We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as something you find in turkey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Istanbul

The Istanbul
Ranked #125 of 633 Restaurants in Cork
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Fari is the Store Manager - Fresh food , very clean, make flat bread fresh in store, friendly and smiley people".
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“As good as something you find in turkey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten several times at Istanbul and had several takeaways....consistently good kebabs....very authentic....love their chilli sauce....the place has very basic appearance but they do great kebabs at a reasonable rate. Highly recommended to anyone who loves Turkish food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Namitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“truly worth going to check out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

really recommend this place ,can't explain only its really worth going to/check out. truly the kebabs were like i excellent. got a longing to go back but may wait till our next trip to cork .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly, Delicious, Cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

As per the title it is 'Friendly, Delicious, Cheap' its good food, cheap, yummy, friendly, clean, just go, you'll see what I mean.....Istanbul kebabs for the win by the way

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stopped off for lunch here, it was to die for both the doner & chicken kebab. Ate in-house had it served on a plate and it was huge, had an option to make it a meal for 2 euro extra, great value. They serve all the extras that comes with an authentic kebab, highly recommend here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clonmeltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good sober-me-up-food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friends and I came here most nights after partying it up in Cork. Their fries were so good. The burgers were a bit greasy, but fast food right?

The staff were great when you think of the things they have to put up with. late hours, drunk people etc.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to The Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing