We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa & Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spa & Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As part of my mothers Christmas present I bought her a spa day for the two of us to Hayfield Manor. While the treatment was lovely and the girls working in the spa were very nice the facilities I found to be very poor. The pool is nice not amazing. The steam room and outdoor hot-tub are ok - I have seen nicer in some three star hotels. The relaxtion room is nothing special - its a small room with a fish tank. There is one toliet which didn't flush very well and one shower/changing room. Having gotten into the shower I found that there was no shower gel and the holder was broken off the wall. The hairdryer - if you could call it that is in the same room. The whole place looks like it needs to be freshened up, the linen basket in the room looks like something that needs to be cut up for fire wood. There was no place to plug in a hair straighner so I had to use one of the treatment rooms. Overall I feel its definately not 5 star or anywhere near it. We then deceided to have the afternoon as the reviews had been very good on here - I know now you must be thinking am I been a bit over critical. But my god it really is not worth the €50 they charge. It was nice and thats about as much as I can say on that matter. If you are looking for good valve then the afternoon tea for €25 in Fota is as good if not better. Its presented nicer and the serving dish and tea pots are in much better condition. Overall not impressed - definately can't see were the 5 star rating is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocobell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest Cocobell_10,
Thank you very much for choosing to visit us earlier this year and for taking the time to furnish us with this feedback. While I am delighted that you organised a spa day as an element of your mother’s Christmas gift, I was very disappointed to learn that it did not live up to expectation. Your kind comments regarding the treatments themselves and our Spa team are much appreciated and I am glad that you enjoyed these aspects of the Beautique Spa. I would like to apologise that you found the facilities lacking. In the intervening time period since your visit, we have rectified a number of the issues highlighted including fixtures and hairdryers in the shower area. We are currently in the process of relocating and expanding some of the amenities in our spa and we are continuously working to create an area that is welcoming, relaxed and appropriately furnished.
I was also disappointed to read that your afternoon tea was not the amazing experience we would aspire to for all of our guests. As Afternoon Tea is invariably a treat or a special occasion for those who choose to partake, we do always strive to ensure that guests enjoy it as such and are suitably impressed by the service, ambience, food and the tea/coffee. I am sorry that we did not achieve this level of satisfaction on your visit.
Thank you again for this feedback. It isn’t always easy to accept that we have not succeeded in our mission to impress guests and exceed their expectations but all comments, positive and negative, are always welcome as they assist us in constantly striving to improve our performance and offering.
I do hope you will consider returning to Hayfield and afford us an opportunity to showcase our services and facilities in a more satisfactory light.
Warm Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,427
    357
    97
    28
    15
See reviews for
600
1,528
73
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our experience at Hayfield manor, my only criticism was the hot tub/ outdoor jacuzzi was not very hot both times we used it. Other than that we found the rooms, food and overall service really great. The concierge was excellent and so helpful too!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sinead M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review and also for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor recently.

Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on our hotel. I am delighted that Hayfield Manor made such a good impression on you and your husband. I would like to apologise for the temperature of the jacuzzi, I can assure you that I have had our maintenance team resolve the issue. I hope that this did not inconvenience your stay too much. I want to hank you for bringing this to my attention.

I hope to have the honour of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent two nights over the weekend in hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were always there ready to help, but were in no way obtrusive which I really value. We took a walk into the nearby town centre on the Friday night and enjoyed a great meal and atmosphere. On the following day we took a drive to Kinsale for lunch and then on to Cobh - fantastic country. Then returning to the hotel we took a spa treatment each, followed by a couple of hours or so of relaxing before a great meal in Bistro restaurant - small problem with our reservation, but the staff were extra accomodating and apologetic - we are all human and can make a mistake, it's how you compensate which marks the real quality and Hayfield has it in abundance. We had a real fantastic stay and would really love to get back for longer next time.

Room Tip: Book spa treatments and restaurant reservations in advance - especially the spa - we enquired a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanBell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JonathanBell82,

I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor. Thank you also for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

I was delighted to read through your review, thank you very much for your kind and positive words about , our facilities, our cuisine and most importantly our staff. We pride ourselves on our staff at Hayfield Manor. It is wonderful to see that their calibre shines through.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

had a fab overnight stay recently, upgraded to a deluxe room...218, loved every min, had a beautiful dinner in orchids, breakfast 5 star all the way, omlette amazing,
love the bar, some great offers available,
keep up the good work, will be back,

Room Tip: room overlooking the garden a must for quietness, beds are so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear germul,

I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to write your review and indeed for staying with us at Hayfield Manor on your recent visit to Cork.

Thank you very much for the review you posted. It is lovely to read such nice experiences. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing Hayfield Manor. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Ettienne van Vrede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent 2 days at this amazing hotel, amidst my travels throughout all of southern Ireland. This was by far the best hotel that I stayed at in all of Ireland, and I recommend it to everyone without hesitation!! It is pure luxury, yet warm and welcoming! It was perfect in every aspect, from aesthetics of the actual hotel, the grounds, the lobby, the staff, the pool, the bar, and the rooms. All of the staff is expert with regards to hospitality and they pay attention to every little detail! We were welcomed by Bart, who provided amazing advice on where to go and what to do. He spent an hour with us just chatting. Leo at reception, Juliette at the bar, and many others whose names I sadly forget were all wonderful! The breakfast was fantastic!!! What impressed me the most, was the woman in charge of the lost and found...Aoife. I had forgotten items at this hotel, and she organized everything for me to make sure I got the items back during my travels in Ireland. Without Aoife, I would never have been able to get my items back. She was accessible and really cared about me. I have NEVER experienced such hospitality and work ethic. Aoife is to be commended and recognized for her amazing work at the Hayfield Manor!! If and when I return to Ireland, I will 100% stay at the Hayfield Manor again and I recommend it to all!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Heather G,

I would like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to write your review and indeed for staying with us at Hayfield Manor on your recent visit to Ireland.

I was delighted to read through your review, thank you very much for your kind and positive words about our hotel. I particular like your remark with ref to our hard working staff. I will be sure to forward your kind words to all, in particular Bart, Leo, Julietta and Aoife.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the future.

Warm Regards

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A very pleasant short stay from the moment we arrived until we departed. Staff were friendly, attentive and had a very relaxed manner. The room was very comfortable, dinner was excellent, as was breakfast, as was the afternoon snack.... as the title says, relax and enjoy. We didn't use the leisure facilities so can't comment on them. I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear MorleyF,

Thank you very much for the review you posted. It is lovely to read such nice experiences. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing Hayfield Manor. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ettienne van Vrede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed here several times. Its luxury in a city location. Definately you won't regret it. AFter a long journey the hotel is so warm and luxuriant, it feels a home away from home. I travel with work a lot and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Fionna F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review and also for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor again.

Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on our hotel. I am delighted that Hayfield Manor makes such a good impression on you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,466 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing