We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinlay House Hostel
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Kinlay house is good value. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat and comfortable. The hostel is very clean, warm and well-managed. This place is recommended for those on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    83
    96
    37
    45
See reviews for
12
69
68
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Kinlay House Hostel Cork with one of my friends, in January. As we walked into the hostel I was greeted by two friendly members of staff in the reception area , who welcomed us to the hostel and to the city. We were given our key and showed personally to our room. We stayed in a four bed dorm room which was very clean and bright. As we walked through the halls of the hostel, I was immediately struck by the beautiful clean fresh smell in the halls. I felt this was a great reflection on the hostel. Our linen was clean and we had plenty of towels.
That evening we enjoyed the free Wi-Fi which was available in the hostel and visited the common room which had bright decor, and had a very traveller friendly feel to the place. We met other people from all parts of the country of Ireland in the common room and students from the USA, Europe and Australia.
The next morning we got a light breakfast and had a lovely cup of tea. It was also possible to book a Paddywagon Tour at the hostel reception , so my friend and I decided to do the Blarney and Cobh Afternoon Tour. We were so glad we could book the tour in Kinlay House and even got a slight discount on this tour , as we stayed there. This was really value for money in our eyes! This also included the entrance into Blarney Castle. We had a wonderful time on the tour and really enjoyed the tour and our guide -Mike. He was very knowledgeable on the history of the local area.
When we returned in the evening from the tour , we decided to explore the city a little more. We asked the staff at reception a few questions on attractions and they were more than helpful and obliging to point us in the right direction. They gave us a map of the city centre and showed us attractions to visit the following day in the city.
That evening we went to the Bodega for dinner and I have to say I personally loved the cod and chips which came with a dreamy tartare sauce and mushy peas! The dinner was fantastic!
All in all, we totally loved our experience at Kinlay House Hostel Cork, and we most definitely will be back in the future! We cannot wait! The staff were excellent, the tour was brilliant to Blarney and Cobh and the hostel itself is so centrally located in Cork City! Thank you Kinlay House Cork!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lally7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in Kinlay House last week, and thought it was a brilliant hostel. it smells lovely and clean when you first step in the door, and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable. I got a four bed room with my 3 friends and we had our own spotlessly clean bathroom. The bedding also smelled very clean and were so comfortable. The view from the room was nice, and luckily it was sunny when we were there. the common areas of the hostel were nice, and there was no problems with cooking any time we wanted during the day. Breakfast was also very nice. The location of the hostel is very central and is only 5 minutes from all the best bars and restaurants in Cork! it is a lovely hostel, very reasonably priced and i would recommend it to anyone going to Cork!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although the place is large and spacious enough....
I would not recommend it purely on the basis of shocking customer service - in example, the manager of the place seems to lack the basic customer relation skills, in fact he seems to give of the impression that another student at the hostel is nothing important - rather just one of many, a drop in the ocean if it were.
Secondly, their signage isn't clear, in example, they state on the kitchen door that breakfast ends at 10AM, but they close at 9:30 instead. This can be frustrating when one actually plans their sleep-in to coincide with waking up for breakfast. Furthermore, changing the sign the same morning after raising concern about it, purely to back up their argument that the sign does in fact say 'breakfast' closes at 10 rather than 9:30...... slightly deceptive perhaps.
Not going back there, EVER.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed in the hostel just for one night, with a really large group, and it was great. The hostel is big and clean, and the rooms are spacious and with their own bathroom. It was cheap and very close of the center of Cork. The common room is perfect for big groups, we could eat there without a problem.
Also, the staff is really friendly. They even found my lost glasses and sent them back to me!
In conclusion, it is a worthy hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I spent only one week in Ireland and my initial plan only included Killarney and Dingle (on the Southern part of the island), but someone suggested that we should go to Cork as well. I am so glad I took their advice! The city is beautiful and the accommodation was better than we expected. Friendly staff, clean rooms, lively atmosphere, low prices, what else can you wish for?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bogdanungureanu1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Kinlay House for 8 nights. The staff were very helpful with sight seeing recommendations, good places to eat, laundry and discounts on the Paddy Wagon Tour. I stayed in one of the female dorm rooms. The beds were cozy and the 3rd floor was nice and quiet. The room was secure and locked. There were no lockers in the room, so at everyone's own risk, we left our luggage unattended. Overall everyone in my room was very respectful and there wasn't any incident of anyone getting into other people's stuff. There wasn't any soap in the bathroom, so I ended up buying a 1 euro bottle of soap that we all shared for the week. There also wasn't any wireless in the rooms, but I was able to use it just fine in the common space. The main common space was a bit crowded and for some reason, I never felt quite comfortable there. Sometimes I would see people using the stairwells to surf the net or talk on the phone. I sorta wished they could have left the dining hall open longer to use as a common space. I thought the kitchen was very clean and lots of space in the refrigerator. The dining hall is big and spacious. I loved the location of this hostel. I would walk down the hill to the city center in a matter of minutes and I liked how it was tucked away from all the hustle and bustle. I always felt safe walking back at night. I didn't make a lot of friends at this hostel and it didn't have the sunny disposition that I usually like. Mostly everyone kept to themselves, not sure if that had to do with the particular time I was there or the overall vibe. I would like to check out a couple of other hostels when I return to Cork, but overall this place was just fine and fit all of my needs. And my # 1 tip for hostels: Never go to bed without your Ear Plugs!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Property: Kinlay House Hostel
Address: Bob And Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing