We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Had a lovely refurbished room on the 1st floor. We could hear the waterfall but I found it very relaxing.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was always spotless when we returned everyday and breakfast was whatever you fancied cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble.
We had a meal at Greenes on the first night on the Early bird menu which was very good value for a three course meal when compared to other similar classed restaurants around Cork.

The only downside was the rooms were very warm even in October and we would have liked a bigger bar area in the hotel, as you felt like you were intruding on guests in the restaurant, but we did have a great Irish Coffee on the patio by the waterfall.

Five minute walk to Patrick Street and loads of little side streets to cater for everyones taste in Shops, bars and restaurants.

Our personally favourite was St Paul's St and Oliver Plunkett St.

Worth a vist we loved it and would go back again

  • Liked — Service in Greenes
  • Disliked — small bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    353
    149
    53
    29
See reviews for
135
367
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Stayed here in March of 2007. The hotel has a great location, just cross the bridge from the center of cork city. Stayed here for 2 nights.

Room was nice and big, bathroom was massive, room had a safe, television etc. Bed was quite comfy also.

Breakfast in the mornings was not the best but you could deal with it, a choose of a Irish breakfast or cereal and fruit. When sitting in the breakfast room you can see the waterfall that the hotel has, which is a good touch.

Entertainment the nights we were there was a lady playing a piano (not really our style).

Overall the hotel was perfect for our short trip to Cork.

  • Liked — The room was great
  • Disliked — nothing, well maybe the entertainment
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We picked this hotel as we got a discount for booking online, and it was fairly central as well as being near the train and bus station. The room itself was lovely and the hotel has a waterfall down the cliff outside. The bed was comfortable, there were the usual tea and coffee facilities, tv and complimentary toiletries.
Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor, which was up 7 flights of stairs, but there is a lift!
The only downside was that breakfast wasn't included so if you wanted it, it was E10 each per person per night. We decided the cafe two doors down which did it for E6.50 was better value. There are two restaurants, one of which is very expensive which is where the bar is. It's a bit soulless so we had a couple of pints outside beside the waterfall which was great.
There are some nice bars nearby and some restaurants around the corner - we recommend the Thai restaurant in Bridge street

  • Liked — Location was great and the room was very comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast was extra and I think expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucy78green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed on a 'romantic' wknd, mid september. The hotel staff were lovely, really helpful. I found the parking a major hassle, but at least the car was safe! The meal in Greens was OK, (included in the package) the steak was good , the salmon was to tough and i found the menu hard to get around. Breakfast was sufficient, no baked beans or mushrooms on the fry up!! The room was clean, very warm, luckly there was air con. The bathroom was badly lite. shower caps etc wasnt refurb on the 2nd day. no face clothes. THE RECEPTION NEEDS A MAKEOVER, NOT VERY CONFORTABLE/INVITING!! The location is good, but its the wrong side of the river if u want to be in the city for shopping/pubs. (i think) we got what we paid for. the staff were great. I found Cork expensive overall...

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank moyadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

This hotel is in a good location, rooms reasonable size, but do need a bit of a lift, they are very tired, bathroom has no natural ventilation and becomes extremely stuffy.
Our room was very close to the waterfall, which even with windows closed could still be heard, so for early bedders that could be an issue. It switches off around 1.30am and is switched back on around 8am.
A building very close by is being renovated at present, and the work is extremely noisy, this begins around 7.30-8am every morning, again not ideal for those looking for some rest and a lie in. We were not notified of this disruption. The room (202)otherwise was ok, at the back of the hotel avoiding disturbance from the very busy A road to the front.

  • Liked — spacious rooms, nice leather chairs and reasonable furniture to work with
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank duckage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My husband and I were recommended this hotel by a friend of his from work. We were told that it was in a great location, was very nice, and even had a waterfall! Lonely Planet even recommended it as one of the nicest places to stay in Cork.

Yes, it had a great location and a very dramatic waterfall in the back, but the room we were given was absolute rubbish. It wasn't particularly warm outside, but the room we were given was so hot, we couldn't even sleep with sheets on the bed. If we wanted to open the window, it was ridiculously noisy from the A-road traffic. The three nights we were there we had to sleep with pillows over our heads.

Yes, it is in a lovely Victorian structure, but the rooms need a BIG overhaul and the windows need double panes to keep out the noise. It would have also been nice if we hadn't had to hear every word of our neighbors' morning conversations as well.

It truly was not worth the price, and if we hadn't already prepaid, we'd have been out of there promptly the next day.

One plus: Fab breakfast. Just don't sleep there.

  • Liked — Food and waterfall view
  • Disliked — Tiny, hot, and noisy room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxLnghrnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed in Isaac's for 2 nights during late June. The hotel is reached through a little archway, with the hotel on the right hand side. A very pretty feature is the waterfall which greets you upon arrival. The hotel's location is a good one, only a 5 minute walk/10 minute drunken walk from the livelier area of the city, whilst MacCurtain St itself also has numerous pubs & takeaway places.

We checked in quite late, roughly 2200, but disappointingly the receptionist did not speak English as her first language (she may have been French) and as such we struggled to understand things she was saying, which included her asking for a credit card as deposit but then seemingly charging us €40 (when we checked out, we were informed that this was just an imprint of the card and the €40 would be released within a few days).

Check in complete we headed upstairs to our room, 104. This was at the end of the corridor and was an odd room in that it was very long and narrow. Upon entry we were in the central room of 3 rooms. This room contained a small tv, table and chairs, desk and mirror.

To the right was a large bathroom with bath, shower, sink, toilet, as well as a large window and a heater activated by tugging on a cord (we used this to attempt to dry towels once we'd used them).

On the other side of the middle room was the bedroom, another decent-sized room which had a double bed, larger tv, wardrobe (with free-to-use safe), another large window and mirror.

There was plenty of spare bedding and more than enough towels provided. There was also a fold out ironing board and iron in the bedroom, as well as a hairdryer in one of the drawers in the desk in the "living room". Coffee & tea making facilities were hidden away under the smaller tv.

Electricity is activated in the room by inserting and leaving one of the room keycards into a slot near the door - for this reason we were given 2 keycards. The doors to the stairs and the lift are also activated using your room keycard.

We did not make use of Greene's, the adjacent restaurant.

We paid €95 per night, a sum which seemed a little steep considering the basic level of the hotel - however, the €uro is strong at the moment and Cork on the whole struck us as rather expensive so perhaps this is just the going rate.

  • Liked — Waterfall feature
  • Disliked — Perfectly satisfactory hotel but a bit more expensive than we would have liked
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_EFC_1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,415 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,006 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing