We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a climb from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bit of a climb from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice hotel, even if it is a bit of a maze, [2 X lifts & 6 X long corridors to get to the room]. Needed the sauna & Jacuzzi to get over the marathon to get to the room. Breakfast is a bit of once its gone its gone, [we missed the croissants by seconds, "sorry that was all there were"]. If you decide to walk to town a taxi back [€6] is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    357
    168
    63
    31
See reviews for
175
487
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

While the room was clean it was dated and could do with a makeover. The breakfast was ok but service was very slow as a result of not having sufficient staff on. Dinner was very poor and when we complained we met with a lot of resistance to our complaint. Eventually the receptionist (who was excellent) sorted the problem. Overall in my opinion it was not a four star experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefourofuscarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 838 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is on the margin of the center city. For a business person it could be ideal. For travelers and tourists, it is less appealing. The city center is a 15 minute walk down hill, and a 10 minute bus ride back (unless you enjoy hill climbing). The building speaks of its history, but it is a little seedy and worn. Still, it is clean and well appointed. The breakfast is below standards for a hotel of this class. The early bird gets the ... Let me just say that on the morning of our stay, many items were gone and not replaced. The food was remarkably tasteless. While I might stay at the Ambassador again, I would breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the front building, otherwise you will have a challenging hunt through a warren of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel in Cork city is perched high up on a hill just outside the city centre. The problem most people have is that it is just that.. No problem walking down, but if you are of my age and condition (no, I am not telling you) then get a local transport bus for a few cent or a taxi for a few euros. You will be glad you made the effort. The upside of this is that the views of Cork city particularly on a sunny morning from your balcony, and the hotel has many balconies is something is worth experiencing. And I was born in that city.

The hotel staff are welcoming and informed and very personable, and living away from my home town I am made to feel instantly at home when I arrive. In fact in Cork it IS now my home from home. My family and I have stayed there many times and any minor problems we might encounter (very few) were always quickly and adroitly dealt with. I have got to the stage where I know almost every one of the staff by name, and they me.

The food is generally good and the breakfast fry is served to order and there is always an option of pancakes (if you ask nicely the night before... don't tell them I told you) or kippers from the menu choice. And the coffee is always good.

Depending on whom you meet in the bar late (not too late) at night can be an interesting lotto and the night staff have their own particular brand of charm and humour.

The value is good also as it does not cost the earth. Forget about that hill!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front with a balcony. The view is terrific. Worth the climb up that hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent weekend at Ambassador Hotel for Family party recently,Hotel had a magical feel about it, rooms were large with great views over the city and the staff were the icing on the cake.The hotel saw to all our needs in an efficient and pleasant manner (they even cut a board to put under the mattress of one of the group who had a back injury). Looking forward to a return visit real soon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at The Ambassadro Hotel in Cork, for your visit . I am delighted you had such a positive experience with us, and that our staff went the extra mile for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

After 11 hours of flying to get to Cork we showed up mid morning before check in and were accommodated with an early check in. The room was great, but the decor was dated. It was very clean. The breakfast was very good and worth going to. Being able to pick and choose items from a full Irish breakfast was nice. On the day we checked out our flight wasn't until the evening and we had no problems leaving our bags in the morning and coming back to pick them up much later in the day.

The only drawback is the location of the hotel. The walk into the downtown is easy and quick, but the walk back is tough.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jibbity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel following your recent trip to Cork. Thank you for your nice comments on the facilities and services you received. The hotel is currently rolling out a phased upgrade of our facilities, should you return I hope you will enjoy the changes.

We hope you will choose The Ambassador HOtel in Cork for your next visit.

Thank you again,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing