We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“december wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we stayed here for a wedding that was on taking part in the hotel... very nice hotel plenty of car parking space.... the room was massive there was 2 double beds in it and a nice size bathroom... it was old but nice... the staff were really nice even in the resident bar later on that night!! the food was lovely and there was a great choice at breakfast... the only thing was that i could hear next door tv in the morning wifi reception isnt great in the rooms you can only get it in the lobby...went to the the bridal suite and that was amazing great views and massive room they gift the bride and groom with bathrodes with their names on it which i thought was a nice touch

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.
I am delighted you had such a great day with us, thankfully since your visit we have installed high speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel, so should you return, you will have access fronm the comfort of your room.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,


Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I will preface this review by saying we got an extremely good deal on a room only basis so probably have no grounds to complain, but...! We got a room at the back of the hotel, not a bad size, comfortable bed but a little cold due to the vents in the windows and the heat not coming on til the afternoon - to be fair, it was extremely windy so not entirely the hotel's fault that there was so much of breeze coming in through the window vents. The biggest complaint we would have had was that the pictures on the website give the impression that there is a nice comfortable bar area with armchairs to relax in (and due to the weather, this was what we had planned for ourselves) but instead the entire bar area is laid out purely for food - very disappointing for us as it is not what we expected from the comfortable "old world" style of the hotel. There are some sofas/armchairs set out in the reception area but it's not the best place for reading or relaxing. Another disappointment was that the sauna/jacuzzi are currently being refurbished...
All in all, we were a little disappointed, but as I said earlier, we did get an exceptional rate so probably shouldn't complain too much.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank greengal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.
I don’t read this review as a complaint, more as constructive feedback, which I genuinely take on board.
Regardless of the weather conditions, or how much you have paid for the room, you should have left our hotel feeling that you need to return here. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan which addressed all of the issues you encountered. I would ask you kindly reserve judgement of our hotel, and give us another opportunity to show you a true Ambassador experience.

I would appreciate you contacting me directly, so I can discuss your stay with us.

Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice old world hotel but could only be described as a 3*. Check-in was effortless and hassle free, we were notified that there was a wedding on that night and it may be a bit noisy – it didn’t make any difference to us but it’s nice to be informed.

Breakfast is a selection of fruit, cereal, bread, pastries plus a range of cooked to order breakfasts. The cooked breakfast wasn’t up to scratch but the bar food from the Bistro Menu in the evening was lovely. Unfortunately the restaurant / cocktail bar is bland and characterless and the official hotel bar which is much nicer and cozy, was closed as the hotel wasn’t that busy.

Rooms are sufficient and clean keeping with the old world theme, they have tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryers, tv etc.

Location wise this hotel is situated on a fairly steep hill but has nice views of the city. Less than 200 yards down the road there is a wine bar (The Wine Tavern), Henchy’s Pub which has a bar & lounge and also Phoenix House Chinese restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rathcoole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.
We are currently undergoing refurbishment, which includes some of the areas of the hotel you mentioned. We are confident these improvements will without doubt reaffirm our position as a high quality 4* Hotel in Cork City.
I would ask you to reserve judgement on the hotel, and offer us an opportunity to warrant a review that confirms this. I would be glad to personally take care of your booking, should you grant me request.

Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

stayed there to celebrate new year.great place with panoramic view of cork city.did enjoy the top room well appointed and confy bed.shower was very good and breakfast was nice with lovely waiting staff.will come back again

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank arnaudmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting such a positive review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.

I am delighted you enjoyed you stay with us, we look forward to your return.
Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had my wedding at the Ambassdor before Christmas. From the moment i was introduced to the management and staff, i knew this was the right choice. The food was exceptional on the day as was the service. Couldn't fault them on one thing for the whole 12 months in the lead up to the wedding. Chris and Rhona were fantastic with all the orgnisation and the whole day really exceeded my expectations. Every one of my guests rooms were immaculate, didnt hear one complaint from anyone. Fantastic views of the city. Every request was dealt with within minutes, and nothing was too much trouble. All my guests are still talking about this place it really felt like home from home. Big shout out to Graham, who looked after us on the day, he really was amazing. It's really the perfect spot in cork for a night away or your big day. !! Thanks Guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting such a positive review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.

I would like to congratulate you both on your recent wedding, and wish you both a lifetime of Health & Happiness.

When we meet potential couples to offer our services for a wedding, your experience is what we hang our hats on. Our goal is to create positive memories for you and your guests, and we seem to have delivered on this guarantee. I will be sure to thank Rhona, Graham and all the team here for delivering another Wedding with such high standards.

Congratulations to you both again, we look forward to seeing you on your 1st Anniversary.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

stayed in this hotel really nice staff and very helpful nice place to stay. Location is OK. very clean rooms worth the money great customer service. also there are few shops near this hotel...........

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.
I am delighted our staff made such a positive impression on you during your stay.
We look forward to your return,
Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a very pleasant stay for one night at the Ambassador. While a little rough around the edges this was more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff. We got a very comfortable room & enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast. In terms of comfort & value this hotel met all our expectations.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Speaclai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of the Ambassador Hotel following your recent visit to Cork.
The rough edges you mentioned are currently being smoothened out as I sit here today. We have a lot of works happening to enhance our guest experiences at the hotel. I am confident should you return you will be pleasantly surprised.

We look forward to your return,
Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,654 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $98 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing