We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel on a beautiful building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel on a beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the city. The building itself is a beauty inside and outside. Each floor is separated from the stairs by a wood and glass divider. The stairs were decorated with big paintings with golden frames.

Our room had long windows and from there we had a view of the city. The bathroom was very clean and had beautiful and shiny tiles.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was good as well as the service. The girl at the from desk was very helpful.

The hotel was a little bit difficult to find. We printed Google directions coming from the east and they took as through very narrow streets were we couldn't even read the signs (it was already dark). It was a real nightmare! Fortunately, we also had printed a map of the location. After we found St. Patrick's Quay it was easy to get to the hotel from there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    356
    168
    63
    31
See reviews for
175
487
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed 1 night - my one regret was that it was only 1 night. As previous reviewers have said if you want a boring - standard - take it or leave it hotel dont bother going to the Ambassador - because it isnt any of these things. The one USP is its staff - who are excellent - unique - freindly and welcoming - without being intrusive or patronising. It was a trip to the Jazz Festival/celebration for my husbands significant birthday - asked for a view of the city and Martha - bless her - upgraded us to a suite - it was terrific .
Anyone who could complain about the hotel dosent understand the building - its old it has character - the rooms are clean - the furnishings fit the hotel - the floor boards creak - fantastic - thats the way it should be. Yes there is a new bit to the back didnt see these rooms but i would rather stay in the older part.
We ate in the bar - the food wasnt just good - it was excellent value and again the staff couldnt do enough.
Then there was Don the man - the Night Porter - now if you could bottle what that man has you could make a fortune - he was efficent - pleasant - funny - informative - he handled a number of situations during our late night in the residents bar in a way that the United nations could not have managed! He was brilliant - such an excellent Ambassador (excuse the pun) for this hotel - a true Cork man with all the charm and wit that goes with it.
We will be back - and anyone who wants to sample what true Irish hospitality is should get down to the Ambassador Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Had a fabulous time at the Ambassador. The staff are fantastic, they really cannot do enough for you and Don the night man is a true star. I went with three female friends to the Cork Jazz festival and the hotel was in the perfect location for all the action. The health suite is good for a hotel with jaccuzzi etc but no spa treatments however just down the road in McCurtain St there is a good Thai Massage Centre called SABAI. Beware there are a few of the other type of 'massage parlours' around too. I highly recomend the hotel...................and the massage centre...................and Cork!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NormaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

The staff here are the great thing about this hotel. They can't do enough for you. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are big and if you can, get a room to the front. The views over the city are really good. Great value and central.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punter123Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Ambassador Hotel is a bit of a Cork institution. It is a steep but short wall from Cork city centre. It has the most fantastic views over the city as it is perched on a hill.

I have stayed many times on business and it has always served me well. Plenty of easy parking and good internet access throughout the hotel.

You have to talk to Don the night porter. He is truly one of a kind. A philosopher and a great conversationalist. Not too many like him exist in sanitised hotel chains. More is the pity I say!

The front of house staff are excellent and more than make up for the hesitant lifts in the building.

I love this hotel. Do some work and savour the atmosphere. There is no Arctic air con and no piped muzak. Major plus points in my book.

Say hello to Don...you can't miss him. He has a great welcome for all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Old fashioned hotel situated on a steep hill. If you are put in a room at end of building by the road I would ask to be moved. We got no sleep because the heating was on all night. We had to open the windows only to hear people screaming in middle of the night. But the thing I disliked the most was we went out for dinner and came back to find that someone had come into our room and turned on our lights and left us a sheet of paper with the following days weather forecast. I hate the fact that someone came in with out asking.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxcsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Having booked for our 45 th anniversary nothing was too much trouble to a friendly,courteous staff. An unexpected upgrade to a front room overlooking Cork was apleasant surprise & set the tone for our stay.Clean tidy & very comfortable surroundings with a steady walk into Cork to work off the breakfast. Information given by the receptionists meant we were able to take in a lot of things in a short stay & either take a taxi or catch a bus back. The provision to cater for my wife's wheat allergy so easily was most welcome. It gave her a choice she doesn't normally get.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refereee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing