We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here whilst in Cork with work a few weeks ago. Check in and out was quick and efficient and the room was clean and functional. Food quality was good as was quality of drinks. Due to time of arrival and departure (after 6pm and before 8am) I was unaffected by any noise from the building work on site. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear SharmanMike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you received such swift and efficient service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    335
    211
    94
    74
See reviews for
285
274
26
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Would I stay here again....... I don't think so !
The bedrooms are far to dated even for the 70/80s fans out there. The room I was in was facing the very busy road outside that feeds Cork city even though I asked for a room at the back of the hotel.
Dinner in the bar lacked atmosphere, not that I was looking for pole dancers and banging music but something to liven it up, they did have a lovely open fire in the middle (turn it on though)
Breakfast was enjoyable, but it's wasn't enough to make me change my mind about staying again.
Onwards to find a suitable hotel in Cork for my next business trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sean F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review in relation to your recent stay.

I am terribly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you raised in more detail.

Here at The Silver Springs Hotel, we always strive to maintain and improve our level of service to ensure that we always meet the expectations from our customers, and we welcome your type of feedback so that we can work on our occasional shortcomings and ensure they do not reoccur.

With regards to the rooms decor I wish to point out that we almost finalised a total revamp of all bathrooms, and the feedback we received so far is very poisitive. Unfortunately you were allocated to one of the rooms that had not been refurbished yet, and I strongly believe that should you have seen one of the new rooms, you would have left us with a totally different opinion of us.

In relation to your comments about the Lounge poor atmosphere, I am afraid I am slightly suprised by this, as this is the one area in the hotel that is constantly buzzing; on weekends we also offer live music from 10pm and is generally a very popular venue for locals, corporates and families alike.

Sean F, we respect your wish to not return again, however I am confident that if you gave us another opportunity to welcome you back we would do our utmost to change your idea of our hotel.

If you wish to return please contact me directly on 021 450 7533 or on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com and I will personally ensure we meet your demands and exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had carvery lunch on sunday here recently. 10.50 for main course and 4.50 for dessert excellent value. Very tasty and enjoyable. They also had face painting and balloon making for kids, good idea to keep kids entertained

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancykelle102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Nancykelle102,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review in relation to your recent experience at our Watermarq Restaurant.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your meal, and it is great that you acknkowledged our efforts to make families as welcomed and comfortable as possible.

In recent months there have been great additions to our facilities to better cater for the many families that visit us every year. The brand new playground at Watermarq Restaurant and the indoor play area for the smaller kids have been received by our customers with great praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and if there is anything I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed one night with my husband in January 2014. Stayed on the 3rd floor, hotel is being renovated at the moment so there is a bit of noise to contend with. They are working 9 to 5 each day but the started at 8.30am and woke us up from our slumber with drilling and banging. Hopefully the work will finish soon as if you are staying for a leisure break you might not want to be woken so early. It does seem to cater for the business traveller mainly. Gym is not in the main hotel and you have to drive or walk 20 minutes to it so we did not use it as a result. We eat in the bar area, service was very good, prices were reasonable and the food was excellent. Our room was a twin with two double beds. It was very clean and had all the usual amenities. No free standing shower, it was over the bath. We visited the Jameson factory (taxi from the hotel is about €27 each way). Good location if you are heading into Cork with free parking.

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from the renovation work until it is completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Dermotswoman,

Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff had such a great impression.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the refurbishment noise, however we believe this disruption is necessary in order to further enhance our guests future experience, as we are currently renovating all guestrooms bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed two nights .... On arrival we were given a room with a doggy reception on the television. Nothing could be done to improve it so we had to move rooms ..., this was no problem but the fact we had already unpacked made this an chore. The hotel was nice and comfortable with friendly staff. The breakfast was very basic with not much variety. I ordered porridge and it came like wallpaper paste...... Not very appetising. However I enjoyed my stay......

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the issues you raised.

As you mentioned with regards to the TV reception, this was an unforeseen technical incident which are difficult to control, and I am glad that you brought it to our attention so that we could change your room and rectify this immediately.

As for your comments regarding our breakfast quality and variety, I will personally discuss your feedback to the relvant managers to ensure this does not reoccur.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future and if I can be of any assistance to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently. Was upgraded to a suite, it was fab!! Wish I was there longer to enjoy it. Went to dinner dance that night food was lovely. Had room service the next morning and it was really nice and hot!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkLady8727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear PinkLady8727,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you departed with such great memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The noise is this hotel was beyond anything I've experienced in all the hotels I've stayed in.

We were on the 6th floor and it felt like our room was next to the motorway below.

Some sort of machine maybe a pump turned on in the hallway outside the room at 7.30am and didn't stop for near 30 minutes. Unbelievably loud noise.

The doors of the rooms slam shut when not held so be prepared to listen to all night and morning.

We were forced to call reception at 11pm to complain about under 18s who appeared to have their own rooms shouting in the corridor and slamming doors for 2 hours previous to that.

Could barely sit on the toilet it was so close to the wall in the bathroom. There was no toilet brush provided.

Food was nice in the bar and breakfast was typical.

Lifts were painfully slow to arrive.

The one redeeming quality was the staff who were excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Funky_Thistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear AidoManDude,

Thank you very much your review.

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and I thank you for taking the time to raise the issues you encountered.

I can assure you that we will be addressing the several shortcomings that you addressed to ensure that they do not reoccur again in future, and I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff, as I am glad that even during a below par stay our staff friendliness and professional attitude still had a positive impact.

As mentioned above, I look forward to have the opportunity to discuss the issues you raised as I would very much love the chance to be able to welcome you back and show you that this was not the way we normally operate.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,500 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Property: Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Address: Silverdale Silversprings Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork T23 E244, Ireland (Formerly Silver Springs Moran Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#15 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#17 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in sylvan terraced grounds just 3km from the city centre and 11km from Cork Airport. With over 100 guest rooms, superb cuisine, versatile conference facilities, fully equipped leisure facility & exceptional service the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing