We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel and surroundings. Staff are extremely friendly even at 4am! We were upgraded to the Deluxe Spa Suite which was a welcome treat. I would highly recommend this hotel for a break away either as a couple or with children as they can enjoy the gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

Three of us had booked into the Spa last week.
We arrived early and decided to have lunch in the bar. It was quite busy as there seemed to be a weeding or day after a weeding however we still received excellent service. Food was delicious service was great and extremely friendly.
We then proceeded to the Spa. It was beautiful and extremely clean. Treatments were fab and the place was extremely relaxing. the spa staff from the welcome desk right up until we left were just brilliant.
I cant say enough great things about our day!!!:)
We will defiantly be returning-soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscork7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear sscork7,

Thank you for taking your time to share the details of your recent visit to Maryborough Spa. We're delighted you chose to dine in Bellini's before your treatment and found the experience enjoyable. Thank you for your compliments regarding our Spa facilities. We take great pride in being able to offer a luxurious spa product that allows our guests to completely unwind while they're there. I'll be sure to pass along your remarks to our spa team as I know they'll be thrilled with the feedback. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend and had such a great time. Although the hotel was busy the staff were so calm, welcoming and helpful and the Family Breaks package was great value for money. The crazy golf had our 5 year-old hooked anyway, but the easter egg on the Saturday sealed the deal! The children's own breakfast bar was also inspired and a big hit too.
Also loved that the spa changing rooms were the perfect temperature - pet hate having to change shivering wee ones after a swim but the pool and changing areas here were perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMayMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is great but the hotel its self is overpriced . Food is not very nice , Patatoes were stale while beef was tuff , All and all it gets a 3 / 5 , I would stay here again and i would reccemend to a freind but they really need to look at the prices ...

Room Tip: Room 926 alot quieter then the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Johnny S,

Thank you for your review of The Maryborough. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found our staff excellent. But I would like to offer my apologies that you were disappointed in certain parts of your stay. I was surprised to read of your experience with the food served in the restaurant as feedback regarding our food quality is generally positive. Please know that I will be bringing your remarks to the attention of our culinary team. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future and have the opportunity to prove our value to you. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed here a few times with a group of girl friends as a "treat" weekend. The hotel is easy to find, very accessable and close to Douglas Village which has shopping and restaurants. It is also a short drive into the city centre and a taxi costs around €12/14. From the train station though it is a bit of a treck as it is at the opposite side of the city.The staff are very friendly and professional and do their best to accommodate all requests. We availed of a 2 night b&b package with evening meal and found it to be very good value for money. Breakfast is buffet style cereals, variety of breads and pastries (try the bread and butter pudding here....dessert for breakfast!!!), fresh fruit, smoothies, juices, dried fruit and cold meats. You can also order hot food from the menu including fry, omelette, fish, eggs etc. The included dinner was from the al a carte menu and again delicious but portions on the small size so you can afford to sample the lovely home made breads offered and still have room for dessert!
The spa facility gives a luxuriously relaxing offering with fluffy robes, thermal pool and relaxation room for after your treatment. A nice touch here is the fresh juice and flapjacks to nibble while to relax. The only grip we had was the lenght of time the therapist worked on us. A full body massage advertised as 60 mins was really only 45 mins. When we mentioned this to the receptionist we got a very curt answer and no apology for the shortened time. This was very disappointing.
The gym is really good! It has all modern equiptment, a hugh variety of machines from treadmills to ski, rowing, bikes and all the usual weight and core machines. As there is a good number of each I didn't have to wait either which is also a bonus. The facility is clean, well ventilated and maintained and towels are provided for visitors.
All in all the hotel is really nice. It is also a great base for travelling around East Cork and it's proximity to the city is also beneficial.

Room Tip: The twin rooms are a little pokey but request a ground floor with a balcony area as it provides a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Laura N,

Thank you for your review of your recent trip to the hotel. We’re thrilled you and your friends have chosen to stay with us for your treat weekends. We hope you’ve found your visits relaxing, stress free, and enjoyable We’re glad you find our location convenient and our packages of good value. Thank you also for your complements regarding the staff and their friendly nature. We’re pleased, too, that you enjoyed your dining experiences and found the food delicious. I have to confess, the bread and butter pudding is a personal favourite of mine. We’re thrilled you took the time to relax and unwind with a treatment in our luxurious spa. I will be sure to pass along all of your feedback to our spa team. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed one night in May 2014 in a Spa room and were lead to believe this was something special. Sorry to say the room was cluttered with assorted furnishings, trip over items and sharp corners. Artist type lights hanging over the bed and a table that was so wobbly we had to stack books under it to stop our drinks spilling. A spa bath took centre stage in the bedroom come lounge come wardrobe of shambles that was our room. So while you reclined in the spa bath all within the room could watch as you turn slowly into a prune. The colour scheme was tasteful and the room was lovely and clean. A seeping water pipe in the shower/toilet cubicle made sitting on the throne a wet foot affair and there were enough light switches to fill a whole house.
Front house staff were polite and helpful so thank you Rachel for making our stay friendly.
Our cooked breakfast was very tasty but the cold buffet was below par even though the selection was large. Maybe they should concentrate more on a smaller buffet then they would not run out of what is being offered so quickly. It was a disappointment to see the lids off the cereal jars, seal side down, sitting on the seat of a chair at the back and under the buffet table. Who knows what has gone on those seats and if they have been cleaned properly and also if the cereal jar lids also get a good clean each time they are replaced onto the cereal. Yuck! the mind boggles.

Room Tip: Don't choose a spa room unless you really want to take a spa. You may kill yourself getting to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Hatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Aussie_Hatch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Maryborough. We’re pleased you found our Reception team friendly and are glad they were able to assist you during your stay. However, we’re disheartened to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of your visit as it is always our goal to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. I would like to offer my apologies that you found our contemporary spa bedroom uncomfortable. We hope you choose to return in the future and possibly stay in one of our rooms in another section of the hotel, which offer a different style. I would also like to offer my assurances that the issues mentioned in your feedback, such as the wobbly table, have been brought to the attention of our management team. We are looking into our spa rooms to ensure any necessary repairs are made. I have also passed along your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet. Again, we appreciate you sharing your remarks as we are always looking to improve our service offering. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Have stayed in the hotel 3 times over the past 6 months and have really not a bad thing to say. (maybe a bit pricey but worth it). During my stays I ate in both the bar and the restaurant and really enjoyed both. It was so nice to come back to a hotel 2 months after your last visit and have a staff member remember you by name and what your drink was! Particular gratitude to Martin, Siva and Morgan for their hospitality. I will be seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Stephen H,

Thank you for your review of your recent visits to The Maryborough. We’re delighted you’ve chosen to return to us when traveling to Cork on business. It’s great to hear you’ve enjoyed the food in the restaurant and bar, and we’re so glad our restaurant team has been able to enhance your stay. Thank you for your compliments of the staff, and I will be sure to pass them along to the team. Personal service is an integral part of The Maryborough culture, and it’s always wonderful to hear stories from our guests about how that service is carried out. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L.
Digital Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,236 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $117 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing