We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th birthday weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a short weekend break in January. We arrived and were greeted with friendly, helpful staff who were willing to help us with all of our enquiries.

On the first night, through no fault of the hotel's, we had a bit of a rough night, due to some noisy guests at a function.

The staff were more than apologetic and bent over backwards to help us enjoy our stay, even moving our rooms so that we were away from the function rooms.

We were extremely grateful, as what happened was not the Hotel's fault and could have happened anywhere!

We will definitely be recommending the hotel to family and friends who want to visit Cork.

Thanks the Ambassador, we had a lovely weekend! The facilities, breakfast, dinner and bars were all fantastic and the staff made us feel that we were valued customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for reviewing The Ambassador Hotel in Cork following your stay with us, your review is more than fair, and I am delighted we corrected any inconvenience that was caused to you on your first nights stay. Our staff are truly our biggest asset at the hotel, and I am grateful to them for the way they took care of you. Thank you also for reccommending us to family and friends, as we feel this is an ideal location for city travelling. belated birthday wishes to you, we hope to see you at The Ambassador hotel in Cork real soon.

Thank you again,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, courteous, helpful, cooperative, responsive, prompt and efficient — in short, a credit to the hotel. The woman who checked us in gave us the type of room we asked for. (The quietest rooms are (probably) on the top floor of the new section, at the back facing away from the parking areas.)

The hotel has free parking on-site — and if full on the street outside. Walking into the central pedestrian shopping area of Cork takes about 20-25 minutes (depending on whether you are walking downhill or uphill). The city center has several supermarkets, some in major department stores.

The first room we had, on the top floor of the modern section behind the original building, was large (as was the full bathroom with double wash basins), comfortably appointed and faced the parking area. The king-size bed, with double pillows, was comfortable. The free WiFi worked well, as did the central heating. The flat screen television provided access to about a dozen channels.

Given the cold weather at the time, we appreciated the coffee-tea making facilities provided in each room we used during our stay. We noticed the lack of a normal chair at the work desk so that one could write and use a laptop computer comfortably.

Occasionally, a water pipe would vibrate and make a hammering sound; however, our closing the bathroom door reduced this noise. Internal soundproofing was adequate as long as other people showed consideration and restrained themselves.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Service was good. Dinner was above average. Breakfast till 10 or 10:30 a.m. included a selection of fruits, cereals, yogurts and the like. Staff brought your choice of freshly cooked items, toast, coffee and tea.

We gained the impression from the importance given to parties, receptions and related events that hotel accommodation was an adjunct to providing a venue for social functions. At other hotels where we have stayed, festive occasions have had to finish by 11 p.m., midnight at the latest. Also, someone responsible for hotel security has had the authority to control late-night revelers. If festive events are to finish officially at 2 a.m. and take till around 3:30 a.m. to wind down completely, hotel rooms need to be completely soundproofed — which does not seem the case with various rooms at the Ambassador. A major function of any hotel, especially if part of a "Luxury" hotel chain, is the ability to provide patrons with undisturbed sleep — regardless of what goes on outside a room. From the experience of our visit, this was not the case.

Hence, the deficiency that we encountered (and that you probably will not) related to noise and inadequate soundproofing.

Unfortunately (for us), the first night there had a Christmas party in a function room in the original building. This would not have been a problem had the double-glazed windows sealed our room from exposure to the outside. At the top of the window frame was an air vent. Though it had a cover to close it, the cover did not seal tightly. Consequently, noise from the party and the parking lot outside entered the room — loud conversation, laughing, yelling, screaming, shouting, the bass thump of music, slamming car doors, engines starting, car horns and the like. The room did not have an air conditioning unit or the bathroom a ventilation fan which we could have turned on to provide white noise that might have masked the outside noise.

Around 2 a.m. my partner reached the night porter by phone. (The reception desk is staffed from 8 a.m. till 11 p.m.; for an hotel of the Ambassador's class it should be staffed 24 hours a day, every day.) He said that the party would finish in about ten minutes. Noise did slowly abate, but did not cease entirely as people drifted away gradually. At 3 a.m. my partner went down and talked directly to the night porter. Apparently, he did not have the authority to give us another room or to quieten and hasten the departure of the revelers. He suggested that we move in the morning to a room on the top floor at the far end of the original building. We managed to fall sleep about 4:30 a.m.

Later in the morning staff at reception apologized for the incident, assigned us to another room and offered redress (but not partial or full credit for the lost night's sleep — again disappointing for an hotel of the Ambassador's class).

The room for two people at the end of the top floor in the original building had high ceilings, overlooked the street (which carried limited vehicular traffic), and needed superficial maintenance, such as repainting. WiFi did not work in the room, but did in the corridor outside. Even with the vents above the windows closed, we could feel a continuous, gentle draft of cold air. We did not succeed in adjusting the central heating appropriately; however, the hotel provided us with a small fan space heater which satisfied our needs (and provided background white noise). Though not as spacious, well-appointed, attractive and warm as the room in the modern wing, it worked out much better.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are (probably) on the top floor of the new section, at the back facing away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear reviewer

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel in Cork for your visit to our city. I would also like to thank you for your fair and balanced view, we apologise for any disturbances on your first night, being a popular City Centre hotel, we do cater for alot of events, especially at christmas time, we do try our best to minimise any disturbance to our residents, as hotel guests are just as important as any other part of our business . I would hope you would choose our hotel for any future visits to Cork City, I would welcome any further comments you may have.

Thank you again,

Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed recently for two nights while my daughter attended a two-day course. This hotel is oozing with character. Great old-style features, extremely spacious rooms and excellent standard of cleanliness. Rooms possibly too warm, you may want to turn down the heat on arrival! No noise whatsoever, despite the hotel being busy.

The bar offered comfortable seating, a good choice of food, at reasonable prices and the staff were very friendly. Great location for shopping in the city centre - could walk in 10 minutes but uphill all the way home, so would recommend taking a taxi! Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The familly room is excellent - two super king beds and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathKerry_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at The Ambassador Hotel Cork City, I am delighted you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us, and I thank you for your positive comments we look forward to your defenite return, please call in advance and make me aware of your arrival.

Wishing you all the best for 2012

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
021 4539000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from break in Cork.We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel ....I cant fault anything or anybody connected with this hotel! We arrived at 23:30 and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel most welcome. Our room was pure class as were the staff-enough said dont want to waste it!

Room Tip: Sorry but I only comment on the room I was in-get that and your laughing!There was functions on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twa-Dugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Cork. It is with delight I read you positive review of our hotel, I am glad you had such a positive stay with us, we hope to welcome you back to The Ambassador Hotel, Cork City in the near future.

Wishing you all the best for 2012,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A lovely, old-fashioned hotel. We stayed in an enormous room with a very comfortable bed. Great view over the city. You do need to be aware that, as the address suggests, this hotel is at the top of a very steep hill (hence the view) and if you have difficulty with this you should not book here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of our hotel following your visit to Cork City. I thank you for your kind words, I am glad you found it such an enjoyable experience. you are right we are located on a steep hill, with amazing views of the entire city, with alot of our rooms boasting balconies, however transport to the city is more than convenient with minimal costs. The positives of our views along with our food quality and excellent customer services definitely negates the journey uphill. We thank you again for choosing to stay at The Ambassador Hotel Cork City, we hope to see you and your family real soon..

Wishing you and your family a peaceful 2012,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for a night while family member attended a two day course in hotel. Beautiful old well maintained red bricked building overlooking Cork city. Impressed that all the old features have been well maintained and retained to give the hotel much character. Bedroom was warm, extremely large with high ceilings and very comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Breakfast was an ample buffet style with full hot breakfast also available. Staff welcoming and efficient. Cork city centre is about a 10 to 15 minute downhill walk (of course, it is a 10 to 15 minute uphill walk back!) but worth it for the lovely views over the city, particularly at night. Ample car park if needed. No difficulty in recommending this hotel, particularly to those who are looking for old style charm and character.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing bedroom for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooltravellerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Firstly I wish to thank you for choosing The Ambassador Hotel cork City for you recent visit to cork. I trust your family member enjoyed thier course at the hotel.
Your review seems to touch on all the benefits of staying with us, and I am delighted to see you recieved such a positive impression during your stay. I hope this continues on and you become one of our regular guests for many years to come.

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here last week and to say it was brill would be an understatement.. It was fantastic. had dinner in the restaurant and besides for the waitress stinking of cigarettes and the smell on the plates from her hands. Please get her to Wash them thoroughly in the future.. but besides this obvious transgression the meal was very good. and the steak I would recommend whole heartedly. The rooms have 12 foot high ceilings and the space is great and the views out the front of the hotel at night time are magical. Would recommend..

Room Tip: ask for a city view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your review following your recent vist to Cork.
I was delighted to hear such positive comments regardingyour stay. I also thank you for pointing out the unbearable experience in relation to one of our servers, since your email I have issued a directive to all staff and managers at the hotel in relation to smoking whilst on duty. I give you my word this is something I will be monitoring going forward as I would not like to have been on the recieving end. This is very helpful constructive criticism that will benefit other diners and visitors to our hotel, so for that I thank you.
I hope you will be in Cork soon to visit us here at The Ambassador Hotel, Cork City, I would welcome any further comments.

Happy New Year to you and yours,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $98 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing