We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“great place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I cannot speak highly enough of our stay at the Maryborough. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the garden and all of the staff treated us so wonderfully that I felt guilty about the great rate we were getting. All 3 courses of the dinner which was included in our package was delivered to our room at no extra charge as our kids had fallen asleep before we got a chance to dine and the lady who served our tea at breakfast saw us struggling to get our daughter to eat her cereal so offered to have the chef make her a special pancake. The gardens and petting farm make it a great place to stay with kids- we even came away with two adorable baby bunnies as a souvenir of our trip- they're doing great in their new home, thanks Justin. Ive never written a review on trip advisor before but felt I had to on this occasion as I was so impressed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eralcnahanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    435
    177
    77
    35
See reviews for
381
788
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are very friendly, rates offer good value but there were two issues taht bothered me - the first is that the residents bar appears to be restricted to the bedrooms which seems a bit unusual - instead of serving down in the bar, we were forced to retire to one rooms and havet he drinks served there - not sure what the logic is as I imgine it could cause issues for guestes sleeping in other rooms to have drinker congregating in a room closeby...?? Secondly, the heating kicking in just after 5am and rattled and clanged until the alarm went off at 7.30am - really irritating as I looking for to solid sleep being away without the kids. I would stay here again but would really like to have these two issues resolved first.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I was looking forward to a lovely two day break in the Maryborough Hotel. At checkin we booked a dinner reservation for 6.30pm on our welcome letter it said dinner would be served Tuesday to Thursday in the Zings Restaurant however on check in we were told dinner would be served in the cafe bar.

Upon arrival at 6.30pm we were told no table was reserved for us despite rechecking with the receptionist. The waiter showed us to an unreserved table in the bottom area of the bar area I had spotted an unreserved table in the area leading from the reception desk to the lifts I would call it a foyer area.

The food was good once one could summon the waiter however as I love to dress up going to dinner it was not very satisfactory eating in an area where people were constantly walking up and down with their suitcases.

The breakfast was served in Zings Restaurant each morning. On the following night upon return from dinner which we had in Barrys Bar in nearby Douglas village (excellent)
I discovered the restaurant was opened however it was to accomondate a private dinner party! I fail to understand why the restaurant was not opened to paying guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Just returned from my 5th stay at the Maryborough, I cannot speak highly enough of this Hotel, it is my favourite hotel in the world!, it has everything you need for an unforgetable stay, The rooms are lovely, the garden is so tranquil as is the hotel, The spa is the best I have ever been in, the food is exquisit an all this is married together because of the fantastic staff, they just can't do enough for you. So I just want to say a big Thank You to all of you... Again. See you soon
Joan Mackey

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed here for a friends wedding a few weeks ago. Lovely hotel, just a few minutes from Cork city centre. Our room overlooked some lovely gardens with lots of birds and trees to peek out at. The room was very spacious and the Hotel itself was very well kept. My girlfriend was very impressed with the spa as well as the well-appointed bathroom and quality toiletries. Will definitely return for a longer stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights over easter in a spa room with double jacuzzi bath, which was so worth the extra expense. The room was brilliant with great lighting.
The food was of a great standard, with the breakfast being outstanding and served till 11am. But its the staff that make this place, all so plesant, and make a great effort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lili16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

We took a break to celebrate our 30th anniversary and chose to spend 3 nights in the Maryborough hotel and spa. The room was clean with a lovely private view of the gardens. The pool and facilities were within east reach of our room via the escalator. The 4 course dinner which we had on the first night was one of the best meals we have had, the steaks were superb and everything tasted so fresh. This was not a once off and we were similarly delighted with the standard of all subsequent meals including the delicious breakfasts.
The service was outstanding and friendly. We were made to feel special throughout our stay. Thank you all including Kieran.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank listoweljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing