We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“THE place to stay in Cork!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinlay House Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kinlay House Hostel
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Cork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently stayed in Kinlay House, in Cork and we loved it. First, the hostel is really well located. It’s a quiet spot in the historic neighbourhood of Shandon, 7 minute walk to the city center. It’s close enough to everything but still, away from the noise at night.

The staff was really nice and helpful. Their knowledge of the city was really accurate and they advised us well on where to go for a good session, a creamy pint, or even just a nice local spot to hang out.

Our room was nice and clean, with a view on the street and the park. The common area upstairs was big and cosy. The kitchen was clean and equipped. The breakfast was quite small (tea and toast) but at least it was included. Plus, since it’s Ireland, you should really go for a full-Irish breakfast anyway.

The place felt very safe. Someone was at the reception all the time. It was a bit annoying to leave our key at the reception and ask for it every time we came back, but on the other hand we knew that only guests were aloud in.

We’re planning on going back to Cork soon and Kinlay House is definitely where we’ll be staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GobnaithandSeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    89
    35
    41
See reviews for
12
65
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeshandra, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The folk in Kinlay House were very helpful. They facilitated our group who were doing the "Cycle against Suicide" in April 2013. They couldn't do enough to make sure that our stay well like clockwork. I was silly enough to leave my wife's "Yoga Mat" in our of the rooms at the Hostel and they went to every effort to make sure it has been returned to me. Keep up the great welcome and thanks so much for making that extra effort to ensure that we had a great stay at your Hostel. Tom Taaffe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_Taaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here a few months back with a group and was well taken care of. The receptionists pointed out a couple of places to eat and have a drink that I would never have found otherwise, an d gave a good price!
This time me and my missus booked a double ensuite, which worked out about €20 less than the B&B's we were checking. Too our surprise our room was in one of the houses adjoining the hostel which was a B&B more so than hostel. Nice bright room and Moroccon type art in the halls and stairs. Pics to follow!!

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, gym or leisure centre in the Maldron Hotel next door, just ask at hoste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here in April, rooms were excellent, well maintained and very clean. Staff were very helpful even to the point of posting keys to my home address that I had left behind. Will definitely go back as great value for money and so central to shops and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms are all well located within the building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over st paddy's weekend... The staff were so helpfull ... My luggage was lost and the manager drove me back to the airport to collect it... The room was clean warm and every thing that I needed ... Cheers guys...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hostel is perfect in the sense of it provides a secure room / bed for the night at a low rate,the best thing about staying here on this basis is the fact that you can cook your own food, which saves even more money,downside on this level was the standard of the kitchen,the gas burners on the cooker would not come on unless you had a lighter,as long as you meet someone who smokes you are laughing otherwise you are left hanging around.the frying pans could do with replacing also,I am sure my oil was leaking through one of them.

The staff were friendly and helpful whenever you asked for directions,but the moment they had a problem,if it be with a guest or a booking the whole calm atmosphere goes out of the window,while waiting in line at reception I was witness to members of staff literally ignoring guests or telling them that they were too busy to deal with them now because of their problem on the phone,you have to remind yourself at this stage that you are paying a low amount and that if you wanted high standards of customer service you should go search and find it,and then be happy to pay for it.

The room and the whole hostel was very clean,top marks for this,which is a huge BIGGY considering how many dirty students stay there throughout the year.

I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOBRIENYORINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Kinlay House is definitely a good value.
I shared my 4 beds room with 2 other people, it was very clean and so were the sheets.
There is always somebody at the reception desk, even during night time. Moreover, the staff is very friendly and helpful. If you have a question about what to visit and where to have a drink or to eat on a budget, ask! They know good places.
The location is ideal. It’s located on the historical part of Cork and it is 5 minutes walking distance to the city centre, where is all you need. It’s also far enough away from it, to be quiet.
You can enjoy free wi-fi in the TV room (which is really cosy by the way) and in the internet café.
You also can have a good breakfast with tea, coffee, toasts, etc.
I would definitely come back in this hostel next time I’ll be in Cork!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietteMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Property: Kinlay House Hostel
Address: Bob And Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing