We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beside University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Guest House
Ranked #31 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beside University”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a weekend break. Was very easy to find and plenty of parking space. Our room was in the building next door and on the top floor. There was no lift so if you can't manage lots of stairs would advise you request a room on a lower floor on booking. Our room was huge with a lovely bathroom with hot water whenever we wanted it. Beeakfast was served in the main house and was the best I've see anywhere, there was so much selection. I ordered pancakes and maple syrup for breakfast and was very disappointed, I expected 'American style' pancakes but what I got was just two thin, cold pancakes. I didn't make the same mistake twice, I have the 'full Irish' the following day and it was delicious. It was within an easy walking distance of the city centre. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    53
    35
    45
See reviews for
61
122
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

If you have young children, do not rent a guesthouse! NO FOOD AVAILABLE AT CHRISTMAS! ALL CHEFS IN THE AREA WERE AWAY FOR CHRISTMAS!

STAFF WAS RUDE AND GAVE US BAD INFO. ON WHERE TO EAT!

WATER TAKES 15-minutes to heat up!

Door jammed! Couldn't get out! Stuck in room for 30-minutes trying to get help! No phone in room!


NEVER AGAIN!

You have to go into the city center for everything! Will never book a guest house again! Better to stay in as regular hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 87traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The service is excellent. The staff is great. and Ana Maria is a wonderful host, she's very efficient and kind. The hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. Plenty of space to park. Beds are great. Our stay here was the best. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Cannot say enough about the kindness of the manageress, Margaret. As my husband, due for a hospital appointment, had to have something light to eat before 7am, she very kindly delivered a choice of cereals plus milk to our room at 6.15am! Our room was very clean and comfortable and the choice on offer in the dining room for breakfast was amazing. The only criticism I had was that I would prefer a duvet or a throw or even ordinary blankets to the heavy cotton spreads that were provided but that is just me. I requested a room that did not require a lot of stair-climbing and we were given a great room in the adjoining house which was on the ground floor. Plenty of room to park cars also. Miriam A.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground floor, if available, if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minitonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed one night, which was absolutely ok, the room was ok, a little small and old, but the service was nice and the breakfast amazing. The only thing really not so nice was the bathroom. It seemed built into a wardrobe, there was lots of mould and it wasn´t dry at any time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This guesthouse is conveniently located on the Western Road, across from UCC, about 15 minutes walk to city centre. It is fine for a short stay, but wouldn't recommend for longer. We were in a tiny room with a tiny bed, with a mobile-home-like ensuite. The shower was just a trickle, and it broke on the last night! There was an inch of dust on top of the TV, and the tea and coffee facilities were poor. The walls are also paper thin, and we could hear people talking for half the night next door! It did redeem itself by the friendliness of the owner, who was more than willing to help us out, plus the breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choices, I would say the breakfast was nicer than any hotel I've stayed at!

However, on the last morning, the cleaner knocked on our door telling us to get out, that we had to check out. I thought it was a bit rude.
Overall though, it is fine and cheap if you want an overnight or weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked into Killarney Guest House for one night midweek. Was quoted higher rate over phone than was available on internet, best rates available on line, room only rates, breakfast is extra. At check in there was a little confusion over rates. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. Plenty of parking and convenient for city centre and University College Hospital. Plenty of other guest houses on this road, so it may pay to shop around.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damnuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,377 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#30 of 58 in Cork
129 reviews
Mardyke
Redclyffe Guest House
Gabriel House B&B
#7 of 58 in Cork
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Guest House

Property: Killarney Guest House
Address: Killarney House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Killarney Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Guest House Hotel Cork
Killarney Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing