We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaded but Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Jaded but Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a large old building above the main town. It is showing its age but kept in reasonable shape. The rooms are reasonable size and clean and comfortable. Food and drink was a little limited for choice but breakfast was OK being a mix of buffet and freshly cooked.
The staff did their job but without any real enthusiasm or friendliness except the receptionist how was pleasant.
OK but wouldn’t be my first choice on a place to stay in Cork.
Places to visit include the English market, City jail (although not a patch on Freemantle) the Brewery, Blarney castle, Barryscourt castle plus a walk round Cobh town nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblpa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Cork and the many attractions we have to offer. I was disappointed to see we did not rate higher in your estimation of us, and that our staff didn’t give you the feeling of friendliness and enthusiasm. I usually find through guest feedback that our team would be the main asset of the hotel, and receive high praise from many reviewers. Please accept our apologies, for not offering you the same courtesy.
If you had any specific comments that you would like to address with me personally, I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this with you.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    302
    149
    54
    27
See reviews for
144
425
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Ambassador. We should have never checked in. Our room was dirty especially the carpet which we asked to be cleaned two times after our arrival and it was never done. The toilet flushed with hot water and hot water came out of both sink taps. We reported this to the front desk and nothing was done to correct it. We had to use the bath tub cold water tap to brush our teeth! The walls were scuffed, toilet paper holder missing. You needed two elevators to get to the "remodeled" room. The location of the hotel was about a 15 minute walk to City Centre all down hill, ergo an all up hill climb returning. The staff was friendly but unable to get our issues corrected. The breakfast in the dining room was the worst we had in two weeks travelling through Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsaidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. It was with great disappointment that I read your review.
I hope you can trust through our guest feedback that this would not be a typical guest experience fro our hotel and services. Here at the hotel we have an ethos of guest care and comfort. For not delivering on this occasion to you, please accept our sincere apologies. Please rest assure I have spoken with our maintenance team and housekeeping team to ensure these issues are not reoccurring
If you would like to make contact with me to discuss in more detail your experience, please do not hesitate to do so.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only stayed one night for a celebration party we had in Cork. The carpets, paintwork etc were a little tired but the hotel has lovely character, it is a fine building & I loved it. The girl on reception friday evening the 7th june was really lovely, pleasant and efficient.She is a great asset to the hotel, I hope the managers know this ! we were in room 125, nice room, good shower, clean and bright. Had a good nights sleep, would recommend this hotel. Would love to return and spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
It is always great to have a review that appreciates the hard work the staff put in to make our guests stay more enjoyable. On a daily basis I feel very lucky to work with the team I have around me. I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the receptionist mentioned.

We hope you will visit us again soon,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of May for just about a week. The first room I was offered was at the back of the hotel, just above the restaurant ventilation which was very noisy (I was told it turns off at 9:30pm but they did not turn it off until I complained about it at 10:30pm). When windows were opened, the smell from the bins at the back of the hotel was very unpleasant. After complaining about these issues and asking for another room, I was offered a room at the top of the hotel, overlooking the city. The view was wonderful, and the previous issues non-existent. The rooms are nice and spacious, the carpets deserve a bit more cleaning though. The staff was very helpful and made me feel welcome even after the complaints. It would recommend this hotel to anyone, just beware of the rooms at the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekkinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
I am sorry your stay was disturbed by noise and other factors. I am also glad we were able to turn a negative experience in to a 4/5 review. I firmly believe we all can make mistakes in business, but it is how we recover from them that determines us as a quality service provider.
I would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
thank you again for your feedback
Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked the Ambassador for my best friends hen last weekend and cannot speak highly enough of the place. While being an old hotel it is well kept all the rooms were immaculate and the bar and restaurant were nice, The staff were absolutely amazing we were made feel so welcome. Nothing was an issue. Thank you to Rhona there reservations manager for helping organise everything and Chris, Alan, April and the rest pf the staff for looking after us so well over the weekend we enjoyed every minute and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
We are delighted you all had such a great weekend in our wonderful city.it was our pleasure to look after you all.
I would like to wish the Bride & Groom our best wishes for the big day. Please remember us when you are visiting Cork again.
Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Thank you Martha on the reception desk , for helping when my friend got sick. We were originally only staying one night but Martha helped find a doctor and then booked us in for another night (a very busy Friday night) when my friend was unable to travel.
The view from the 1st floor to the city was stunning and also from the 2nd floor on the 2nd night, unfortunately the smokers and party people all stand under the windows so there wasn't much sleep especially on the Friday night.
Parking is easy and the wifi worked in my room. If you don't like walking, then it is a fair walk up the hill from the town of Cork. Personally , I took a different way each time to look around.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms above the front entrance , very noisy with the windows open. If you are cold, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreneOct08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
I will be sure to pass you kind comments to Martha. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I was slightly worried about what we would find when we drove up to this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised by what we found on the inside. We had a lovely, clean room. The wifi worked great, and it was an easy walk to/from town. The only drawback was the breakfast, included in our rate, but it mainly had to do with the breakfast clerk who really seemed like she wanted to be anywhere else. But the hotel itself was charming and I would recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork.
I would also like to thank you for recommending our hotel. I am sorry one of our team members gave the impression they didn't want to be at work. Hopefully you will have felt through your stay we have a happy motivated team of people who enjoy taking care of our customers. Hopefully you will return again and have a more positive breakfast experience.

Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,891 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing