We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My trip was a just a one-night stay with my five-month old daughter. I booked online and had requested that the room be big enough to accommodate a travel cot. Got my confirmation email plus another email from the hotel informing me about other options available to me during my stay e.g. dinner etc. So far, so good. Arrived frazzled - travelling with child is like moving house. The receptionist was the picture of efficiency. Really polite, friendly and efficient (at last! How many times have been with receptionists who appear to be inputting a thesis on the computer). Arrived in the room and OMIGOD, they had put a travel cot in place with fitted sheets at the end of my bed. I nearly cried with happiness - it was just so unexpected and saved trips to the car with daughter in hand to collect, unfold cot (not to mention all the other furniture associated with bub). When was the last time a hotel did something for you on its own initiative i.e. anticipated that such a gesture might be of assistance? Me thinks that the recession is a good thing after all. Well, that wasn't it. Arrived down to breakfast with baby sitting happily in her car-seat. The waitress advised that it was free-seating and that it was a buffet breakfast. Help! Try serving yourself holding baby at same time. But no, Silver Springs service to the rescue. On her own initiative, she immediately suggested that she organise breakfast for me and bring it to my table. OMIGOD! I was getting seriously emotional at this stage (and no, it's not the post-pregnancy hormones I swear). Needless to say, check-out worked like a dream and I departed in blissful happiness and a bill for around €85. This hotel is a great option for business or leisure alike and unlike many hotels, the staff are simply amazing! I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were looking forward to a nice week in a four star hotel with our 3 children, 10, 6, and 3 years. The family room was too small and there was nothing bigger available. There were no facilities in the hotel for the children to play in the evenings they spent the time playing hide and go seek in the stairwell, not very suitable but better than hanging around the bar or restraunt. The "on site" leisure facility is a 10 minute walk away, all up a steep hill. The restraunt did not open on Monday and Tuesday night so you had to eat inthe bar or get a €10.00 Taxi ride into Cork. The food was not great the menue stayed the same for the week. All in all the week did not work we spent over €1000 in the hotel and came home frustrated. On a positive note the staff were friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

On our arrival we were greeted with a friendly smile from one of the receptionists. Unfortunately I could not get her name however all staff were equally friendly. The room was extremely warm, however the room we were staying in was at the back and so was very close to the Leisure and Banqueting centre. The weddings all took place here and so was very noisy 2 nights throughout our stay.

One major problem which I found with the hotel (Which was beyond the hotels control) was that it was a good distance out from the city of Cork itself. The room was cleaned every day and two complimentary bottles of water left in the room. This was good as thankfully the weather was very hot during our stay.

The leisure centre was beautiful, however the only down side of this was that an adult had to accompany the children in the pool. The pool was a five minute leisurely stroll from the hotel itself.

In the bar the food was excellent and every day we were greeted very friendly by Marcin, (I hope I spelled that correctly), and the service was very quick and also the food was very fresh unlike other hotels we have previously stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stecra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed at the Silver Springs for a 2 night midweek break in early July with our 3 children. We had, as requested, one room with 2 doubles and a single. This was fine, and the room itself was reasonably modern - flat screen tv, tea and coffee etc. The bath/shower was a bit dated though,and there was a little black mould around the bath rim, where the tiles met the bath. A minor gripe though easily rectified one would feel.
Also, another gripe was no air con. Maybe that is a 4 star or 5 star requirement and not for a 3 star establishment as this is , but it was very warm at night even allowing for the (restricted,understandably) window opening,and would have been very welcome.

The restaurant served a nice dinner, and the service was good, although the breakfast choice is not what I envisaged,being restricted to a few cereals and some fruit. There is a choice for a hot breakfast,sausages,eggs etc,though it wasn't out of the ordinary. On the second morning, we were informed the bread delivery had not been made,so no toast or croissants were to be had. I like my toast and a croissant in the morning, so I was a little grumpy because of this.

The bar are is nice and spacious and modern,and serves decent bar food all day with nice seating and big windows looking out to the river, and across the busy main road.

Finally, the swimming pool is actually not in the hotel but a 10 minute walk up a very steep hill to a gym club,which is on the hotel grounds. You have to get towels from reception and I recommend you take the car up there if you can, as it is a stiff walk if you aren't superfit (like ourselves!) But the pool itself is good,decent changing rooms and we had fun there with the kids.

So overall, not bad, I would recommend it despite the minor gripes. There is decent value to be had for a decent level of comfort and relaxation and you will get that here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warbeck05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Room is nice and modern. Fairly ok channel selection on the TV. Food at breakfast was good. Beware of getting a room that faces onto the main road at it is very noisy 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlietangodelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

great price, decent rooms, good breakfast, good location, good parking

bad food, no gym, poor internet connection

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pg2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Lovely hotel, not great looking from the outside but lovely inside. Very friendly staff, very clean bedrooms. Fantastic choice of food for breakfast. Lovely evening meal at night. Great stay, enjoyed out time there. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireAndRain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,560 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Address: Silverdale Silversprings Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork T23 E244, Ireland (Formerly Silver Springs Moran Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#15 Family Hotel in Cork
#17 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $107 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in sylvan terraced grounds just 3km from the city centre and 11km from Cork Airport. With over 100 guest rooms, superb cuisine, versatile conference facilities, fully equipped leisure facility & exceptional service the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing