We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable, relaxing, fantastic service and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, relaxing, fantastic service and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

On a recent visit to Cork my wife and I and our 16 month old daughter spent two very enjoyable and relaxing nights in The Maryborough Hotel and Spa, Douglas, Cork. From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome. The ladies at the reception desk were very friendly, helpful and informative. The porter was very prompt and efficient and helped us with ALL our bags!!.
Our first impressions of the hotel were confirmed when we saw our lovely room. It was a big spacious room complete with travel cot and a large balcony which overlooked the beautiful, mature and manicured gardens. Our room had all mod cons including a cd player, a collection of cds, in-house movies and wii-fi. We had a large bathroom complete with bathrobes and slippers. Included in our package were two nights bed and breakfast and an evening meal. The food and the service on all occasions was excellent. The staff were very helpful and accomodating and catered for our daughter's every need. Overall we felt the hotel was very child friendly with special features such as a playroom, toddlers swimming pool and a pet farm. The Spa in the hotel was very clean, modern and extremely relaxing. We had a most enjoyable stay and it wasexcellent value. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grange69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    435
    177
    77
    35
See reviews for
380
787
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This Hotel is excellent. We had a wonderful experience. We couldn't fault the facilities, and the Staff couldn't do enough for you! We attended a Family Wedding reception at the Hotel. The cost was most reasonable and all the food and drink was excellent. This Hotel is in a wonderful setting in the countryside, and within a short walk of local amenities. A most relaxing and memorable experience to our three day stay. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badge49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

On arrival at the hotel, we were recieved by a very friendly and helpfull staff. Our room was very good with a double bath the only down side to this there was no window in the room but, plenty of natural light and air conditioned. The food was excellent, the waitress viola was extreamly helpfull and pleasent she made our meals a delight . It was such a pity that the resteraunt was not open every night, you had to eat your meal in the bar resturaunt. The bar was very poorly stocked with glases, (no brandy glases). Breakfast was excellent except very poor supply of coffee pots. The spa was brilliant. Overall our stay was a delight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLELED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Wow what can I say! I have just checked out and wow this hotel is amazing! I came for one night. The rooms were fabulous and came with very fast broadband and Sky Sports! The pool was amazing and so was the spa. The food was fabulous! My little daughter loved the petting farm just across from the hotel. The staff are the most friendliest staff I have seen. The rooms are spotless clean. The bathroom was spotless clean. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in cork and looking for a nice friendly hotel. I will most definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Food and service were excellent for the price - €65 ppBBD. Not much to do at the hotel so go to Fota, cobh and kinsale. The extensive grounds are not!
Great base to see other nice spots in Cork.
Oh and btw the thermal suites are separated into male and female.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed in hotel and highlight was the spa treatment - I went for a body wrap and it was amazing! A totally new level of relaxtion. Give yourself plenty of time to relax in the thermal suite and relaxation room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Staff meet you at the reception with a warm friendly manner and were more than helpful with all my inquiries.
The Suite in which we stayed was wonderful (Old Charm) and had a great view over looking the grounds of the hotel.
We eat in the hotel on our first night and the dinner was outstanding from starters to dessert. The wine selection was good too. We were due to have dinner out in Cork City on the second night but our teenage daughter enjoyed the meal the first night so much that she wanted to have dinner at the hotel again which says alot. The only down side to the meals was that the restaurant was closed and you ate in the Bar area.
My daughter and I took full advantage of the pool and Gym which were very clean and well equipped.
We had a fabulous stay and we all look forword to going again in October.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniemooney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing