We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Guest House
Ranked #31 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not B&B!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Killarney recently and found the food great and staff very friendly and helpful. Single room adequate, shower and en-suite a bit cramped. Was a bit disappointed when checking out to be asked to pay €9 for breakfast. The breakfast was well worth €9 but there was no mention that the €45 charge was for room only! So B&B was actually €54! Be warned. It's situated just across the road from the University, about a 20 min walk from City centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    53
    35
    45
See reviews for
61
122
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qawra Malta
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food is excellent . Service helpfull and friendley accomedation very well kept and inviting we really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. and would recomend it to our friends and family.
Richard and Anne O'Keeffe

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we arrived we was very disappointed with our room very cramped!! Not like what we had seen on the internet. It stated that it was a 4 star. More like a 2 star!! We complained to a member of staff. They agreed to move us to crawford house next door (which they also own) This was more like what we had seen on the internet. Just what we expected for a 4 star. So a word of warning. The pictures on the internet are of crawford house next door. Not killarney house!!!! Killarney house is more like a 2 star. This was deffo mis-sold as the pictures of crawford house are on the website for killarney house... Crawford house is so much better. No complaints about Crawford house at all !! HOW DO THE OWNERS GET AWAY WITH THAT!!!!! So a word of warning when booking Killarney house make sure you get the room that is on the internet Crawford house!!!!!! The rooms you see on the website should be the ones that you are paying for!!! Learn from our experience. Crawford house lives up to a 4 star review. A WORD TO THE OWNERS ..... DON'T MIS-SELL TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC!!!!

Room Tip: If you stay in a room in crawford house you will be fine!! No complaints there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms lovely staff will definitely be back lady at the door is one of the most pleasant people I have ever met at a reception and the rooms are kept perfectly! This will be the b&b of choice anytime I am back in cork for the night! Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Killian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We requested early check in but it was not available (but they did hold our bags). The hostess was nice enough to upgrade us to our own apt for the one night we were in town!! So the review is for the nice 2 level apartment, the rooms in the actual B&B seemed very tiny (which is expected for hotels in Ireland) and cramped. I am not sure of the price but the apt was very nice and had own kitchen, outdoor patio space, washer/dryer (coin operated) and would be worth your stay in Cork. Cork is very urban and gritty I am glad we were only here for one night. Skip this city and spend your time in the quaint town of Kinsale (a 45min bus ride away) so much more beautiful and adorable! I think the name of the town appealed more to us. They forget to mention if busing it here get off at UCC of Cork stop it literally is across the street from Guest House, or else u have to take a 15euro cab from bus station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri2tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here on 10th March. Arrived a bit early and Margaret asked us to return a liitle later to book in. Left car in the large car park to the rear and walked into the town centre for a few beers and a nibble. returned about 5 and Margaret gave us large comfy rooms in next door Crawford House. Spent a great evening in Cork only 10-15 mins walk away. Lovely Breakfast next morning in Killarney guest house. Very good value. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked a double room and paid in advance. When we arrived at the guesthouse we were greeted by Margaret who told us she'd give us a different room. She then showed us to an apartment in a separate house. It was well equipped, clean and spacious. We were very impressed with the quality and comfort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,379 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#30 of 58 in Cork
129 reviews
Mardyke
Redclyffe Guest House
Gabriel House B&B
#7 of 58 in Cork
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Guest House

Property: Killarney Guest House
Address: Killarney House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Killarney Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Guest House Hotel Cork
Killarney Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing