We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
$230
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,198)
Filter reviews
2,198 results
Traveler rating
1,326
522
212
96
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
522
212
96
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal suitelovely hotelon arrivalrelaxation roomdouglas villageeggs benedictcork citychanging roomsrelaxing breaktop classa lovely stayboth morningsleisure centrebar and restaurantfood was lovelylast weekendenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 2,198 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in this tranquil hotel. The team there are all very polite and nice. Make you feel welcome and wanted your custom.
Highly recommended. Rooms are nice and TV is excellent especially for the World Cup matches. Bar and restaurants very clean an nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VKXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Overall the hotel experience was very good. However on the first night we were in room 312 which is situated over the kitchens.The noise from the extractor fans was very bad and we had to ring to reception at midnight to have them turned off. After that there was constant humming noise from the fridges and freezers as well as noise from the function room where there was a wedding. I got about two hours sleep while my wife never closed an eye. The next morning when I complained reception was on the ball and within 30 minutes we had a new room in a quiet area.From then on all was satisfactory. Service was good, food excellent and me being a coeliac was very well looked after. One small complaint which may have been partly due to the wedding guests running out to look at World Cuop, the service at the wedding feast was a bit slow. I would certainly stay with you again if the occasion arises,

Room Tip: Do not choose a room over the kitchens.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was my second time staying in the Maryborough and all i can say is the experience is excellent.
The staff are genuinely lovely, very helpful and go far beyond what i have experienced in any other hotel. The room was really nice and completely different to the old part of the hotel which i stayed in the last time. Cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The old part is really nice if you want to get the country house feeling!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Checked into one of the hotel "suites" ! It was dark, damp, worn out, wall paper/paint peeling, with dirty furniture. We had to bring luggage up and down the stairs to the room, as there was no lift, reception was unattended mostly. No air con in the room which was pretty ridiculous. No extra touches like even a bottle of water in the room or a mere chocolate on your pillow ! The key to room had to be left at reception as it was an old antiquated large weighty steel one which struggled to turn in an almost warped lock, we handed key in on our way out in the evenings and when we looked for it back, had to ring and wait up to 10 minutes to get it back !! Breakfast was poor, don't look for yoghurt or fruit .., our full Irish breakfast was presented to us by a Waiting Staff who told us to move the teas/coffees on our table to a nearby one to make room for the plates, poor, untrained, unprofessional and overall advice keep away from here !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Lorna D,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I’m disheartened to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our guest’s experience is of utmost importance to us, and we take great pride in delivering a quality product with friendly hospitality and impeccable service. That is why I’m shocked to hear of your encounters with our staff as the feedback is typically positive. I have passed your comments on to our management team, and we will be looking further into the details. As it is our standard to have water in all rooms as well as wine and cookies for guests booked into our suites, we will speak with our Accommodation Manager as to why that wasn’t the case in your situation. Our suites are located in our 18th Century original house and due to the heritage of the house, we are unable to have an elevator in that area. However, we do have a more modern section of the hotel with more contemporary decor that is accessible by elevator, and these might have been a better option. I would like to offer my apologies that you were disappointed in your stay and thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recommend very much the Maryborough hotel in Douglas Cork.
It is very well situated ij a beautiful park,has a suoer garden and very helpful and nice staff.
The rooms are very well equiped and large and comfortable.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding,with a good price/quality .
We had a super stay and was one of the best hotels we satyed in in Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a room on the groundfloor with a terras .
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goderis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear goderis,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. We’re thrilled you were able to take advantage of our gardens and hope you had a lovely night’s rest as well. Thank you for your compliments regarding Bellini’s. I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to our chefs as I know they’ll be delighted you enjoyed the food. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We hope to welcome you back if you return to Ireland.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews