We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Highly Recommended !”
Review of Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashley Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Waynesville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Highly Recommended !”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel ! The customer service was fantastic, especially the female day front desk manager. She went out of our way to ensure we had everything we needed, were pointed in the right direction, and we could not have asked for more. We were only a few minutes walk from the city center, so location was perfect ! Across the street were a couple of quality pubs as well in case city center is not your scene. There was free wifi available to all rooms.Secured parking was included with the night's stay as well. Overall, our stay was great, we were within budget ! Thanks a lot Ashley Hotel !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    44
    35
    59
See reviews for
25
63
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Recently my childhood and long-time friend visited me here in Ireland. We did a whirlwind tour of Ireland and our first stop was in Cork City. I had stayed at the Ashley Hotel and it was my first choice when finding reservations for that leg of our 'tour'. Anita Couglan and her staff are pleasant, friendly, helpful and make one feel at home. The breakfast each morning is superb and was something I woke up looking forward to! Quality, cleanliness, and ever willing to answer any questions or offer advice regarding getting around the city. As well, this hotel is very conveniently located, close to Bus Eireann and also very near to the Citylink bus stop, not to mention it's proximity to the Grand Parade. I highly recommend the Ashley Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eireseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had a big, clean, comfortable room with plenty of natural light. The décor and fittings were a little faded but it is an old place, and pretty cheap.

The bathroom was a real room with real windows and a full-size bath. There was plenty of hot water though the operation of the shower was a bit idiosyncratic.

The location is very good, though perhaps it might be noisy on weekends.

The full Irish breakfast was plentiful but not really the best. However I ordered it especially early, so perhaps that was a factor.

All the staff I had dealings with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I booked this hotel as a last resort after 9 or ten other hotels I tried were booked out. The rooms are horrific. There were horrible stains on the 1950's carpets and bed throws. The window in my room was tiny and I would wonder if there is a fire safety regulation that it's in breach of. The eggs for breakfast were undercooked, the toast manhandled by the staff, the cutlery dirty etc. I have never been so repulsed by a hotel before and would not have imagined that a hotel like this exists still in Ireland. I travel around Ireland alot for work so I know the general standard of hotels in the area. Parking isn't really an option here either. I would suggest to only stay here as a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proteuspatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

the ashley hotel is in a great location with it being5 mins walk from the city centre, but i am afraid thats all it had going for it. its disgracful how disgusting the rooms were, the shower mats looked like something had been chewing on them with big chunks taking out of them, the shower itself was useless no power whatsoever, the towels looked old and tatty with 'Ashley Hotel' wrote accross them in permanent marker, and the towels that were left in my room were filthy aswell. To top it all off, when I moved my bed to find plugs I found RAT poison underneath it, i told house keeping, she took it away saying it wasnt harmful and that it was just a precaution and told me that it was under all of the beds!!!!!! We also felt like we couldnt leave the hotel freely always having to leave our keys at reception even when going out for 5 mins. we did not have high expecations because of its price, we were not picky either, but we did expect it to be clean!!i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay here especially families with young children with rat poisin lying around on the floors!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuddy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel primarily because of its central location and for being so close to the attractions of this city. It charm and service is epitomised by Anita, the delightful proprietor. Problems we had were solved by her knowledge of the city and we felt it an extension of our home. Value for money was great and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for visitors to Cork as you are immediately made to feel welcome. Staff were great and and friendly. We stayed at quite a few hotels during our visit to Ireland and compartively the Ashley could not be better.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2010

hotel right in the centre which was perfect for me. good breakfast to start your day, room very clean and comfortable. i would recommend this place for anybody who is looking for decent service and value for their money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermark917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
513 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,545 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Property: Ashley Hotel
Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with ensuite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Wifi available throughtout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing