We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wish we had stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charleston,SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We wish we had stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't say enough great things about hayfield. The staff was amazing, the room luxurious and the food was great. The ambience of the common areas. Made you want to linger. We just regret that w had to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kepiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest kepiblue,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and I would like to thank you also for choosing to stay with us recently.

It gives me immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay so thoroughly, and that you were so delighted with your room.

Thank you also for your kind praise of our cuisine. I am utterly delighted to hear such wonderful praise and to know that you would like to have stayed longer with us. I am very glad indeed to know that you found your stay so relaxing.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future and for an extended visit.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,265
    342
    91
    27
    15
See reviews for
544
1,440
70
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our first visit to this exquisite town house tucked next to UC Cork. The doorman was extremely helpful in giving us direction in terms of how to get around and head to our next destination, the informal dining was really good for dinner and the room was spacious. The only slightly negative is that the shower was very small, claustrophobic except for the fact that it is see-through. Small point

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest Jumbo F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at with us. I am very glad to hear that our concierge was able to assist you with directions, and I am also thrilled to know that you enjoyed your meal in Perrotts Garden Bistro.

Thank you also for your helpful feedback on the shower in your room. We are currently discussing ways in which to improve our overall standard, and I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board, and will be considered during the decision making process.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a country-style hotel near the centre of Cork, located very close to University College Cork. By far its best attribute is the quality of its ever-helpful staff. Perhaps its the general happy demeanour of the Irish, or perhaps there is something in the water of Cork, but they really outperform the tired look of the bricks and mortar. The hotel needs money spent on it - a lot of money - to bring it up to true five star quality. The main dinning room looks like something out of My Fat Greek Wedding - a proposterous looking Greek white-room that is completely out of place with the setting. The rooms are very large but, again, tired and in need of a good scrub. Ditto the bathrooms. I didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast, which was fabulous. Amazing bacon and eggs, and a good spread in the buffet room - made having breakfast momentous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest Lewis C,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to learn that your overall impression of Hayfield Manor is so positive. I am very grateful for your kind feedback on our staff in particular. I will be certain to forward your kind words to the entire team, and I am sure that they will be delighted with your comments, especially our chefs.

Thank you also for your helpful feedback regarding the décor of our hotel. I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken on board. We are currently looking into a number of ways of improving our overall service in each area of the hotel, including the accommodation and decor, and we earnestly hope that the changes we implement will result in greater overall guest satisfaction.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Two days and nights of comfort and pleasure - well-looked after - lots of staff who are really keen to look after you during your stay. It is pricey but you get what you pay for - except the coffee is far too expensive!

The desk and front of hourse staff are really helpful for everything you want or need and do it there and then.

Room Tip: Pick out the front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest BigDeclan,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and indeed for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to learn that your overall impression of Hayfield Manor is so positive. I am very grateful for your kind feedback on our staff. I will be certain to forward your kind words to the entire team, and I am sure that our front office staff will be especially thrilled.

I would also like to assure you that I have taken your comments regarding the price of our coffee on board, and I will be reviewing the pricing with our management team shortly.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great nights stay here and will definitely be back. From check in we were greeted very warmly. A member of staff (Charline) showed us to our room and offered to babysit our kids while we had our dinner. The kids had a ball and our dinner in Perrots was excellent. The spa is very nice also. The place has a homely feel to it. And we will definitely return for a longer stay next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinRossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest DublinRossm,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to learn that your overall consensus on Hayfield is so positive and that you would highly recommend us. This was fantastic to read as were your comments pertaining to our staff, especially Charlene. We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated team and it is great to have their efforts acknowledged by our guests.

I am also delighted that you enjoyed the cuisine in Perrotts Bistro. I shall be certain to pass on your wonderful feedback to our whole team, as I am sure they will be as thrilled as I am to know that we exceeded your expectations.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hayfield manor after being given blue book vouchers as a wedding present. We had such a relaxing and pleasant time. The staff were lovely we had a beautiful room with extremley comfortable beds. The pool closes quite late so we were lucky enough to have it almost to ourselves. A beautiful meal in the bistro and most definately the best breakfast i have ever had at a hotel. So close to town we walked in within 15 minutes. would highly recommend it feels like you are at a country retreat with the city on your doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller100Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest Traveller100Dublin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for choosing to stay at Hayfield Manor in March.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review, and I am thrilled that you all enjoyed your visit. I am very glad to hear that your room was very comfortable, and that you enjoyed our leisure facilities. I am especially thrilled that we surpassed your expectations.

Thank you also for your wonderful praise of our cuisine and our staff. I will be certain to pass on your comments to our whole team, and I am sure they will all be delighted to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly your meal in Perrotts Garden Bistro and our breakfast selection.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hayfield was our second night on our trip. It is rather hard to find even with GPS, it's in the middle of a neighborhood so look at a map before heading out.

Very nice staff, especially the doorman who was extra helpful with places to see in Cork. We were given an upgraded room, a very nice surprise. The room is a nice size but not huge, the bathroom is larger than average with double sinks. Very nice bathtub and separate shower but no shower cap. Also, the worst kind of hairdryer a hotel can have, it's the one connected to the wall like a vacuum cleaner hose.

Airconditioning is a nice to have. The bedding was a little out of date but does match the room decor. Very nice large comfortable bed and the golf putt set in the room is fun.

The grounds are small but very well used and quite nice with birds and bunnies.

The breakfast buffet was amazing, fantastic cereal spread.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aWendybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest aWendybird,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor recently, and indeed for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your helpful feedback on our accommodations. I am delighted that you were pleased with your room and bathroom. I am especially glad to know that you enjoyed a comfortable nights’ sleep during your stay.

I would also like to thank you very much for your kind praise of our breakfast selection and of our staff, our concierge in particular. I am sure that our whole team will be as delighted as I am with your kind comments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing