitchen would it be possible. As a regular customer of 4 years i was very disappointed and will not be returning. The 4 of us were out for a 3 course meal as the other couple were from Wexford it was their first time there. We got up to leave and the waitress did nothing to encourage us to stay with any other menu options. Suprising in these economic times that restaurants are doing nothing to promote business,also tried contacting the manager on 3 different occasions to no avail.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    42
    22
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Top quality but pricey!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The setting is great, well kept place. Good atmosphere and to be fair the service was perfect. We were looked after well. The was a slight delay in the kitchen so they gave us a selection of breads to to keep us happy, which was a nice touch. The steak was beautiful and the seafood was so fresh! The house wine was also delightful and the malteaser cheesecake really topped it off. It has a really nice menu and wine list but it is a bit on the pricey side. The place is immaculately kept and it keeps drawing me back and the loyalty card is a nice option too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful food, friendly and homely atmosphere and decor”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Last Friday I had a beautiful meal and bottle of wine in the brook. The food was amazing, huge portions and excellent presentation. There is a large menu which caters to all! Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough, we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“COLD PLACE - OVERPRICED”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very cold place and very high prices for what was essentially pub grub. Service was not great either.

Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Foods not bad, staff dereadful, especially the owner/manager”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have eaten here a few times, the food is always ok/good but in the last year or so they have taken a big step back in service. Some staff are quite nice but seem intimadated by the Owners wife/Manager. She seems to not like kids unless there paying for food & as soon as there done eating she kindof wants them gone. My 2 wouldnt say boo but the eyes were incredible. Its unfortunate as this was a friendly bar/rest but I guess they forget we are in a recession and people want more than just food.
I dont like writing this review but its only fair families who will shell out 75-100 euro easily for a dinner there should know its not the place it was.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodo2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing