We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic, Over priced for what paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Cork Airport
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The travel lodge is ok for a one night basic stay. The place was overpriced for what you get. Only tiny hand towels in the rooms. Its more like an upmarket hostel than a hotel. Room was very noisy and didn't get a good nights sleep. We didnt have the heating on in the room, however it was very warm in the room and we had to open the windows to cool off. This however let noise from traffic in which woke us up in the morning. Staff at reception were friendly. Handy for a last minute booking if you have a car,it avoids cork city centre traffic.Very budget - no luxuries, basic, could propably get alot nicer hotel in Cork for same price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLittlestHobo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervyn_Boyle, General Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear TheLittlestHobo2013,

Thank you for your comments, we welcome all feedback and where a guest points out any issues or difficulties they experienced during the course of their stay we act immediately.

In relation to the towels, I can assure you that we use the same provider of linen as many of the leading hotels in Cork so I am very surprised that this was your experience. Regarding our prices, I can assure you that we are very proactive in ensuring that we offer our guests the best value for money possible.

I would be delighted with an opportunity to discuss your stay with us in more detail so that I can understand fully your guest experience with us, please find my contact details below. We value your feedback.

Kind regards,

Mervyn Boyle
Mervyn.Boyle@travelodge.ie
021 4310722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 439 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and my partner booked this as we were flying in late and faced a long drive. It was 12.30am by the time we arrived so we were tired. Check in was easy and the guy on reception was very friendly. We got a room on the first floor. Big double bed with a single bed as well. The room was a great size, and well laid out. We didnt turn the tv on, so cannot tell you what channels, etc. Tea and coffee, and very impressively, there were mugs rather than those small tea cups. Bathroom adequate although the fan was very noisy and the door was a bit hard to close and open. The bed was so comfortable with a just right duvet! Only drawback was that there werent any plug points around the bed.
I hear people say "you get what you pay for", well in this case, I think you get more than you pay for, as we paid €52.
Now, the downside, and through absolutely no fault of the staff, apparently there was a group who took up 22 rooms. Sadly we were kept awake by some of them until after 3.30am. I am disgusted at how inconsiderate people are. I did mention it at check out, and the very lovely receptionist told us that the guy on night recepion spent the night going up and down the corridors trying to hush people, so I really dont blame Travelodge, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervyn_Boyle, General Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Clarri,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you found your recent visit to be great value with many good points to your stay.

I am disappointed however that your stay was let down by a group staying in the hotel, please accept my sincere apologies regarding this. While not all groups cause problems such as excessive noise we normally take steps to keep any group staying in the hotel together in a separate area of the hotel. Unfortunately however for reasons beyond the control of the hotel this was not possible.

Should you have reason to stay in the Cork area at any stage in the future I would be delighted if you would consider us again.

Kind regards,

Mervyn Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived very late due to flight delay but there was no problem getting our room. Nice bath, clean bed.The diner next door was great for a bite to eat along with rockn'roll music. But hard to find in the dark.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlassiefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervyn_Boyle, Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Irishlassiefr,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and the positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you even indulged in a bit of Rock' n' Roll food.

If you are ever in this area again please drop in and say hello.

Yours sincerely,

Mervyn Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a local equestrian event, so only needed somewhere to sleep and wash. Comfortable clean room with nice bathroom and, most importantly, dogs are welcome in your room with a modest charge. Slightly difficult to find hotel in the dark as entrance appears to be into petrol station and signs not obvious but actually good location right on the roundabout, just off the ring road. Overall good value budget accommodation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Basically a good fair average quality motel close to the city,clean,good staff etc. but do not even consider eating at the attached diner.walk a mile over broken glass to avoid it.the food is shocking and the prices outrageous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights & it was fine. Clean rooms & friendly staff & pretty much all we needed & expected 4 the bargain price! We used the bus going in & out of he city centre which took about 20 minutes & a day pass costing less than €10 per couple is a bargain. No onsite bar but reception do hold a few bevvies if you take the notion & there is a topaz petrol station next door. For what we paid €140 for 3 nights in a family room I think it's great value!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank dinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had an early morning flight the next day.
The room was large, clean, had a comfortable bed and the bathroom actually had a bath rather than a shower.
We were very pleased with the lady receptionist who was friendly welcoming and helpful.
We did notice that the corridor outside our room smelt of cigarettes although it wasn't noticeable in our room.

As with all Travelodges, it was cheap and cheerful and this one was particularly handy for the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhc339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
242 reviews
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
811 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cork Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cork Airport

Address: Travelodge Cork Airport Hotel Kinsale Road | Blackash, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: $74 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cork Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Cork Hotel is just 1 mile from Cork Airport and a 5 minute drive to Cork City, the southern Capital of Ireland. Travelodge is an ideal base for visiting Cork City, Kinsale, West Cork, Beara Peninsula, Kenmare, Killarney or the Ring of Kerry. Local shops and services are available close by and it's only a leisurely walk to some local traditional pubs in the evening ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cork Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cork Airport Hotel Cork
Travel Lodge Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing