We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely but Average!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just back from a few days in Cork and stayed here, it's a lovely place and the location gives great views of Cork but i have to agree with many of the other reviews in that the building is old and dated but its more a three star than a four star: the rooms are big and clean but they're in no way fancy, there are no mini toiletries in the bathroom, rather you get one industrial sized 2-in-1 body wash/shampoo, limited dinner menu and yes there is quite a walk uphill to the hotel (about 10-15mins depending which end of town you go to) so not for those with limited mobility. Overall it was lovely and we enjoyed our stay but if you're looking for something high class i recommend you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: For sure choose a room with a balcony, the rooms at the back overlook a courtyard but those with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. Your comments are fair and balanced, and are received in the intention with which they are meant. The hotel is currently going through a process of change of ownership, and with this we will be working very hard to ensure we bring the hotel to an acceptable standard expected from a four star property. Since your visit we have made changes in the hotel, including a new menu which has been well received by guests and locals. I hope you will consider our hotel again in the near future and would welcome any feedback you may have.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    363
    173
    65
    33
See reviews for
180
500
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a grand old hotel set up on a hill offering pleasant outlooks over Cork. We enjoyed our stay here with an airy comfortable room and all that we needed. We were here to visit ancestral sites so the location was perfect and the staff very relaxed and helpful. Full marks to the best server we had experienced in Ireland in the bar restaurant that night. He was very cheerful and professional. One thing the staff could look out for is the people who choose to stand out the front of the hotel to smoke as their smoke drifted straight up into our rooms quite often and was very unpleasant to non-smokers like us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting such positive feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am delighted our staff were able to make such a positive impression on your stay. I truly believe we have some of the friendliest hard working team members working here with us, and I am grateful for the service they provide to all guests. I also welcome your comments on guests smoking at the front door. I hope you were able to find some interesting facts during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I only stayed here one night during my 10 days in Ireland, but it was easily the nicest place I stayed. What's even better is that it was also the most affordable place that I stayed. Seriously nice rooms with very comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms. The 10 foot ceilings definitely make this a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Parking is located right in front and it's free.

It only takes 10 minutes to walk down to the city center. Some people complain about the uphill trek to get back to the hotel, but I didn't think it was all that bad. I actually liked it because it helped me walk off all the food and beers I had that night.

My only complaint was the wifi. It's free, but the connection is only available in the lobby and the signal kept cutting out.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting such positive feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. It is reassuring to know we were able to deliver and exceed expectations of a hotel stay in Cork. I also welcome your comments on our WiFi access. I am glad to say we are currently putting plans in place to have full WiFi access for all guests throughout the hotel. Which I know is a must for hotel guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a large old building above the main town. It is showing its age but kept in reasonable shape. The rooms are reasonable size and clean and comfortable. Food and drink was a little limited for choice but breakfast was OK being a mix of buffet and freshly cooked.
The staff did their job but without any real enthusiasm or friendliness except the receptionist how was pleasant.
OK but wouldn’t be my first choice on a place to stay in Cork.
Places to visit include the English market, City jail (although not a patch on Freemantle) the Brewery, Blarney castle, Barryscourt castle plus a walk round Cobh town nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblpa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Cork and the many attractions we have to offer. I was disappointed to see we did not rate higher in your estimation of us, and that our staff didn’t give you the feeling of friendliness and enthusiasm. I usually find through guest feedback that our team would be the main asset of the hotel, and receive high praise from many reviewers. Please accept our apologies, for not offering you the same courtesy.
If you had any specific comments that you would like to address with me personally, I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this with you.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Ambassador. We should have never checked in. Our room was dirty especially the carpet which we asked to be cleaned two times after our arrival and it was never done. The toilet flushed with hot water and hot water came out of both sink taps. We reported this to the front desk and nothing was done to correct it. We had to use the bath tub cold water tap to brush our teeth! The walls were scuffed, toilet paper holder missing. You needed two elevators to get to the "remodeled" room. The location of the hotel was about a 15 minute walk to City Centre all down hill, ergo an all up hill climb returning. The staff was friendly but unable to get our issues corrected. The breakfast in the dining room was the worst we had in two weeks travelling through Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. It was with great disappointment that I read your review.
I hope you can trust through our guest feedback that this would not be a typical guest experience fro our hotel and services. Here at the hotel we have an ethos of guest care and comfort. For not delivering on this occasion to you, please accept our sincere apologies. Please rest assure I have spoken with our maintenance team and housekeeping team to ensure these issues are not reoccurring
If you would like to make contact with me to discuss in more detail your experience, please do not hesitate to do so.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only stayed one night for a celebration party we had in Cork. The carpets, paintwork etc were a little tired but the hotel has lovely character, it is a fine building & I loved it. The girl on reception friday evening the 7th june was really lovely, pleasant and efficient.She is a great asset to the hotel, I hope the managers know this ! we were in room 125, nice room, good shower, clean and bright. Had a good nights sleep, would recommend this hotel. Would love to return and spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
It is always great to have a review that appreciates the hard work the staff put in to make our guests stay more enjoyable. On a daily basis I feel very lucky to work with the team I have around me. I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the receptionist mentioned.

We hope you will visit us again soon,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of May for just about a week. The first room I was offered was at the back of the hotel, just above the restaurant ventilation which was very noisy (I was told it turns off at 9:30pm but they did not turn it off until I complained about it at 10:30pm). When windows were opened, the smell from the bins at the back of the hotel was very unpleasant. After complaining about these issues and asking for another room, I was offered a room at the top of the hotel, overlooking the city. The view was wonderful, and the previous issues non-existent. The rooms are nice and spacious, the carpets deserve a bit more cleaning though. The staff was very helpful and made me feel welcome even after the complaints. It would recommend this hotel to anyone, just beware of the rooms at the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekkinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
I am sorry your stay was disturbed by noise and other factors. I am also glad we were able to turn a negative experience in to a 4/5 review. I firmly believe we all can make mistakes in business, but it is how we recover from them that determines us as a quality service provider.
I would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
thank you again for your feedback
Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,463 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,550 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,039 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing