We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Recently stayed at the Maryborough Hotel. Cant speak enough of the hotel. Greeted by pleasant and friendly staff, the room was extremely comfortable and immaculately clean with a view of the beautiful gardens from the balcony, the hotel in general had a real homely feel about it.
Location wise it’s only a walk down to Douglas village where there was a nice selection of shops and bars with good nightlife, and only minutes drive form the South Link, while on the other hand. one looking to get away and relax, the Spa is available to relax unwind after a long day. All in all I will definitely be returning to the Maryborough House Hotel and would advise anyone planning a trip to Cork to stay here.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank KS1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,937 - 1,943 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

Beautiful place, very friendly staff. Spa treatments were fantasic,a bit pricey. Food both moring and evening was mouth watering .Manager Joe Foran went out of his way for me. Even treated to lovely bottle of red wine and a reduction on our bill, as I needed to change rooms. Its a great place for a ladies pampering weekend, or book a spa room if you plan on spending your time in bed, resting or playing!! Just park up your car and get the treamtents you desire until you have to depart.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My wife and i spent a night in the maryborough hotel to celebrate the night we met 20 years ago.We needed a relaxing break after the last few hectic months.The moment we set foot inside the marvellous 18th century reception area we knew we wouldn't be dissapointed.We received a warm welcome from the friendly and helpful check-in staff and we we're allocated a lovely room on the second floor.
Our room was a nice size,very clean and with all amenities.We had a balcony overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens.We sat for an hour,chatted and sipped a couple of glasses of wine while marvelling at the huge trees which bordered the wonderful flowers and shrubs.Some of them must have been hundreds of years old.
After a while we headed down to the thermal suites for some relaxation.We had to split up as men and women have seperate areas.I spent a leisurly hour unwinding in the sauna,steam room and hydro pool whilst listening to the soothing sound of falling water.I didn't want to leave but it was time for dinner.
We had a lovely meal in the bar area as the main restaurant was closed.The bar area has a lovely warm atmosphere with a large open plan seating area surrounding the sunken bar.We finished off a wonderful evening over a couple of drinks.
In the morning we had a nice buffet breakfast.My wife ordered a freshly cooked omlette and I went for the full Irish.As the spa was fully booked up on the previous evening,I couldn't let my wife go home without a little indulgenge.She went for a manicure with hot stones and loved it.
All in all we had a wonderful stay at the maryborough house hotel.It was too short of course.We didn't have far to travel to find this oasis of tranquillity but the downside is we got back to reality very quickly.We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

very nice hotel and well placed for Cork. Staff v.friendly. Used the Espa spa which was v.good, although some of the facilties werent working - lifestyle shower and and lights in sauna werent working.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank MyTravelsJoWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

spent a relaxing weekend at the maryborough. room was great with a nice view out to the garden from the balcony. staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr0pics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The overall impression of the Maryborough is "grandeur" itself,but once you get inside you find a very homely and elegant hotel with very friendly staff.The gardens alone are worth staying for! Both myself and my partner come from Cork and we stay in the Maryborough when we return.The location is perfect for catching up with friends and family, as the hotel has an extremely airy bar and seating area that offers both privacy and convenience. ,or if we feel like a spin to west Cork its only a 5 min drive to the South Link road. The restaurant is excellent,every taste is catered for.If we feel like a night away from the hotel Douglas village is only 5 mins away with a great selection of bars and nightlife.
All in all the Maryborough is our number 1 choice for comfort,relaxation, and location.Don't forget to try the spa,you won't want to leave..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_marie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

There is a room service menu in the room and this service is supposedly available 24 hours a day. I called reception at about 10pm at night to order a snack, they forwarded my call to the bar where they seemed to not know what I was talking about. The person at the bar asked a manager who said that no room service was available. The kitchen closes at 10pm I was told. So why then bother to provide a room service menu or to advertise the 24 hour availability? Moreover I heard a loud knock on the door of a neighbouring bedroom at about 1am with someone announcing that it was "room service". So if another guest can get room service, why not every guest?

Second issue was that I expressly asked for a taxi for the next morning with a credit card facility. The driver insisted on cash stating that he had turned off the credit card machine since the hotel never advised that a credit card facility was required.
I've stayed at this hotel maybe twice before and I've never liked it. The layout is awkward and while it is fairly well presented, there is nonetheless something "cheap" about the decor and the experience. Anyway I've stayed my last night there and won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 021810a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,559 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $163 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing