We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel with amazing garden. Was there recently and it was wonderful been able to sit outside in the garden with a bbok and enjoy the sunshine. The rooms are clean and spacous. The spa rooms have a big jacuzzi bath and a wall covered in tiny lights. The food is great. The staff are attentive and professional, always plesant. The gym and the pool is clean and a good size. The hotel definately deserves it 4 stars and i always enjoy going back there.

Room Tip: Spa rooms have a big jacuzzi bath-a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collkiv100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    446
    181
    79
    35
See reviews for
399
808
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Took my elderly tee-total mom for afternoon tea at Maryborough today for her birthday. From the minute we arrived to the moment we left the entire afternoon was wonderful, staff couldn't have been more helpful and the tea itself was just perfect. The tea/coffee kept coming and the little fancies were just right for the occassion. Mom also received a free cocktail (non-alcoholic) for her birthday which she really enjoyed. The staff were efficient and most helpful and I would highly recommend the afternoon tea for just a quiet bite or an occassion.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juneygogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

So we probably could have booked a week in Lanzarote for what we spent on 2 nights here!! We booked one of the spa bedrooms which had a jacuzzi tub in it, amazing room!!! However because it was below ground level it could feel slightly claustrophobic. Staff were nice & we had a lovely stay. Only down the road from some other pubs and bars which was good. The only bad thing I would say was that the breakfast on both mornings was absolutely revolting. Anything fried (eggs, sausages, bacon) all tasted of fish! They must have been frying everything in the same oil or something but for us (as non fish people) it was stomach churning at that hour of the morning.
Would return.....if we won the lotto!

Room Tip: Spa rooms great for a couples weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InstaDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend and we can't say this was a 4 star hotel. Just a few points to consider:

Service:
Excellent. Lovely and dedicated staff.

Room:
Dirty windows. No glass in the shower. Old blinds with holes (we thought it was a nice details to put stars on the blinds). Stains on walls, ceiling and floors. Bad isolation (1cm gap under the door). Horrible pillows.
Restaurant:
90's decoration. Naked cables on columns. Overcooked steak when I asked medium/rare(basic for a chef). Super over cooked sea bass (another basic). Frozen fries (why you do this?).
Breakfast:
Poor quality ingredients in the full Irish breakfast. Worst coffee I tried in my life, it was just brownish water(please do something about it ASAP).
We had the Afternoon tea and it was very nice but I couldn't ask for coffee...
Spa:
All very good.
General hotel facilities:
There are marks on the walls all over the place. In the corridors you will be lucky if you can see a straight painting on the wall. Or in a stairs hall the same painting in opposite walls. This shows that no- one is taking care of the facilities. A 4 star hotel requires attention to detail.

Honestly, we will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMDUB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that most of your experience, especially with the level of service received from staff, has been a positive one.

Certainly the quality of food or beverages served should be of a very high standard in a 4 star hotel like the Maryborough Hotel and Spa. We strive to exceed expectations and therefore appreciate any feedback given by guests, both positive and negative.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on cczerny@maryborough.ie, should you wish to discuss your review in more detail.

Kind regards,

Claudia Czerny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've stayed here a few times but we went for my dads 60th, the reception staff upgraded my parents for free to the master suite, it was stunning and so special for them. everything went perfectly for the weekend. Food is superb however the menu is a little confusing, the side dishes for the mains have to be ordered separate this really should be said by your waiter/waitress As we didn't have a clue and ended up getting the meat and meat only :( breakfast was gorgeous and the staff were lovely... Overall the whole experience was tip top :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymakers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am allergic to the term 'Hen' weekend, the connotations give me palpitations and a rash. I am not alone, our soon to be married daughter also finds the Hen Hotel packages consisting of inflatable things, wearing of embarrassing items and drinking until memory is a distant past, horrific.
The job of finding a spa weekend for 9 girls was left to myself and her amazing bridesmaid. I research at length and finally rang 6 in different locations. The response from several of the hotels left a lot to be desired. Ranging from "take it or leave it" to "whatever" attitude. I had a final selection of two and then I rang the Maryborough Hotel & Spa in Cork, Ireland. The receptionist was so lovely, my mind was made up. Bridesmaid and I met with our individual final selections.
I said I found the hotel, great reviews backed up with such helpful staff on the phone. . She answered all my questions and willing to tailor the weekend. She said she found one too and the receptionist was so helpful. Yep, you got it. Same hotel.
The hotel went to such effort to make the weekend a lovely experience. One staff member went to the trouble of remembering the girls names until they changed for dinner. Gone were the jeans and into cocktail dresses, totally confusing the poor man. Spa left them relaxed and happy. I being Mama, came down on the next night to enjoy pre dinner cocktails and an amazing dining experience with excellent service. All this while hosting a large wedding AND communion day for zillions of boys and girls running around. Nothing phased the staff and at the end of the evening, they were still smiling. Now that's an achievement for any hotel. Management and staff, our congratulations to you all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful relaxing place to go. We spent a fantastic week here in May. the gardens are amazing and the spa is great. loved the food in the bar and restaurant and found the staff really helpful. Little bit expensive but you get what you pay for here in comparision to other hotels for the same price. Breakfast is sensational.....pancakes with maple syrup, eggs benedict, eggs florentine, kippers, smoked mackeral, the usual full breakfast, loads of choice for everyone. Nice selection of whiskeys innthe bar. Walking distance from the south county bar which has good food and traditional music. Also has a bus stop 200 metres from the enterance.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranmcg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing