We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
wexford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back Again!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Husband & I spent another wonderful night in Maryborough last week, and it is fair to say nothing has changed!! It is still one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in, and believe me, as I travelled for work that has been a lot of hotels.Everything is exceptional in this Hotel from the friendly and helpfull staff to the food and the rooms.
When we were there the Restaurant was having a refit, but apart from knowing it was happening there was no disruption to the quality of food or service either in The Restaurant or Bar..
I cannot wait to get back to see what it all looks like when it is finished!!
Many Thanks to all especially Carmel in Reservations for all her help with an upcoming Ladies weekend in The New Year.... Oh and welcome back to Sarah!!!

Room Tip: It is easy to pick a good room in this Hotel as they are all of a very high Standard, but my favouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review. I am glad to be able to pass on the nice comments to both Carmel and Sarah. Now that the new restaurant is open, we would love for you to return and see the finished product. It is always well appreciated to get return guest compliments, so thank you once again.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    471
    192
    84
    38
See reviews for
428
876
54
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had no expectations when we booked this stay but what we found was beyond ANY of our wildest dreams. Our suite was unexplainable. There are some pictures but if you can - book it for yourself and you'll see what I mean. With the exception of one stand-offish receptionist who greeted us on arrival, the staff was so friendly from the other receptionists to the bartenders, porters, waiters and the like. The food? AWESOME. I had one of the best pork dishes ever and our breakfast in the morning was delicious. It's not too far from the center of town and we will be staying again when we go back to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

All we can say is WOW also after your very nice comments. I am really happy that you went to the trouble of not only writing a review but also posting some photos up of your room. Thank you so much as we love to see our customers leaving with the WOW factor !!!

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I arranged a meeting with a business colleague at the Maryborough hotel. I believed the establishment to be of reputable standards. When I walked in the door I my first impression was that I would be kept waiting as three members of staff were on phones in reception, and another was rummaging through paperwork while a line of about 6 people were waiting to be seen to. I asked a member of staff, whom, I believed to be free as she had stopped talking on the phone, where a certain area in the hotel was, she started another phone conversation and then just pointed to a door with a not very pleasant tone.
When eventually found where I was going (I did have to ask another member of staff, who was helpful) I sat down to eat with only to hear very loud sounds of electrical tools coming from directly overhead. These went on intermittently throughout the meal. I understand that work needs to take place, but surely this room was not being used for dinners throughout the entire day, and perhaps work could have been timed more appropriately.
On the other hand, the food was nice and the staff in the restaurant were friendly.
This was my first visit to this hotel and I'm not sure if I will return or would recommend. More for the initial 'welcome' at reception rather than the works being carried out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. On this occasion, we have come out very badly and for this I am very disappointed. Normally our welcome is of a very friendly and efficient manner so we will be discussing this matter some more within the Front Office department. I am glad to say that the building work has finished and the result is a beautiful new restaurant. We did try to keep the intrusion to a limit during this time. I would love for you to return some day so that you could see for yourself that what you experienced is not always the case in The Maryborough Hotel. Should you wish to discuss the matter more, please contact me at dheaney@maryborough.ie

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday with my sisters and friends. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff were friendly and attentive. Our dinner in the restaurant was 1st class and our whole break was great success

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith_flood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Judith_flood

Thank you for your kind review. Again Happy Birthday. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the royal treatment, after all it's not every day that you hit the big 50. We would love to see you return again soon. Thank you for sharing your special moment with us

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Maryborough while attending a local conference, I have to say I was very impressed overall. A lovely period building meets a modern hotel & spa, I couldn't quite get over the scale of it, it certainly doesn't look as big from the front. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful, the food was excellent and even though there was a wedding on the same night, it didn't interfere with our enjoyment in any way.

I am knocking one star in this review because our room was overly modern and impractical, no mirror over bathroom sink, very difficult to get into shower and a picture on the ceiling over the bed were just some of the items I will mention. It didn't bother me too much but I would have preferred a standard room.

Overall, great stay, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room, the modern wing of the hotel have bedrooms that are just impractical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patch_Rick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear jfgleeson

Thank you for a nice review on Trip Advisor.

I am very happy that you were impressed with The Maryborough Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that you did not however like the Spa room. Next time, I would recommend a garden facing room over looking the beautiful gardens. We welcome your return.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Maryborough Hotel in Cork. From the moment I arrived until my departure, I felt welcomed and relaxed. Jenny on reception is an absolute bonus for any hotel. She was welcoming, friendly, competent and helpful. My room was large and very comfortable and was complete with a fresh large bottle of water each day, something many hotels don't offer. I had room service which was tasty and reasonable. I was lucky to be seated at the same table for breakfast each morning as the lady (of a more mature vintage!) who looked after the table was a joy. In fact, the staff could not have been nicer. The food at breakfast was great, loads of choice, cooked breakfast was cooked as required unlike other hotels where it is often sitting getting dried up in a warming container. The only minus was that I could not stay for longer! I look forward to being able to stay there again sometime in the future and would thoroughly recommend the Maryborough Hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor overlooking the garden and it was quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deise1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Deise1944

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be very happy to pass on your nice comments about Jenny & Kitty. They, like all of our staff are our greatest assets. We pride ourselves in looking after our customers.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having had a short break in the Maryborough I would happily return. The hotel is nicely located on the outskirts of Cork city in the leafy suburbs, but within a few minutes drive of a lot of amenities if you actually felt like leaving the comfort of the surroundings on site. On arrival reception looks extremely dated but I believe work is underway on some aspects of the hotel at the moment. This however does not remotely detract from the newer part of a beautiful facility. The room was warm and comfortable, nice bathroom too. There is a plentiful supply of free to view tv channels in the room also. The bar area has luxurious leather couches that make people watching over a nice beverage a treat. Special mention goes to the barmen, who couldn't have been more personable and helpful. The leisure facility and spa were lovely, the thermal spa room is highly recommended. If there is one criticism it lies in the restaurant dinner menu which was a tad pretentious and reads like an episode of Masterchef. It would be great to see some staples on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Irishness,

Thank you for a very nice review on trip Advisor.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As per your comment on the restaurant menu, Brendan, our restaurant chef is indeed 'masterchef' quality. He takes great pride in writing the best menu that he can with the best ingredients available. Should you ever need to suggest an alternative dish to what's on the menu, I'm sure that he would be happy to oblige.
We have now opened up our new restaurant , Bellini's and it is a great success, please call back again sometime soon.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,466 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing