We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Athlone, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not a 4 star!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On a positive note the vast majority of the staff were very nice and helpful. Our reservation was mixed up but was quickly sorted out at reception when we were checking in.
The bar food was hit and miss! Generally they seemed to be understaffed most nights as it was often hard to get anyone's attention to take orders or pay the bill as they were running around so much. they seemed a bit disorganised, getting food orders mixed up and arriving to tables looking confused! We were staying on business for a week and ate in the bar almost every night for convenience, One night it would be OK, the next awful and so on... seemed very inconsistent and the menu was uninspiring!
The bathroom in my room was in dire need of refurbishment. "Almond" coloured 70's style suite, terrible shower and not too clean either! (grubby toilet roll holder, scuffs on the side of the bath panel, shower head hanging off the wall... I could go on)
Reading lights and table lamp in bedroom didn't work and the bed was hard, but the rest of the room was ok, except for the cracked walls, chipped paintwork and stained carpet. and of course the constant noise of the lift. Often would see piles of breakfast trays on the floor by the lift for more than 24hrs, where housekeeping obviously dumped them for someone else to sort out. My advice... spend the extra few euro to stay at the Rochestown Park, it's a far superior hotel, it actually deserves it's four stars!

Room Tip: Smoking rooms on 6th floor are awful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weefa_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDaly2397, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Weefa_mc,

It is with regret I read your review of the hotel posted on the 6th of August.

First and foremost it is a shame that when we have a guest who is staying for 7 days and bearing in mind we have 24 hour duty management coverage in the hotel that you would suffer in silence so to speak and not make your views known to us, therefore leaving us in a position where we are unable to be given an opportunity to assist you with your difficulties during your stay.

I personally myself was on site in the hotel for the majority of the duration of your stay and would have been more than happy to discuss your perceived difficulties with you in order to assist you in providing a more enjoyable stay for you.

I find it quite unfair to suggest that the team who work our Lounge Bar where you ate that you described them as disorganised and looking confused. This is an unfair generalisation of a team of people who work extremely hard in a very busy environment and whos' only aim is to look after our guests and provide the best service posible.

Sure as with any restaurant there may be mistakes made but to suggest this occurred every night you ate simply is unfair to say the least.

In this lounge we serve in excess of 250 meals a day and is an area which proves popular with local clients and hotel residents and I can assure you that if the level of consistency was as erratic as you say we would not see the constant rise in levels of business we have seen over the past couple of years.

Nobody is saying that the menu is perfect but it is a menu which has been tailored to suit the requirements of our clients based on the feedback received and is varied and very reasonably priced.We also provide a fine dining outlet in the Watermarq restaurant which is open six nights a week for dinner.

However as with all menus it does have a life expectancy and our new winter menu will be launched in mid September to create new offerings for our regular and new clientele.

With regards to your bedroom I admit that the bathrooms are not as modern as we would like but they are perfectly functional and clean.

As a point of note all the bathrooms in each bedroom of the hotel will be fully refurbished in November of this year with the work being completed by mid December. This is another part of the ongoing upgrading of our product in order to deliver the best possible experience to our valued guests.

On reading your review I immediately inspected the bedroom as you listed numerous defects with it concerning the table lamp, bedside lights and shower head

I found there to be no issue with any of these & even if there were these issues, when staying for seven nights why not inform us if you had difficulty using the lights or a difficulty with the shower?

You also mention that you found the bed hard which also surprised me considering it is a King Koil mattress which was purchased on the strong reputation this company has for supplying the highest quality in bedding for the hotel industry. It is also a piece of feedback I have not heard previously.

Regarding your comment re breakfast trays left on the corridor for in excess of 24 hours I again can categorically state this to be untrue.
All breakfast trays are collected using a system where they are brought to a central point and then removed to one of our kitchens by a member of our concierge team.
Perhaps it was different trays from different days you saw as this is a meal we serve each day and while other hotels you stay in may not serve room service breakfast this issue may not be so evident to you elsewhere.

Overall Weefa_mc,

I truly regret you did not enjoy your stay with us and certainly had I or my team known during your stay the issues you felt you had we would have down our utmost to work to remove these issues and ensure you enjoyed your stay.

Within this hotel and the group in general it is our priority and overriding aim to provide the highest kevels in customer care and service but where this is not achieved we would certainly use all our resources to meet with the guest and work diligently to resolve any difficulties they may have.

I thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and assure you that where necessary your critique has been treated with the seriousness and sincerity it merits so we can make the hotel a better establishments for our valued guests to enjoy the use of.

I am of course available at your convenience to discuss this matter further should you wish and can be contacted via telephone at 021-4507533 or alternatively on email edaly@moranhotels.com.

Assuring you of my most personal & professional attention,

Yours Sincerely,

Eoin Daly.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    332
    209
    92
    71
See reviews for
274
273
26
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What makes this hotel special is the staff, they are so genuinely warm and friendly they make your stay that bit special. We were fortunate enough to be staying in the Tivoli Suite which was super, the bath tub and shower were second to none, I nearly washed myself away, and himself nearly had to be dragged away from the Rotating TV. Food in the restaurant was tasty and portions were quite large to the point where we found we couldn't finish each course (unlike us) and again, the staff here were so polite and warm and didn't hover or interrupt our meal in the slightest. Overall a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone, for any occassion.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if at all possible, you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loumogou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We went on a hen party last weekend, and got an amazing deal which seemed to good to be true, but it wasn't! The rooms were beautiful, very clean, the staff were exceptionally friendly from the receptionists to the bar staff, and the cleaning staff who always smiled and said hello as we passed in the corridor. The food was beautiful, we had a cocktail class with Alex who was lovely just like all the staff. Nothing was a problem. For a hen weekend I cannot recommend it highly enough, and I will definitely be returning for a weekend away! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpstapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaraoconnor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just came home from a two night hen party package in the silver springs. We booked 2 night b&b and one dinner. We also paid 12 euro for tapas and processco on the friday night and a cocktail class on the saturday. The tapas were amazing so much food it was a full meal!! Staff are so friendly couldn't do enough for us! Would 100% recommend it to an

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaraoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The service was second to none and so friendly. The food was only ok but on seeing we didn't eat. The Waiter asked us what was up and bought us out a different dish which was lovely. The menu had loads to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we very much appreciate your comments about the level of service you received. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and if there is anything I can personally do to make your future stays more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me direclty.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for one night on a BBD offer. The rooms while dated were clean. The hotel bar was nice, spacious and staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant, while kitted out very much like a "breakfast bar" was clean and fresh. The food was fantastic for both dinner and breakfast. The waiting staff were very helpful and friendly and very attentive.

Rooms towards the front of the hotel may have a little extra noise from the main road but with windows closed it's nothing too distracting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyproftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

While the hotel looks decent, the rooms reminded me of the 60‘s era communist block hotels. The bathroom is extremely old style, the hot/cold water taps in the bathtub barely work. Also, the pool is off site, requires bathing caps and closes at 8am... There is no A/C in the rooms, which made our room an unbearable jungle for the 2 nights we stayed. A car-alarm went off at 4am and the constant noise from a busy highway did not help having a restful sleep either... B&B, oh how I long for thee...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Non-Smoker-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Property: Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Address: Silverdale Silversprings Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork T23 E244, Ireland (Formerly Silver Springs Moran Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#15 Family Hotel in Cork
#17 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in sylvan terraced grounds just 3km from the city centre and 11km from Cork Airport. With over 100 guest rooms, superb cuisine, versatile conference facilities, fully equipped leisure facility & exceptional service the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing