We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is quite deceptive, when you arrive the exterior has a beautiful old period house look and feel, however once you walk past the reception area you are in a very modern hotel. Both my wife and myself felt that the "new" part of the hotel could have been more sympathetic to the original building. That said, our stay in the hotel was very enjoyable from an excellent breakfast to a really beautiful dinner on one of the evenings. The waitress was very helpful and made some wonderful suggestions from the menu. Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed on the one-night Romantic Break....we were upgraded to a Spa Guest Room that was really nice (might need a lick of paint here and there but overall lovely) The jacuzzi was a nice addition to the room!

Our package included a four-course meal in the restaurant, could not fault this in any way was really gorgeous and service great!

Had 2 treatments in the spa which is a really lovely quite relaxing place.

Overall a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipperarysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Maryborough. The estate is beautiful and staff were first-rate. The main, historic building is for suites only, so most guests stay in the modern addition overlooking the grounds. There are chairs and tables on the lawn, and occasionally there were people out there talking loudly quite late. That was my only complaint and does not take away from a high recommendation

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Because of a very lively bar scene on the ground floor, those rooms are...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaTer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Receptionist that I had to deal with would need to remember that she is employed in the service industry; her skills were sorely lacking on our arrival. A simple check in turned out to be quite an ordeal. Since I dislike credit cards and don't have one, the receptionist responded at once that "we will require full payment upfront so".......... I have stayed in many hotels before ( most of them more deserving of 4 stars than this hotel ) and have never been so demanded of. I like to pay either by cash or with a direct debit card and so I told the girl, I also told her that I would not pay as she asked but that I would pay in full at the end of my three night stay. Sadly this would not be the last of my dealings with this person, suffice to say that I don't think that we would ever share a polite word if we were to meet again.

Reception staff should always remember that they are the face of an establishment and that first impressions are VERY important to a guest.

Ordered the Indian chicken curry at the bar and the chicken was uncooked ( even though it was cut quite thin ). The bar manager / supervisor was doing the rounds at each table and enquired if everything was ok?, but before I could reply he had moved on to the next table. Not good manners at all. Finally I tidied up my own plates to make room and stopped the same manager and told him that if he had waited for an answer I would have told him about the meal.

I will say that the other members of staff were very professional and well turned out, very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tokyotourist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from relaxing mid week break at Maryborough house. Nestled in beautiful setting close enough to city for easy access but far enough out to feel you are secluded from city bustle.
Welcoming, hospitable and accommodating staff. Excellent breakfasts. Smoothies are delectable and hot options cooked to order. Excellent brown bread. Spa and thermal suite fabulous. Good specials on offer.
My only criticism is that the bar and restaurant menus are exactly the same which was disappointing as we had lunch on arrival & then also had dinner. More variety needed.
Other than that, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a group of people attending a sports conference locally. Myself and one of the other girls in the group checked in earlier than the others to use the pool facilities. At check in the staff were very polite and friendly. We both had similar rooms which were very comfortable and clean. They were on the ground floor with a small patio outside. Each room had a patio though and they were only seperated by a small wooden fence so privacy wasn't really an option! I realised the tv wasn't working in my room so called reception to ask to have it looked at while I went to the pool. The pool itself was lovely as were the changing rooms and the spa area seemed very nice as well although we didn't actually avail of it.
After the pool I returned to my room to find the tv still not working so I called reception again and went ot my friends room to watch a programme we were interested in (I asked reception to contact me here to let me know what the story was but they never did).
The whole group ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely, presented well and with good service. As you would hope for in a hotel like this, the food was served to each person promptly. The bar area was very spacious and comfortablel ideal for a quiet drink after our meal.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent - cooked fresh to order which is more than I would have expected given the way a lot of hotels are going these days.
Overall it was a really lovely stay and an excellent hotel. For some people the tv issue would not bother them in the slightest but I was a little annoyed that it was never sorted out and I was never contaced about it, despite having contacted reception twice myself. I would definitely return to this hotel and would definitely recommend it. I don't think Cork offers a wide range of hotels at this standard for a city of it's size so it is reassuring to know there is a gem in there somewhere ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Maryborough Hotel with 2 other couples during a short trip to Ireland. We were looking for a quiet spot and we found it here. We arrived at 10pm, later than expected and without having had dinner. The front desk said the only restaurants open nearby were Chinese food, so even though the kitchen was closing they prepared platters of sandwiches and soup for us. We were so grateful! A manager stopped by our table in the lounge to apologize that this was all they had, but it was absolutely perfect with some Murphy's and tea and warmed us up. Wonderful hospitality can really set a place apart! The lounge was always busy but never over-crowded, and of course the service was great. The spa is a wonderful oasis of relaxation and everything was very clean. The gym was small but had everything I was looking for and was never really busy. The reception desk was very helpful, making dinner reservations and calling cabs for us. The location is outside of town, so it is nice and quiet, yet easy to get to Cork or any of the small towns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $163 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing