We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel set on mature grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel set on mature grounds”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Maryborough while attending a local conference, I have to say I was very impressed overall. A lovely period building meets a modern hotel & spa, I couldn't quite get over the scale of it, it certainly doesn't look as big from the front. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful, the food was excellent and even though there was a wedding on the same night, it didn't interfere with our enjoyment in any way.

I am knocking one star in this review because our room was overly modern and impractical, no mirror over bathroom sink, very difficult to get into shower and a picture on the ceiling over the bed were just some of the items I will mention. It didn't bother me too much but I would have preferred a standard room.

Overall, great stay, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room, the modern wing of the hotel have bedrooms that are just impractical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patch_Rick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear jfgleeson

Thank you for a nice review on Trip Advisor.

I am very happy that you were impressed with The Maryborough Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that you did not however like the Spa room. Next time, I would recommend a garden facing room over looking the beautiful gardens. We welcome your return.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    469
    192
    82
    37
See reviews for
426
873
53
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Maryborough Hotel in Cork. From the moment I arrived until my departure, I felt welcomed and relaxed. Jenny on reception is an absolute bonus for any hotel. She was welcoming, friendly, competent and helpful. My room was large and very comfortable and was complete with a fresh large bottle of water each day, something many hotels don't offer. I had room service which was tasty and reasonable. I was lucky to be seated at the same table for breakfast each morning as the lady (of a more mature vintage!) who looked after the table was a joy. In fact, the staff could not have been nicer. The food at breakfast was great, loads of choice, cooked breakfast was cooked as required unlike other hotels where it is often sitting getting dried up in a warming container. The only minus was that I could not stay for longer! I look forward to being able to stay there again sometime in the future and would thoroughly recommend the Maryborough Hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor overlooking the garden and it was quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deise1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Deise1944

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be very happy to pass on your nice comments about Jenny & Kitty. They, like all of our staff are our greatest assets. We pride ourselves in looking after our customers.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having had a short break in the Maryborough I would happily return. The hotel is nicely located on the outskirts of Cork city in the leafy suburbs, but within a few minutes drive of a lot of amenities if you actually felt like leaving the comfort of the surroundings on site. On arrival reception looks extremely dated but I believe work is underway on some aspects of the hotel at the moment. This however does not remotely detract from the newer part of a beautiful facility. The room was warm and comfortable, nice bathroom too. There is a plentiful supply of free to view tv channels in the room also. The bar area has luxurious leather couches that make people watching over a nice beverage a treat. Special mention goes to the barmen, who couldn't have been more personable and helpful. The leisure facility and spa were lovely, the thermal spa room is highly recommended. If there is one criticism it lies in the restaurant dinner menu which was a tad pretentious and reads like an episode of Masterchef. It would be great to see some staples on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Irishness,

Thank you for a very nice review on trip Advisor.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As per your comment on the restaurant menu, Brendan, our restaurant chef is indeed 'masterchef' quality. He takes great pride in writing the best menu that he can with the best ingredients available. Should you ever need to suggest an alternative dish to what's on the menu, I'm sure that he would be happy to oblige.
We have now opened up our new restaurant , Bellini's and it is a great success, please call back again sometime soon.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were so pleased we stayed here. The staff were outstandingly polite, helpful and friendly. It was a treat to find the bottles of wine in our room on arrival were complimentary. (Having been ripped off by mini bar prices elsewhere). We particularly enjoyed the spa and the provision of robes and slippers in the room was welcome. The room was very well appointed and had a good quality digital safe. Our meals were excellent and at breakfast there was a good choice including cheeses, fresh fruit and traditional hot meals. Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Philip1516

Thank you for your very nice review on Trip Advisor.

I am really happy to read your nice comments about our hotel. With great pleasure I will be passing on your nice comments to our staff.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Where do you start? The spa rooms are incredible - romantic, elegant, relaxing; the conference facilities where I was presenting training are excellent; the bar/ restaurant are lovely (could do with nibbles behind the bar & do the eggs benny on a muffin please!!!); the gym is excellent.
Comfortable, professional but with my wife here it also was very romantic
Cheers
Kevin

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskyCubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Maryborough Hotel & Spa. We have noted your recommendations on the eggs benny! Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon at The Maryborough!!

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from attending a wedding. Really impressed with the hotel. We didnt realise it was so good. One complaint we had is with housekeeping staff. From 9am on they knocked three times on our door, waking us each time. Do they understand that people stay in hotels for a break? Totally ignorant of their guests needs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theduke29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic H, Guest Relations Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Theduke29

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm really glad that you saw for yourself how lovely The Maryborough Hotel is. On the issue of housekeeping, I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed. We normally never knock on a door prior to noon if a 'Do not disturb' sign is on the door. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Dominic Heaney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Maryborough was the 3rd hotel of the 4 we stayed at in Ireland on our touring vacation and it was our least favorite. The picture on the web led us to believe it is a old country manor, and while the main entrance is the rest of the hotel is a large modern addition. The rooms are average on size but are decorated in very dark colors and neither the dressing table or bath provided enough light to try on put on make-up. Gents I know that doesn't matter to you, but ladies you know how impossible it can be to see what you're doing with little light.
On top of that our non-smoking room reeked of stale cigarette smell. We opened the outside window/door to get some fresh air only to find three cigarette butts lying on the sill. We do recognize the hotel can't stop guests who disregard the posted no-smoking signs, but the smell was hard to miss in the room and certainly the butts on the window sill were a dead give-away. The hotel can take measures to have cleaning staff report rooms left in that condition and more effort to rid the rooms of the leftover smell. We did call the front desk and they immediately sent a guy up to clean up the debris, but it was too late to freshen the room.
We were at the hotel for only one night and happy to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,459 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,130 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing