We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely Hotel to Relax”
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there as a birthday surprise.
The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully for Christmas.
Even though our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived at about 1.30pm, we were shown around the hotel, the restaurants, bar, fitness and spa area. By the time we got back, our room was ready and we were shown to it. The staff was very friendly.
Our room was absolutely lovely, with our own little Christmas Tree, giving it all a lovely Christmas atmosphere. It was spacious, beautifully decorated and the big cast iron bath was just perfect.
Although I found the beautiful pool a little cold, the steam room, the hot jacuzzi outside and the relaxation area made up for it!
The Breakfast was lovely...there was a cold continental buffet and you could order an Irish breakfast (or anything warm) in addition to it. There was a lot of choice from fresh juices and fruit, over fresh salmon, various cheeses as well as cereals and fresh breads and pastries.
The Hotel had it's own Car Park, which was quite full, for this busy hotel. We walked into the city center in about 15min, which is an easy and straight forward walk. The traffic in the Center seemed very busy, so I wouldn't recommend taking your car! And if you do a lot of shopping, which is lovely in Cork, then just get a taxi back!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Hayfield Manor Hotel, it's an oasis away from the shopping madness (especially around Christmas). The Staff was very pleasant and friendly, yet you could hide in the Library and get your piece and quiet or book a lovely relaxing treatment in the Spa-especially nice after a day of shopping. It could get very busy in the Hotel during the day, maybe it was because there were a few functions on, probably Christmas Parties.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Dear Guest Sivimc,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel, and indeed for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for your very positive feedback to all aspects of the hotel from accommodation to cuisine, to staff and the spa. It is always wonderful to receive such great comments; they are very much appreciated by all of the team. Thank you also for your additional comments which I have taken on board.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the near future.
Wishing you a wonderful Christmas.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    356
    97
    28
    15
See reviews for
595
1,523
73
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Myself and my husband had heard about Hayfield Manor, and decided on impulse to book this location for a treat weekend, further to two weeks of snow in Waterford. We received a promotional rate for the first night, and paid the regular night for the next night, When we arrived, with our toddler son, the beauty and decor of the hotel just blew us away. It was amazingly decorated for Xmas, but apart from this, the Manor itself is so beautifully appointed in every way naturally. Every nook and cranny has obviously involved thought, design and the customer experience in mind. We wondered whether bringing a toddler to such a place was a good idea, but the greeting at the front desk dispelled any fears. The concierge was so helpful and welcoming, and learned our names within minutes. The lady who checked us in was genuinely warm, friendly, and brought us on a detailed tour of the hotel. The waiters in the bistro later in the evening couldn' t have been more accommodating with our young child despite his occasional antics. The food at Hayfield is top class and is as good value as you'll find anywhere. We were upgraded without having had to ask to a Deluxe room, and enjoyed a very comfortable and luxury laden stay. I used the spa on one of the days, and found the masseuse excellent and prices reasonable. The hotel left a courtesy basket of nappies, wipes and other items for our child in the room; again, I 've never seen this anywhere in Ireland and we both have stayed in a lot of high star hotels. I suppose what sums it up is that the hotel genuinely delivered on service in every way. You felt it was what hotels might have been like long ago when people worked in them for the love of the job, and not because they are businesses. I trust that the Hayfield will always hold on to the secret of its success, because there are very few places like this in Ireland!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest Sinead087,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write your fantastic review and for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor.

I was delighted to read your review from beginning to end. I would like to sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff, I will be sure to extend your kind comments on to them. I am delighted that you and the whole family enjoyed your stay; we like to make all our guests feel as if Hayfield Manor is their home away from home, even our little guests. It is always a great boost or morale for all of the team to receive such wonderful guest feedback, I would like to thank you again, and it is greatly appreciated.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you all back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Wishing you a very happy Christmas for all of the team and myself.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Finally, I've found an Irish hotel that ticks all the boxes. I've been in some good ones and some dives but Hayfield Manor has been a pleasure.The location is an unassuming part of cork city, but is like the secret garden once you drive through its gates. The concierge (Bart if I'm correct) is a gentleman and an example of the great hospitality that permeates through all the staff. The room was excellent. I could get picky but I won't as overall, we felt we'd found our hotel. The food was good, though generally we had to devour it quickly owing to our young son who was liable to explode at anytime. We'll be back. Its not cheap but it deserves its 5 star rating. A home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guest HonestJohn5,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your great review and for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments about our hotel, cuisine and staff, in particular Bart, which I will be sure to pass on to the whole team. We strive on a daily basis to exceed our customer's expectations and to make Hayfield Manor their home away from home, and I am delighted that you felt this throughout your stay.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the near future.
Wishing you a very happy Christmas.

Warm Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountyMeath Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed for one night on a trip around the south and west of Ireland. The hotel is lovely we didn't have time to check out all the facilities I loved the room with the Christmas tree and especially liked the putter in the room. we had dinner in the hotel which was very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Guest emilyobyrne,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor on your recent trip to the south west, and also for taking the time to write your great review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for your wonderful positive feedback about our hotel, our staff and the cuisine, I will be sure to extend your gratitude on to all of the team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

beautifully decorated for christmas. Excellent leisure facilities. Very plesant staff. Delicious food. Only disappointment was that when we checked in we enquired about booking treatments in the spa and no vacancies that day or the next due to reduced staff. Overall had a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Dear Guest nickCork,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor, and for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a most pleasant recent stay with us, and you enjoyed the hotel and the cuisine on offer. With regard to the limited availability in the spa, I would like to apopogise about not being able to cater for you on this occasion, and you can rest assured that I have taken your comments on board and will be acting upon them immediately. I do hope that this did not inconvenience your stay. Thank you again for your very positive and helpful feedback.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Not once did we have to to wait for service at Hayfield Manor - Whether it was checking in, looking after our bags, or dining in the bar or restaurant. The rooms was very warm and comfortable - The only complaint that my husband had was that the bed was too big! The food in both the bar and restaurant was delicious and served with a smile. I would absolutely recommend Hayfield Manor to anyone looking for a getaway break - A real treat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGavigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Dear Guest SGavigan,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel, and for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor.

It was a pleasure to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the cuisine on offer in the hotel, and I would like to thank you for supporting our restaurants. It was also great to read that you enjoyed the service, I will be sure to pass this great feedback on to all of the team. Again I would like to thank you for your very kind and positive feedback, it is very much appreciated.

I would be delighted to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The hotel was excellent in every way. The staff were so polite and very helpful. The hotel was so beautifully decorated for Christmas. Bedrooms were lovely, food was delicious. The Orchid restaurant on the Saturday was perfect for our birthday celebration. The swimming pool was a perfect temperature and great for doing lengths after all the eating we did. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perfeksie, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Dear Guest SOram,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield manor, and indeed for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read how much you and the family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely thank you for your very positive feedback about the hotel, our cuisine and in particular our staff and service. We strive to exceed all of our customers expectations, and to operate at the highest level possible, I do hope that we lived up to your expectations. I will be sure to pass on all of your positive comments to the whole team. Thank you again.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back through our doors at Hayfield Manor, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing