We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I were brought to the Hayfield Manor by some of my work colleagues while we were visiting Cork this summer. We did not stay at this hotel but we dined in the restaurant and it was absolutely fabulous. The food was fantastic; every meal at the table looked divine. The service was top notch as well. I would highly recommend dining here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest mklaz,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to dine with us recently, and also for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful praise of our restaurant. I am delighted to know that you were so pleased with both our service and our cuisine, and I will be certain to forward your kind comments to our team. I am sure they all will be thrilled to know what any enjoyable experience you had.

Thank you also for recommending us, it is greatly appreciated.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back through our doors again in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    342
    91
    27
    15
See reviews for
543
1,439
70
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location of this hotel on the edge of Cork squashed into a old terrace housing estate which is not in a good state of repair and this is the view from many of their rooms and suite windows.

Inside is much nicer but you are surrounded by a poor area of the city.

The food was inconsistent at best. Breakfast was excellent while early evening/late afternoon sandwiches and afternoon tea were very poor in quality and presentation eg china and cutlery.

Our evening meal was also very poor food quality.

All of our observations were taken on board by the management but each time things appeared to improve hours later something else occurred to spoil our stay.

I would avoid Cork if possible and stay in the surrounding area which would still allow you access to Cork if needed.

Room Tip: You are better on a lower floor as the view is of old worn terrace houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest Martin S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am very sorry indeed to know that you were not pleased with our location. I would however like to clarify that we are not in fact located in a poor area of the city. We are situated beside University College Cork, less than two kilometres from the very centre of the city, and therefore a lot of the local buildings and houses in the area are quite historic, with many listed buildings dating back to the 1860’s. Due to their listed status, naturally they have not been redeveloped in a more modern style but have kept their traditional designs.

I was also quite disappointed that you experienced some issues with our service and cuisine during your stay. Your feedback has indeed been taken on board, and I will be speaking with our team members to address these issues. I do apologise sincerely for any inconvenience caused.

I am sorry once again to know that you were not pleased with Cork, however if you do decide to return I would be grateful if you could contact me directly, so that I can personally oversee your visit.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a very pleasant night over the bank holiday. Room was really fabulous as was the welcome we got from the lovely Bart and the reception staff. I can't speak highly enough of those staff and of Bart. We spent the afternoon in the pool, which while reasonably small, was very nice and very well maintained. We then had dinner in Orchids - the fine dining restaurant. It was here that there were a few niggles which I felt let the place down. While the food was very good, the service was patchy. For example, despite the menu indicating that we would receive petit fours with our teas and coffees, these never arrived. I was a bit annoyed about this when I saw the table beside us get them. We also had to ask for the bill three times before it arrived. While these were small annoyances, they simply shouldn't happen in a hotel of this standard and at the price that we paid for dinner. Breakfast the next morning in Orchids tasted divine but again small niggles with the service - namely we were left waiting a full ten minutes to be seated for breakfast - this is despite the fact that there was no queue and there were plenty of empty tables. Apart from that the breakfast was really delicious and a fantastic selection. Overall a wonderful stay with just some very minor annoyances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicciDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest ChicciDublin,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to learn that your overall impression of Hayfield Manor is so positive. I am very grateful for your kind feedback on our accommodations and leisure facilities, and I am delighted to know that you and enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you also for your kind praise of our staff. I am very glad to know that Bart and our Reception team offered you a warm welcome. I am also very glad to note that you enjoyed our cuisine, and I will be certain to forward your comments to our chefs. I am sure they will be delighted.

I would like to apologise however for the poor service that you encountered in Orchids restaurant, and I would like to assure you that this is not our standard by any means. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that it may have caused you, and I would like to assure you that I will be speaking with the team members in relation to this matter.

It would be my great pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment we stepped out of our car and were greeted by Bart, the bellman until we drove away three days later with steaming cups of coffee for the road, we had an extraordinary visit. We travel frequently and know what to expect from a five star hotel but Hayfield Manor exceeded our expectations in every way. Besides the beautiful grounds, comfortably elegant room and public spaces, the staff goes out of their way to surprise and delight you. As a result, we would go out of our way to stay at the Hayfield Manor the next time we visit Cork.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest Sandra E,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us recently and indeed for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our guest rooms, grounds and public areas. I do hope that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you also for your very kind praise of our staff. I will be certain to forward your comments to each and every member of the team, as I am sure they will all be as thrilled as I Bart in particular will be delighted to know that he made such a wonderful impression.

It means a lot to me personally to know that you think so highly of Hayfield Manor, and I would like to thank you for recommending us.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is truly a 5-star hotel! The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming and the rooms are great. They have a very cool garden that stretches around the hotel, and it's nice to just walk there. The location is perfect since it's within easy walking distance of the city center, but not so close that it's crowded. There's free off-street parking, which is always nice. We made friends with David, the bartender, who's super nice and chatted with us about local life in Cork for quite a while. He mixes a mean drink too :-) The housekeeping staff is wonderful; we were there on our honeymoon and they created a beautiful heart-shaped design out of towels and rose petals on the bed for us. Very cool.

A couple things that could have been better: (1) The hotel offers money changing services, but refused to accept $100 bills, saying that no bank in Cork will honor them. We then walked to Ulster bank, who accepted them without any problems. (2) Those, like us, who like to travel casual may be a little uncomfortable at this hotel, as all the other guests will be a little high-class and stuffy (sweater tied around the neck types).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest Vlad G,

Firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor on Trip Advisor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently while celebrating your honeymoon.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. I am delighted that you were pleased with our service. Thank you very much for your kind comments on our hotel. I will be certain to pass them on to the whole team, and I am sure that David will be especially delighted to know that he made such a wonderful impression.

Regarding our currency exchange, unfortunately our bank, along with most financial institutions in the city, will not accept $100 bills, and for this reason we are regrettably unable to exchange them. I would like to apologise sincerely for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hayfield-Manor Hotel while in Cork. Everything was by far amazing! The staff was outstanding and the manager did an excellent job as he was so kind he called up the sister hotel, the Killarney Royal, to see if we could upgrade to a suite. When we arrived at the Hayfield we were escorted to our room and were asked if this room was good or if I wanted to see another room. We had our own golf/putting machine! It definitely lives up to its standard. The breakfast at Orchids was amazing! I had an omelet and a scone which was very tasty. The waitress was very nice and helpful. I am looking forward to revisit in the future. this is a must stay while in Ireland

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest sammmy29,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and to know that we managed to exceed your expectations. It always a pleasure to receive such recognition from our guests. I will be certain to forward your review to the team, as I am sure they will all be as thrilled as I am with your wonderful comments.

Thank you also for your kind praise of Orchids Restaurant. We take great pride in the quality of our cuisine, and I am especially pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast immensely.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

a perfect place! thank you for everything!! room is beautiful,clean, the breakfast is amazing. uyou really feel special. we will come and visit you again very soon i hope. staff is very very friendly, you can walk to the city, and the staff will help you with anything you need. there is a beautiful pool facing the gerden and a spa of course! it was a great weekend, and the sun was shinning!!

Room Tip: the best breakfast ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest Sharon S,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to Hayfield Manor and to Cork so thoroughly. I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with our service, and I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel during your stay. I am especially glad that you were able to enjoy our garden in the sunshine. It gives me great pleasure to know that we managed to exceed your expectations, and I hope that it was a very special experience for you.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing