We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
1 review
“Fantastic hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending two nights in the Maryborough Hotel, I can not recommend it highly enough. My friends and I enjoyed great service and attention from the wonderful staff in every area of the hotel. Every request was attended to! We were able to enjoy fun and energising zumba with Francine, and Samuel was very helpful in the leisure centre. All the waiters and waitresses were wonderful in the restaurant and credit to the chefs who provided delicious 3 course dinners and breakfast. The spa was beautiful and we all received very relaxing and enjoyable treatments. Credit to the bartenders and the members of staff at reception who helped to make our weekend a very memorable experience. I only wish the Maryborough hotel was closer to where I lived so I could enjoy the delicious food, the gym and spa treatments on a regular basis. I will definitly be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    447
    180
    79
    35
See reviews for
399
807
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided, last minute, to stay in the Maryborough Hotel for one night just to get away! On arriving at reception we were told we had been upgraded to a Spa room! The room was amazing! A fabulous spa jacuzzi with a relaxing lounger on either side was in a tiled area opposite the double bed. The bathroom of shower and toilet was hidden by a sliding door and the his and hers sinks over looked the bed! Such a different hotel room to what we've stayed in before! Off to dinner then which was included in our stay of 65pps. For starters I had prawn ketafi, and himself and mini burgers, we both had steak for our main course (which along with sides and drinks cost extra which we knew in advance!). For dessert we had cheesecake and doughnuts with warm chocolate soup and strawberries! We couldn't fault either the meal or the service! Looking forward to staying again soon!

Room Tip: Enquire about an upgrade to a spa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelM11_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had two nights stay and an evening meal, nice breakfasts, fresh fruit a bit scarce, otherwise good service,
My wife enjoyed the spa.
I used the pool, ok except for the stuff floating on the water. I mentioned to the attendant who appeared to take the matter seriously.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely hotel, stayed here for a wedding. Found the hotel to be nice and peaceful and a lovely mix of old and new. Our room was on the 3rd floor. not much of a view but comfortable and modern. Disappointed with the breakfast but everything else was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night in this great Hotel and it was a pleasant surprise, staying with children can be stressfull, but after our stay we were relaxed and destressed. It was perfect for families the interconecting rooms were ideal for us, the food was great with an extensive menu, the staff were overly helpful and they really looked after us. I couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T123Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently booked a last minute stay at the Maryborough. I have never been to cork and was most delighted when I arrived at the fabulous hotel. My bags were brought to my absolutely fabulous spa room! I was blown away by the cleanliness and attention to detail in the decor of my room! I especially enjoyed sitting in my bed gazing at the starry lights on my wall door open listening to the trinkle of the water feature outside! I had a fabulous relaxing weekend the super friendly staff and top class facilities made me go home feeling like a million dollars! Highly recommend this hotel for weekend away from it all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am just home after staying at the Maryborough Hotel & Spa feeling totally refreshed and revived.I stayed with my dear pal and found it to be simply wonderful.The staff were so helpful and friendly,the food was amazing.As part of our stay we had the pleasure of enjoying a 4 course meal which I would rate as 5 stars.We stayed in the spa room which certainly had the WOW factor.If your looking for a girlie night away this is the place to do it.looking forward to our return trip already.

Room Tip: book a spa room and be wowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkLizh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you left here feeling so refreshed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maryborough Hotel & Spa in the near future.


Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing