We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Spend two lovely nights here in May food was fantastic staff very friendly. Best breakfast I've had in a hotel in a very long time. The only let down was the bed as it was two singles pushed together they didn't meet correctly one was an inch so was slightly uncomfortable and the duvet seemed to be two single ones in a double cover which was very weird and they weren't attached. But other than that excellent stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    435
    177
    77
    35
See reviews for
381
788
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Nice setting. Tranquil. Comfy beds. Spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. Food really was sub-par though - we tried room service and breakfast. Both could use an overhaul and redesign. Same to be said for cocktails at the bar - a Pimms came as literally Pimms in a glass - we asked for lemonade which came separately but no fruit etc... Amaretto Sour was equally poor. All told - nice place, nice rooms, nice staff but food and drinks could use some managerial oversight/reviews.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCoupleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in this tranquil hotel. The team there are all very polite and nice. Make you feel welcome and wanted your custom.
Highly recommended. Rooms are nice and TV is excellent especially for the World Cup matches. Bar and restaurants very clean an nice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VKXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Overall the hotel experience was very good. However on the first night we were in room 312 which is situated over the kitchens.The noise from the extractor fans was very bad and we had to ring to reception at midnight to have them turned off. After that there was constant humming noise from the fridges and freezers as well as noise from the function room where there was a wedding. I got about two hours sleep while my wife never closed an eye. The next morning when I complained reception was on the ball and within 30 minutes we had a new room in a quiet area.From then on all was satisfactory. Service was good, food excellent and me being a coeliac was very well looked after. One small complaint which may have been partly due to the wedding guests running out to look at World Cuop, the service at the wedding feast was a bit slow. I would certainly stay with you again if the occasion arises,

Room Tip: Do not choose a room over the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was my second time staying in the Maryborough and all i can say is the experience is excellent.
The staff are genuinely lovely, very helpful and go far beyond what i have experienced in any other hotel. The room was really nice and completely different to the old part of the hotel which i stayed in the last time. Cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The old part is really nice if you want to get the country house feeling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Checked into one of the hotel "suites" ! It was dark, damp, worn out, wall paper/paint peeling, with dirty furniture. We had to bring luggage up and down the stairs to the room, as there was no lift, reception was unattended mostly. No air con in the room which was pretty ridiculous. No extra touches like even a bottle of water in the room or a mere chocolate on your pillow ! The key to room had to be left at reception as it was an old antiquated large weighty steel one which struggled to turn in an almost warped lock, we handed key in on our way out in the evenings and when we looked for it back, had to ring and wait up to 10 minutes to get it back !! Breakfast was poor, don't look for yoghurt or fruit .., our full Irish breakfast was presented to us by a Waiting Staff who told us to move the teas/coffees on our table to a nearby one to make room for the plates, poor, untrained, unprofessional and overall advice keep away from here !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Lorna D,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I’m disheartened to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our guest’s experience is of utmost importance to us, and we take great pride in delivering a quality product with friendly hospitality and impeccable service. That is why I’m shocked to hear of your encounters with our staff as the feedback is typically positive. I have passed your comments on to our management team, and we will be looking further into the details. As it is our standard to have water in all rooms as well as wine and cookies for guests booked into our suites, we will speak with our Accommodation Manager as to why that wasn’t the case in your situation. Our suites are located in our 18th Century original house and due to the heritage of the house, we are unable to have an elevator in that area. However, we do have a more modern section of the hotel with more contemporary decor that is accessible by elevator, and these might have been a better option. I would like to offer my apologies that you were disappointed in your stay and thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oostende belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recommend very much the Maryborough hotel in Douglas Cork.
It is very well situated ij a beautiful park,has a suoer garden and very helpful and nice staff.
The rooms are very well equiped and large and comfortable.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding,with a good price/quality .
We had a super stay and was one of the best hotels we satyed in in Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a room on the groundfloor with a terras .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goderis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear goderis,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. We’re thrilled you were able to take advantage of our gardens and hope you had a lovely night’s rest as well. Thank you for your compliments regarding Bellini’s. I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to our chefs as I know they’ll be delighted you enjoyed the food. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We hope to welcome you back if you return to Ireland.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing