We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is just a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything is just a little tired”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed in the Silver Springs on Friday, 20th October for the sixth time. The greating by reception staff was polite and efficient. We were given room 403 which is on the side of the hotel that faces the river. First time we had stayed on this side of the hotel and it is much nosier than other rooms we have stayed in. Although I did not have trouble sleeping I was aware of work carrying on all night. The standard of the rooms was normal for this hotel, coffee, tea and a biscuit, lucky my wife didnt want one as there was only one available. Bathroom was clean but the basin taps were appaling. Difficult to turn off and on two occassions I almost flooded the bathroom. Basin plug hole chrome had pealed and didnt look very appealing.

Room service for dinner was good, food was tasty and service quick and efficient even though there was a major event on at the hotel. Breakfast the following morning was also good and delivered to the room on time.

Overall a pleasing stay although for the price paid €105 I felt that the hotel felt a little tired and worn out. I would be tempted to go with one of the other chains who offer a cheaper price without the room service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel641121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    323
    202
    90
    66
See reviews for
260
269
25
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Unfortunately, I was only here for one night and that included an evening function in the adjoining conference centre, so my experience was somewhat limited. However, what I found was a really welcoming hotel from the minute I arrived at reception to leaving the next morning.
The room was very large, two double beds, with all the facilities I needed. My one criticsm was that the shower was set up in wet room style and a lot of water finished up on other areas of the bathroom floor making them dangerous. A small screen would solve this problem. At times the room was a little too warm for my liking and I could not see any controls to adjust.
Although I only used the restaurant for breakfast this was plentyful and comfortable. Again, I only used the bar for afternoon tea, and that was, also, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if there is a function on in the conference centre as entry is from that floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Myself and the family have stayed at the Silver Springs a few times at this stage and I want to complement the hotel for a very nice experience overall. We got an excellent rate for a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids, really good deal with a massive breakfast thrown in. The room was plenty large enough for our needs, with a flat screen TV (limited number of channels) and wi-fi included. One minor quibble was that our bathroom was designed for a disabled person, which is all well and good, but not when the sink is only 2' high and there was no storage for toiletries whatsoever. The foyer downstairs was suitable for families with youngish kids to relax in the evening with a drink without feeling you were in a bar. The leisure centre is a tough walk up the top of the hill (just drive up, it's easier) and the pool there is a little dated but adequate. You really need a car to stay here as it's too far to walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayoForSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for one night and was very pleased with the room. Had a meal in the bar which was excellent and the bar staff were friendly fast and efficent. Really good value. I did hear one family complain that there was a steep walk outdoors to get to the pool . The bar area was very relaxing. Hotel I will revisit

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here over Christmas and really enjoyed it. The bar was full, the food and drink and atmosphere were great and they showed the darts in the bar which really made it :)

The room itself was a little on the small side but absolutely spotless and really up to date. It looks like the whole hotel is kept really well and not let get shabby or dated or anything like that.

Really enjoyed it and would recommend - location is great as well for the city and for getting to/from.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

good straight forward hotel good residents bar and friendly staff, good gym and pool bit of a walk!!! but worth it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderaroundabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here on 30th December attending Wedding in nearby Hotel Fantastic welcome, well done ladies at Reception at approximately 4.30 pm on 30th. Rooms perfect, great breakfast

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDiningOut035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Silver Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Silver Springs

Property: Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Address: Silverdale Silversprings Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Silver Springs Moran Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#15 Family Hotel in Cork
#17 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Silver Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in sylvan terraced grounds just 3km from the city centre and 11km from Cork Airport. With over 100 guest rooms, superb cuisine, versatile conference facilities, fully equipped leisure facility & exceptional service the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Silver Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing