We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique waterfall illumination”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
clonmel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unique waterfall illumination”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hi there, just back from a short stay in Isaac's Hotel in Cork ., where we were met on arrival by a very pleasant receptionist, who efficiently booked us in, described the two in house restaurants and advised us to book if we wished to eat there.The lobby was quite nice, though small, with leather seats and a "gentleman's club" feel.Our room was a strange shape, being actually three rooms,consisting of spotlessly clean bathroom, door, sitting area, door and bedroom, but that aside it was very comfortable.Free teamaking , safe and trouserpress were provided, and our room looked out on the illuminated waterfall, which was an unusual feature. The lift was small and more like a goods lift, and as I am slightly claustraphobic I preferred to use the stairs. My meal in Green's restaurant was reasonably good, but my wife's fish dish was exceptionally good. They have an arrangement where we could swim for a fee of e5 in the Metropole hotel opposite,and the hotel is within walking distance of the city centre , Shandon Bells and Buttermarket, and the Everyman Theatre is just across the road. I certainly will use this hotel again, but only for a stay of one or two days.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are much quieter, especially at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    353
    149
    53
    29
See reviews for
135
367
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was traveling trough Ireland during this summer. I had a lot of opportunities to compare cities and hotels I was there. I can say that this one I'd recommend not only to my friends but also to my hated persons. We stayed with my family in associated appartements where we were going through the poor awful yard with doors to restaurant kitchen. Equipment in appartement can be a good in a student hostel but not in the hotel. I was really disappointed by this accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved the look of the hotel - nice decor and location. Bed huge and very comfy, but pillows unfortunately a bit lumpy. The young men working on reception were very efficient and courteous, and very helpful with directions around the city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLE OF MAN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times and the apartments work out very cheap and handy for the theatre or casino. Late bar in reception and the restaurant downstairs is great and always busy.
You cant go wrong here for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORDLUCANIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Sorry Isaacs, your staff are very polite and helpful, your car parking facilities very good and secure but your apartments dreadful.
Absolutely awful accommodation which can only be likened to damp, dingy student accommodation. The apartment was on the first floor, the smell of damp, mustiness and mould hit you the second you opened the door. It was extremely cold in the apartment and the windows had been left open, presumably to cover the overpowering smell of damp in the 2nd bedroom - I certainly wouldnt have let anyone sleep in this room.
I got the heating going and sat wrapped in a blanket with my back against the radiator trying to get warm for hours. Eventually I had to give the lounge up as a bad job and packed off to bed with 2 extra blankets for warmth.
There was no working heater in the bathroom and the conditions were arctic in there with a fan pumping away creating a horrible draught - you need to be brave to strip off in there!, the toilet flush packed up at 5pm and after numerous attempts at flushing during the evening it failed to work but miraculously was working at 5am.
Had read the reviews before I came here and was surprised at what I found - nothing like home - sorry would never recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishtraveller291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very central , excellent bars and restaurants nearby
Did not have evening meals but breakfast very good
Rooms spacious and modern
Very atmospheric and romantic garden with large waterfall that is quite magical,when lit at night
Staff friendly and helpful
Very good value
Would definitely stay again
Only negative is sheets and blankets .i sleep better with duvet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway ,Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on the Jazz weekend.The hotel is very well located, nearly opposite the Metropole Hotel.It has an old world charm.The room was very quiet overlooking the side entrance.What stood out was the staff.Jeremy was very kind and organised a massage for my husband at the Imperial Hotel on Saturday afternoon as their sister hotel ,the Metropole was unavailable..We were also allowed to leave our car in the car park until late afternoon when we were leaving the city.Thank you.
We certainly will return for another break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,002 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing