We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a very nice hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not a very nice hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

we stayed here & there was absolutly no atmosphere, the hotel is so old fashioned & could do with a revamp outside, its beside cork port and its constantly noisy, you wouldnt really walk to the centre of town, i's say its about a 15/20 min walk along the river, its only about a 5 min drive, if i was to stay in cork again, i would not stay here, compared to its sister hotel the red cow, this is a dump, its isolated, no shops, pubs, takeaways close either, the bedrooms are lovely though

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Shauna K,
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I am terribly disappointed that you did not find our hotel of your liking; I appreciate that if your intention was to stay in a city centre hotel we certainly would not be able to meet your expectations. I do however hope to have the opportunity to discuss your comments in more details, if so please contact me on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or on 021 4507533.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    302
    187
    87
    62
See reviews for
247
254
23
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff was extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The bar was nice. Great selection of beer on tap. The only downside was the location. About a 10 euro cab ride into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Dan S,
Thank you very much for your great review of the hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
In the menatime if I can be of your assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on frotoffice.silversprigns@moranhotels.com.
Yours sincerely,
Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We must have stayed in a different hotel! This hotel is shabby and needs complete refurbishment. It is old and worn, like a hotel from the 1970s. The reception staff had a couldn't care less attitude. The hotel is situated directly opposite the entrance to the Port of Cork. With the constant noise of trucks 24 hours we could not open the window at night. There is NO air conditioning. 4 star??? Definitely not. The best part of our one night stay was checking out the next morning and driving a short 15 minutes up the road to the Blarney Golf Spa Resort…now this was 4 star!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dessiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Dessiepoo,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail. Please contact me directly on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or on 021 4507533.
Yours sincerely,
Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was in this Hotel for a Family wedding. The Wedding reception was in the Banqueting/Conference Centre. From start to finish everything was very professional and well organised. The food was wonderful.Plenty of everything with Waiters and wiatresses enquiring of our wellbeing several times. Staff in Banquet centre and the Hotel itself were very polite and very helpful. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Greenandwhite,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the wedding you attended.

It is always extremely rewarding for us when our customers recognize the great amount of effort placed by our management and staff in order to succesfully host such an event. Especially as we are aware of the significance of this celebration for the married couple and their immediate family. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com.

Yours sincerely,
Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The reception is very professional and welcoming. The bedroom was modern and it was comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast had a good range which allowed plenty of healthy choices. Good value and good location for getting around Cork with out traffic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Silver Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear 2elephants,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel.

It gives us great pride to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you took your time to acknowledge it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and in the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,
Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed in the Silver Spring a few times over the last few years and have always found a consistently welcoming team behind the front desk who are friendly, helpful and cheerful.

The hotel is old but very well maintained. there are one or two minor signs of old age but in general, it's up there with the newer buildings in terms of style and cleanliness.

The rooms, bar and restaurant have super views, particularly on higher levels and there are several lifts if the stairs is not your preference.

The beds are super - a great sleep. There is a slight tendance for sound to travel between rooms. Particularly in the bathrooms.

The food is good but service in the bar is very slow. I observed a family with small children suffering a painfully long and unassisted meal. If they had been in a fast food restaurant they would have had more help from the staff.

Parking is ample outside the front doors but the hills and steps may be tricky for older guests.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor room. The view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have driven up to this hotel on a couple of occasions and drove away. The Grey building and the big grey looking net curtains just put me off each time. I decided to give it a go last night and went into the lobby and I was pleasently supprised as it was large and well decorated. I asked if there was a room available and there was so I asked what the B&B corperate rate was and was surprised at the rate. Its the most I have paid for B&B in some 5 years and I stay in hotels three nights a week every week All over Ireland. It was late and I had checked on a couple of Hotels I usualy stay in and they were full.
I went ahead and booked in. The receptionest was very pleasent and helpfull, no complaints there. I went up to room and it was a good size, comfortable bed, plenty of work area but the bathroom was dated as was the room. The Tv was very dissapointing with a very poor pitchure and not many stations to choose from. No trouser press or Ironing facilities although they were probably available from reception but for a four star hotel I expected much more. Everything was clean but it just felt grubby. One pet hate is cheap plastic mattress covers which make me sweat, dont expect to find them in a 4 star hotel but non the less there it was. Breakfast was ok, didnt eat in resturant and Leisure facilities was to far away to attract me. Overall it was very dissapointing especialy haveing paid well over the odds for the privilege. Highlight!!!! met James Nesbitt when leaving in the morning. Doubt if his room was like mine!! Nice bloke. Will I return? I paid €79 B&B. I would at €59 which is the most i pay in the hotels i stay in, the majority at less. Most three star hotels I stay in would be comparible to this one Some are much superiour..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Property: Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Address: Silverdale Silversprings Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Silver Springs Moran Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#15 Family Hotel in Cork
#17 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in sylvan terraced grounds just 3km from the city centre and 11km from Cork Airport. With over 100 guest rooms, superb cuisine, versatile conference facilities, fully equipped leisure facility & exceptional service the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clayton Hotel Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing