We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Cork Jewel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera House at Emmet Place

Opera House at Emmet Place
Ranked #5 of 14 Concerts & Shows in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cork Opera House is southern Ireland’s premiere venue for world-class entertainment. It offers the best in Irish and international concerts, comedy, drama, dance, family fare, musicals and opera in a newly-renovated 1000-seat theatre and in the 100-seat Half Moon Theatre. Located in the heart of vibrant Cork City for more than 150 years.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Cork Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not as intimate as The Everyman Theatre but still a fantastic venue. It's great that Cork has a theatre of this size but it's even better that it's such a lovely venue with a great bar, friendly professional staff.

I don't go here half enough. I'll have to change that soon.

Top class venue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    10
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I LOVE CORK OPERA HOUSE.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love to go to Cork Opera house. The shows are always great but sometimes sweets can get pricey. Staff are lovely great location....! Hope seen to be on the stage rather then watching it...!!! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavieCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
republic
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had visited Opera House some eyars ago for lunch. At that stage, it was poor wuality sandwiches with tea/coffee. What a surprise to visit recently to see a lovely restaurant in the foyer. Food was fantastic. I only had soup and brown bread, but guest had minute stake. What a mistake I made!

I've been back since for the steak and you could not fault it. I think it would be great to dine here pre theatre, but you do not need to be a theatre goer to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank saravima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real asset to Cork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A wonderful location, and a beautiful building. A lovely way to spend an evening. The opera house itself is a lovely building, with bars/ coffee dock for a pre-show drink.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Culchiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Panto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went last December for the annual Panto. Been going to this event now for the past 16 years and still love it. The staff are very friendly and very obliging. Beautiful bar setting and lovely little cafe area at reception. Absolutely lovely nite out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lady7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera House at Emmet Place also viewed

 

Been to Opera House at Emmet Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing