We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Annie's Gastropub

Annie's Gastropub
Ranked #383 of 633 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cork,
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Took a visitor into Annie's today because it was convenient to where I was going. Got a very warm welcome and quite a large choice of menus. The meals we got were (too) large and wonderful freshly prepared to our liking. I heartily recommend it and will certainly return there again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    12
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I ate with my family in Annie’s recently after hearing some positive things about it and what a great discovery it turned out to be! It’s a little out of the city centre, so you may not come across it unless you know about it. From the outside it looks like an unassuming pub, but once inside, this is a real foodie place. Even though it is a pub, it has a lovely atmosphere and the night we were there, every table was filled with diners, so there were no tables of rowdy drinkers. The menu is written on a blackboard as you enter, so you know that it is changed regularly and whatever is fresh and good that day is served.

For starters, I had the chilli crab cake. It had lovely chunks of meaty crab with enough chilli to give a kick without overwhelm. For mains, I had seabream on a bed of squid ink linguini with calamari – an absolute favourite of mine – on top. The seabream was delicious, melt in the mouth without a single bone. The calamari and linguini was also lovely, but there was slightly too much going on with the dressing, it included orange as well as a couple of other strong flavours and really there was no need when the fish was of such high quality. I also tasted the rib eye steak which was incredible, melt in the mouth with such a fantastic flavour. We shared a variety of desserts, they were all good, but special mention to the lemon tart which was just delicious.

The price was very good considering the quality of the food, the average per head was €40 including drinks which although isn’t cheap, it’s on a par with a lot of restaurants in the city where the food would not be nearly as good. The service was very pleasant, friendly without being too in your face. I would definitely return to Annie’s and recommend it to anyone looking for good food in a homely, relaxed environment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This gastro pub is fab, and well worth a visit, the menu is seasonal and fantastic.
The atmosphere is relaxing, staff are friendly and helpful..... and the food .... wow .. is all I have to say... I've eaten here a few times and always enjoyed it, but this time it was on another level.... :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Was just wandering the streets exploring and happened upon this place. Great food and wonderful service.

Coffee and tea all day is a nice touch and really close to the Cork City Gaol if you are visiting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ou table was at 8pm, but we enjoyed a drink at the bar first. The wine list was varied and detailed. The New Zealand Cabernet Sauvignon was a great choice in the end. Our party of four were unanimous in agreement that what we were served was absolutely superb. Each person had a different starter and main course. Listing the dishes would be slightly pointless given the fact that the menu is constantly changing and kept fresh and interesting. Almost total silence during the meal was about the best indicator possible that we were experiencing properly unique cuisine. It's so refreshing that such culinary ingenuity is happening in Cork. 10/10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KcOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie's Gastropub also viewed

 
Ballincollig, County Cork
 

Been to Annie's Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing