We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Society WOWs Again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wine Society WOWs Again!!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Back here again for the December Wine Society event and it didnt disappoint!!! The setting was Orchids restaurant and the exceptional menu included delicious canapes with a lovely prosecco, a wonderful chicken and leek tartlet served with a paired muscadet, beutiful pan-fried hake with a sancerre, wild pigeon breast accompanied by a cote de rhone (I think!!) and an absolutey delicious seared sirloin of beef that was mouth watering all followed by really delcious dessert and petit-fours with a lovely desert wine. What a night of decedance!! Superb val;ue for money and delivered with that infamous Hayfile touch of class. Well done to Etienne and team and of course the wine suppliers.. Erne Wines represtented by Donie O'Brien and Richard McMahon..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear NCCC,

First and foremost I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for dining with us at Hayfield manor, and thank you for taking the time to write your pleasent review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. I would also like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our Wine Society event.

We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service, and hope to welcome you back through our doors again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    345
    94
    27
    15
See reviews for
566
1,474
71
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Like other revierwers, it had that lovely Christmas atmosphere, including the tree in the bedroom. Staff are so professional but in a warm and welcoming way. Nothing was a problem - left an iphone behind in a shop in town and the hotel organised a taxi to pick it up and deliver it to the hotel - saved having to go back in during rush-hour traffic.
Dined in the restaurant on one evening - the food was excellent with super service.
We intend going back shortly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear John O,

Thank you for taking the time out to post this your very kind comment regarding the quality of our dining. We do strive to make absolutely everybody happy and to enjoy the genuine old charm that Hayfield Manor has to offer.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely experience here with us and we will be absolutely delighted to welcome you through our doors again in what is hopefully the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

No better way to welcome a New Year than with a little bit of indulgence. The Hayfield Manor Hotel is a real gem situated near University College Cork and 10 minutes walk from the city centre. We arrived at approx 6.30pm and the efficiency of check in, friendliness of the receptionist and bell boy were just the start of a fantastic stay. Dinner at 8.30pm was again precision like with efficient and friendly waiting staff. Dinner menu was a foodies delight.
New Year is the only time they 'let the hair down' with a band and dance floor set up in the lobby area where guests at both the black tie event and restaurant diners greeted the New Year with Champagne and Strawberries served from the bar.
Breakfast is also a treat. The layout and presentation of the food choices on offer matched the quality of the food served. Considering the lateness of the guests arriving for breakfast there were no delays. During our stay we also sampled the bar menu and availed of room service, none of which disappointed on service, food quality or presentation.
We did not use the spa or pool area but did take a look into these areas and all were so clean warm and inviting. Indeed the cleanliness of all areas of the hotel was exceptional. And also the presentation and grooming of staff is to be noted.
Overall the hotel deserves all the awards and favourable reviews. I could not fault any aspect of the hotel. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NariekYelworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear NariekYelworc,

First and foremost, may I take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hayfield Manor Hotel.

I would also like to commend you on the great title to your lovely review of Hayfield Manor Hotel!

We appreciate your very kind comments regarding the service of our staff, the quality of food, and indeed every aspect of the hotel in itself.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ettienne Van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ive stayed at the Hayfield manor several times on business, from the moment you walk into the hotel you know that this hotel is going to good, reception staff are lovely, open fire is burning in the lobby. The rooms are nice, a bit dated but generally quite plush. the breakfast is the highlight ive never tasted such good bacon and sausage as part of the full irish breakfast! the spa is average, pool quite small but very clean and generally not too busy at all. The service and the food make this hotel. its just lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel-fan-london1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear hotel-fan-london1971,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted that you had a good visit to Cork and your stay was just what you expect each time you visit us. The team here at Hayfield are great and I am so fortunate to work along side some of the brightest faces in hospitality. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very shortly.

Warm Regards

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Really Christmassy! Great service and welcome as always. Particularly loved the Christmas tree in my room and the great breakfast buffet. The service and friendliness in this hotel is top class. I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Fiona C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor, it was a delight to read. Thank you for choosing to stay with Hayfield Manor, I will ensure the staff are made aware of your review as it is always a great morale booster to read such comments.

Warm Regards

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for a pre-Christmas shopping/spa weekend break. If you're looking for a traditional, luxurious, comfortable hotel this is the one, truly 5* by anyone's standards. The accommodation is first class, the food( we ate in the bistro) was excellent, the service second to none and the breakfast is by far the best I have ever had in any hotel. But what really makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the standard of customer service. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble and every single member of staff go above and beyond to make your stay special. Bart, the concierge, is probably the hotel's biggest asset - a true gentleman whose charm and twinkling irish eye's make every guest feel as though they are the most important and whose wealth of local knowledge is quite astounding. He even serenaded guests having afternoon tea in the drawing room with a lovely Irish song then had a little private chat with each and every one of them, remembering their names and where they were from - amazing. The spa treatments are excellent - try one! and the pool area is lovely.The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from Cork Town centre through a residential, student area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_and_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dave_and_L,

Thank you for your review, and most of all for choosing to stay with Hayfield Manor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Hayfield Manor.
Thank you again for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to Bart. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back shortly.

Warm Regards

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had lunch here it was very tasty and the staff were very friendly.The christmas decorations were astounding The car park was a bit of a problem tho had to drive around for ages and still couldn't find a space but once we contacted a member of staff about this they were very helpful and told us where to pop the car. Price was the food was a bit on the expensive side but it was worth it for the quality the only thing I had a problem with was the price of the tea and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Emma M,

Thank you very much for your recent review, it was a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you and enjoyed your meal at Hayfield Manor.

Thank you also for your additional feedback, which I have taken on board.

Thank You very much, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very shortly.

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing