We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for public transport users”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our 4th stay at this centrally located hotel (with an unusual man made waterfall),no experience of in house catering as we have always dined out.Room clean,staff friendly/efficient.Reasonably priced-well worth considering--we will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Hotel fronts onto McCurtain st.--possibly best to avoid front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your review of your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments. Thank you very much for your loyal custom – it is much appreciated.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and would encourage you to please try Greenes Restaurant where we have no doubt you will have a lovely experience.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 933 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for weekend for our anniversary .....it was lovely..really nice staff..make sure you have dinner in Greens it's well worth it , and try to enjoy the waterfall...easy walk to and from town...we'll be returning x

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your review of your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments.

We are very pleased to learn that you chose Isaacs Hotel & Apartments and of course Dinner at Greenes to celebrate your Anniversary. Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay and indeed about our staff – we greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to your return visit and hope it will be as enjoyable as the last.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel fully met my expectations and verges on 4 star quality. Greenes Restaurant is excellent and the early bird menu has a choice to satisfy all palates ,plus a discount for guests.I understand some refurbishment is ongoing and if returning as I will I will ask for a tv at eye level..A warm welcome from you great receptionist. Good security features for access to guest accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with TV at eyeline level-.My brother and I stayed in room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALASTAIRDownpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your review of your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments.

We are delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay which included Dinner at Greenes and which is all the more attractive to our residents who can avail of a 10% discount.
Thank you also for your welcome comments about our staff – we greatly appreciate it. We are carrying out some works to our bedrooms at present and we will certainly review the TV position as you suggest.

We look forward to your return visit and hope it will be as enjoyable as the last.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days this May. I wish there were a rating between Average and Very Good, but because there isn't, I'll have to go with average. The hotel staff was very nice, especially the waitstaff at breakfast. So friendly! The food was great too. The location is another plus. Even though it's not in the heart of Cork City, we really loved the area surrounding the hotel, with a fantastic restaurant right next door and pubs with great trad music down the block.

The reason this hotel gets an Average rating is the quality of the room we had and the housekeeping, which left a lot to be desired. Our room just wasn't very clean, and I rarely complain about this, but it was shabby looking. The carpet and curtains had multiple cigarette burns. When we checked in, there was old food from a former guest left behind and open in the mini-fridge. We alerted the desk staff, who contacted housekeeping to take care of it right away, which we appreciated. However, during the rest of our stay, sometimes housekeeping didn't come to clean the room until almost evening, and they didn't do a great job, forgetting to empty the bathroom garbage and not leaving enough toilet paper.

It is a decent place to stay for the price, but I think next time we're in Cork, we'll probably spend more money to stay somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your review of your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your kind comments as we greatly appreciate them.

Please accept my sincere apologies to you for the manner in which your room was presented and maintained. This is simply unacceptable and I assure you that we will take the necessary action to prevent a similar reoccurrence. Please do note that we have commenced a refurbishment program of our bedrooms and we believe this will help to ensure that our guests continue to enjoy our facilities.

We do hope that you might consider Isaacs Hotel & Apartments once again for your next stay in Cork. Indeed if you are planning a visit to the area soon, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we would welcome the opportunity to try and make some amends and to ensure your next stay restores your full confidence in Isaacs Hotel & Apartments.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. Spacious rooms but outdated. Room was very warm due the sun on the roof and windows. Sleeping with open windows was challenging due the noise of the kitchen below. Only very late in evening it was quite till early morning. No cooling possible in the room. Interesting pipes in the room with funny noises. Bathroom need a good clean up and updating to the standards of today. We were sleeping close to the exit and lift. The doors where making sometimes more noises then we liked. But the staff was very helpful and friendly. The waterfall is a nice feature. Nice bar and restaurant.
The rooms needs a makeover to keep it up for 2014 and beyond. Although previous reviews I didn't notice any refurbishment of the rooms. For us it will be a once off.
Prices are like everywhere in Ireland overrated.

Room Tip: well, if you want to be close at the station and city center this is a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

I refer to your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments and I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback as often it is only through such feedback as yours that we can attempt to maintain and improve the standards which we set.

We have commenced a refurbishment of our bedrooms which will no doubt greatly enhance the presentation of some of our older bedrooms. In the meantime, I assure you that we will endeavour to deal with the matters you raised regarding the doors, noise and bathroom.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff – they are most welcome. I do hope that you might consider Isaacs Hotel & Apartments should you be visiting Cork again. Indeed if you are planning a visit to the area soon, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we would welcome the opportunity to try and make some amends and to ensure your next stay restores your full confidence in Isaacs Hotel & Apartments.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Entrance was lovely, room was large and clean. Powerful shower with plenty of warm water and the beds were extremely comfortable. Would recommend. The only thing that was a minus was the speed of the breakfast as it was quite slow over half an hour for some sausages, bacon and beans but overall very good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kyna87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night. The entry way is spectacular with a waterfall and a small area to sit and have a meal or drink. The location is convenient for the center of town but the neighborhood is somewhat rundown. Our room was large and equipped with the worst looking chair seen in any hotel. The bath was brand new and clean. WiFi in the lobby is free and works well but you have to pay for WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,597 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,130 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: $89 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing