We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Looked after us well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kinlay House Hostel to your Saves list
Kinlay House Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cork
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Looked after us well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here with three friends for two nights while seeing the south of Ireland. The guy at reception gave us a four bed room for the four of us which was ideal, and cheap. The price also meant breakfast which was a nice surprise. The room was clean and had amazing views of the city, which at night was almost worth staying in for! The staff were more than helpful pointing us in the direction of what was going on where in the city and gave us tips even on the scenic route to every place which made our short stay in the city all the better. Will be staying here again when back in Cork next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    70
    81
    32
    32
See reviews for
8
58
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed: September 2008. A friend booked a double room here for us, so it was a surprise. A good one though. All rooms were painted in fresh colours. Staff was laid back. We had a room near staircase, so we could hear everybody walking the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at Kinlay house for a few days and a had a great time. The hostel was in a great location, clean, staff were very friendly and helpful withl lots of ideas of places to go out and things to do in and around cork. I met some great people while staying at this hostel which was not hard to do as they have a large kitchen and a large cozy common room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My first experience of a hostel in Ireland. After looking at all the online information about it I thought it would be a bit more fun than it turned out to be. The 'craic' I was led to expect wasn't there. The attitude of people staying in hostels these days seems to be to talk to as few people as possible. Kinlay house was like this too. The private room I stayed in had the ambience of, well, a prison cell, with industrial grade light fittings and a double bunk bed. The complimentary breakfast turned out to be just toast. If there was cereal, I couldn't find it. Nor could I find the way to the kitchen in the first place, after following all the signs from my room to the dining room, I found that the door that allowed one into the dining room was permanenty shut and/or locked. So back through the maze of buildings to find another way to the kitchen. Expecting to find lots of young folk chatting away and having a good time, instead I found people eating in silence, maybe using their mobile devices. No craic here. For the price I paid for a private room, I would have got better value from a B&B, which is what I went and did for the rest of my stay in Cork, and throughout south west Ireland. Next time I'm in Cork, I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed one night on a tour of 6 days. The bunk beds were broken, sagging and missing springs. Some toilets had no seats or toilet paper. Located in a rougher part of town. Power went out and staff werent helpful of informative. Half our group changed out after seeing the condition of the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alashand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

it's a really nice hostel, i stayed there some days. when i arrived in the next hostel i saw that i forgot my shorts! i love this shorts so i called them and i wrote an email. the next day they wrote my shorts are in the post on the way to belgium, my home! i was so happy :) :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was ok. The corridor smelt really bad like dirty socks haha. The cleanliness of the room was not that great it was very dusty. The shared bathroom on the ground floor needs attention. The toilets are blocked and don't flush properly. The worst thing is that during the weekend about 10-15 local teenagers (i could tell by the accent) stand out the front drinking alcohol and socializing out the front of the hostel. This happened on all nights of my three night stay. I came back to the hostel at midnight and was harassed out the front by some of the boys. I could then hear them talking from my bedroom. They seem rough and not friendly and I would suggest that management gets onto this. I was supposed to stay four nights but left early. The hostel is in a good location and the common room is nice and big. The hostel doesn't really have a very happening vibe I found it a bit boring and I'm a solo traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocelyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,880 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#6 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#18 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Property: Kinlay House Hostel
Address: Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing