We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Cork Airport
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The title is in the light of the review I just submitted of the TL in Waterford. Advanced booking; arrived 8 Sept and departed 10 Sept. The whole experience was positive, including a room that looked out on a planted wall, meaning it was silent and away from the highway, Eddie Rocket and the petrol garage. Nothing to fault about the room. Reception was attentive and professional. There is a nice pub/restaurant just up the road on the way to the airport. Even with live music when I was there.
In general I chose this TL for its ease of access to the rest of the county and this proved to be true, with a good hotel experience as a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisKotzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cork Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 431 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Travelodge Cork airport is a typical budget hotel, an adaquate place to stay overnight but not for a longer period of time. We stayed for one night in June and chose this hotel because of its location near the highway. I was on an individual round trip through Ireland and good access with a complimentary parking lot was the main requirement. The hotel is also quite close to Cork airport but rather far from the city center. However, this was absolutely no problem as we rented a car and downtown Cork is not difficult to find, even without a map.
Staff was very friendly and courteous and check- in was completed within 2 minutes. We were handed a breakfast voucher (I included breakfast when making my reservation). The hotel does not have its own restaurant, however there is an American-style restaurant attached which seems to be part of an Ireland- wide chain. Breakfast was acceptable but nothing special and the choice was too limited. We also had dinner there which was good but a little pricey.
Amenities in the hotel are limited, actually there is nothing to do outside the hotel room. But this is what I expected from a budget hotel so I cannot really complain.
Unfortunately, my room looked old and dated and was in need of refurbishment. It was not very bad, still the company should invest some money to improve things. Cleanliness was not an issue, though. The bathroom was lacking basic toiletries. Although being located near major roads, there was no disturbing noise in the room.
To sum it up, the Travelodge Cork airport is an acceptable place to stay for one night, it provides basic budget accommodation. I rate it 3 star as there was nothing bad about the hotel but one should not forget that it's a 2 star property so expectations should not be high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAW-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a vacation in Ireland. The bed was excellent and the room was spacious. Facilities are typical of other Travelodges I have used, simple but they do the job.

The location is adjacent to the southern ring road and not far from the airport. There is not much entertainment nearby, and try to avoid driving through Cork city at rush hour as the traffic is very heavy at times.

Room Tip: Upstairs seemed quiet, and rooms in the "200" series e.g. 205 are at the end of the wing m...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your post.

Dear Cloted

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here on business for one week and couldn't wait to get out of the place.

First point; the rooms are very noisy. It seems like the building has a timbre frame, so you can clearly hear the people moving around on the floor above if you are unlucky enough to be put on the ground floor. I am a heavy sleeper, and yet I was woken up several times from the noise of people upstairs coming or going in the middle of the night. This is even more likely to happen at this hotel, since it is near an airport.

Second point is that there is nothing to do around this hotel - Eddie Rockets for meals, and a petrol station next door: nothing else within walking distance.

The third point was that there seems to be some problem with ants in this hotel. I left an empty glass of soda on the table one morning, and found it covered with ants that evening. When I reported it as I was leaving for work the following morning; the receptionist said he would ask the manager to investigate. Then when I got back in the evening, the manager said that he couldn't find any ants! However; I had taken pictures! Funny that I was the first to discover this problem! So I was given another room (without any ants!) but this did nothing for the noise.

In summary, this is not a good hotel. It's advantage is the low room rate, and the fact that it is near the airport. The reception staff were very professional. Nothing much else to recommend this place.

Stay here only if you need a room for an early night the next morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

One of 4 TLs visited during tour of Ireland. Usual reliable service and room at good value 45 euros. About 1.5 miles from Cork centre down busy dual cariiageway so walking into town not viable. Helpful receptionist alerted us to nearby bus stop with service each way every 10 mins upt o 11.00 p.m. - 1.70 euros fare. Cork centre very lively with lots of music bars. Taxi back at 1.00a.m. Sunday morning only 10 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick-Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisLazdans, Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time reviewing our hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more so, in all other Travelodges in Ireland.
I do hope to see you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Janis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Its a Travelodge so I wasn't expecting much. Staff were friendly. The room had a damp smell,wet patch on the carpet, a cracked mirror and a very dusty sofa.We could hear the people in the room above us walking around for most of the night. The bathroom was clean. We were up very early for a flight so I didn't bother bringing this to anyones attention as it did the job for the short time we were there. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Ben M

Thank you for your comment.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues We will investigate the damp, and replace the mirror and sofa if required. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed with my wife and 3 children in a family room for 3 nights and had no problems. Staff where helpful even when really busy. Kids loved the room and Eddie rockets was excellent for both breakfast and evening meals and snacks. Not as pricey as I expected.
Room was exactly as you would expect of a travelodge and beds where really comfortable.
free wifi is available in Eddie Rockets and just outside which was useful.

Room Tip: Its a travelodge. Don't expect the 5 star accomodation. It is a good nights sleep in a clean and...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanisLazdans, Manager at Travelodge Cork Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking your time to write your positive review of our hotel!
I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us back in August.
I hope that you and your family had a great time visiting Cork city and we hope to see you again sometime!

Kind Regards,
Janis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
238 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cork Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cork Airport

Address: Travelodge Cork Airport Hotel Kinsale Road | Blackash, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cork Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Cork Hotel is just 1 mile from Cork Airport and a 5 minute drive to Cork City, the southern Capital of Ireland. Travelodge is an ideal base for visiting Cork City, Kinsale, West Cork, Beara Peninsula, Kenmare, Killarney or the Ring of Kerry. Local shops and services are available close by and it's only a leisurely walk to some local traditional pubs in the evening ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cork Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cork Airport Hotel Cork
Travel Lodge Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing