We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Guest House
Ranked #36 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Killarney Guest House on a Friday in August and really enjoyed our stay. We got such a warm welcome on arrival and our room was fantastic. Location was great and cleanliness was second to none. Ample parking also. Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Killarney Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 371 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We where in Cork one night and spent the night at Killaney guest house. The hotel did not find our booking at first, but we got our room in the end. We got a much better room then we ordered. Very helpful staff and the location is good. Great room. Tho the shower was unusable bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this lovely guest house, a bit away from the city centre of Cork, around 15 minutes walk (It can seem close, but when you have to be at the tourist office at 8.15 and you come back after a looong day tour, it seems really long.) moreover, the facilities (restaurants, fast-food, rail-station, main bus station) are not so close, which means 15min walk at least 4 times a day).
Nevertheless, the host was very kind and the Full Irish breakfast was very good : to me, future customers shall choose their breakfast when they are at the house because there are a lot more choices than on the internet.
We also expected to be more in a real guest house, and this one was closer from a little welcoming hotel. (We expected to meet people from all around Europe and/or world, and we didn't have the possibility to share a table with the other guests)
We didn't pay too much for this trip (258e/3nights irish breakfast included)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This B&B was pretty average. The room was fine, although the bathroom was TINY. It has an old feel overall and could use some updating. Our room was a family room that seemed to face the busy street below, so it was noisy. I was also disappointed that breakfast was an extra charge, which only makes it a "B" and not a B&B to me. The lady managing the property was as sweet as can be, so no complaints there. Parking is around back and is somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the best experience of Cork hospitality. Margaret and her staff were fantastic, pleasant and efficient. We just loved it and will certainly return. Margaret thank you for everything you really are the hostess with the mostest. Patricia and Gary Roberts and family, Belfast co Antrim..

Room Tip: If you have a problem with mobility choose a lower floor room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very comfortable B&B with truly lovely staff, and a genuine Irish welcome. It's almost opposite the University of Cork campus (lovely walk through the grounds) and less than10 minutes walk to the centre of town.
We came with friends, they stayed for 2 nights, while we stayed for 4; both our rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean and given the unusually hot weather having fresh sheets each night was a welcome treat. We both had ensuites in our rooms (not all rooms do, some share) and though the ensuites are small (they have a sliding folding door to save space) there is everything you need and the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water (takes a few minutes for the hot water to come through on the first shower). If in the front bedroom, with the windows open there is some road noise (fine with closed window) and as it is a well built older building the walls are quite thick and the rooms and stairs are thickly carpeted so quite quiet.
None of us had ever been to Cork before, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - our welcome couldn't have been warmer and we were very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedarWych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Cork and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Ideal location and close to town centre.The rooms were very clean and spacious.The full irish breakfast will set you up for the day. The lady who ran the guest house was so friendly and helpful, she made us feel so welcome. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
766 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,394 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#13 of 60 in Cork
85 reviews
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#34 of 60 in Cork
133 reviews
Gabriel House B&B
#6 of 60 in Cork
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Guest House

Address: Killarney House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $99 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Killarney Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Guest House Hotel Cork
Killarney Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing