We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Waterfall”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Waterfall”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and no real complaints apart from the lift being a bit dodgy. It is an old building and the decor could probably do with freshening up a bit. Service was generally good, as was the food. The restaurant situation is a bit weird though because there is an Isaacs restaurant which is attached to the hotel but not part of it. The hotel restaurant is called Greenes and this is where you can sit outside by the artificial waterfall. We did this on the last night and had a great meal, even though it was raining, the heaters and canopy kept us very cosy. Could have done with slightly more comfortable chairs though!

Hotel is situated a couple of blocks from the river and only a 5 minute walk into the main centre

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard can get a bit noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgycockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    344
    147
    53
    29
See reviews for
133
357
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Cork to find our apartment double booked and on recommendation we called into check availability and price.
Daniel on the front desk was amazing, he couldn't put us all together as the were booked up but he was able to get us single rooms last minute and we were very grateful.
Breakfast was cooked to order and amazing, can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccabeactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Enjoyed a 1 night stay here. Location is ideal for those wishing to party or shop in Cork city centre. The surroundings are very pretty, a beautiful water feature when you enter and a spacious reception area. Room was nice: bathroom could definitely do with some TLC but clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. I left some items behind me and received a phone call, on the same day as my departure, informing me that my possessions would be sent in the post immediately. This was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorr102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For the price and the good reviews this hotel as received, I felt very disappointed when I entered my room. The lobby is nice with plenty of nice leather chairs to relax in. But the leather chair in my room was old and big pieces of leather were missing from it. There were holes in the bed sheets and the room felt old and dirty. Both the walls and the floor were stained several times over. The room was cleaned as well as it probably could be. The bathroom was small and there were mould in the cracks and corners. The window could be opened which was good as the room was very warm. However the window handles were broken so it could not be closed fully. When the people in the room above walked the ceiling lamp sounds as it would fall down every time, quite annoying during the night. There was a small flat screen TV in the room and a hair-dryer.

The location of the hotel is great. Just few minutes to St Patricks quay where the airport buses stops and then over the bridge and you are in the city centre. There is a Spar just next to the hotel and there are several of pubs and restaurants on the street. The service was good, the people in the reception were friendly and helpful. I ordered room service and the service and food was great. It seems as this was a great hotel a few years back but has since then become old and in desperate need for some renovations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel Isaacs, Cork is a perfect location for staying in the city, parking was just around the corning and only 5 Euro per night. Our room was a little dated and had a 'musty' smell to it but we were really only there to sleep. (a room that overlooks the street can be a bit noisy FYI) the staff were very friendly, the lifts a little shady, but all in all a good experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murraylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As frequent visitor to Cork and having stayed in the Isaacs a few years ago, my recent visit to the Isaacs this month was wholly unsatisfactory. I booked a non smoking room for myself and husband this was also confirmed on my booking form. When I got to my room it was obvious that it was a smoking room by the smell and there was an ashtray on the table. I was advised by the receptionist that this was prepared as a non smoking room by staff( whatever that means!) sadly the room smelt very stuffy and dirty. The room was at the front of the hotel and there was constant noise from the bar across the road until at least 1.00am. On the following day we returned after sightseeing at about 6.00pm to find our room was not cleaned! I spoke to reception staff who said I advised the Housekeeping that I did not need my room cleaned! I was very annoyed he said there was nothing he could do as the staff had gone home. After ringing again to reception I managed to get clean towels for the room. I completed a complaint form on my departure but I was unable to speak to a manager. The Isaacs is in urgent need of updating and needs to employ staff who address customer complaints.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TERESA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Isaacs in Cork for two nights at the end of July. We found the hotel excellent in every way: location: just five minutes walk to centre of city shops, restaurants, etc; few minutes from train and bus station; reception staff friendly and helpful; hotel kept spotless and rooms cleaned every day; breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked, well presented in dining room. Our bathroom had recently been updated with modern showers, etc. We did not have our evening meal in the hotel so could not comment on this.
We found the system for logging into WiFi very time-consuming and not always effective. Maybe need to update this as most clients now use WiFi for phones etc.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the beautiful waterfall and this was very pleasant. it is switched off during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing