We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice average stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice average stay.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend. Check in was quick. We got a spa room which was a bit of a let down - cold wooden floors, no mirror in the bedroom, clumsy sliding bathroom door, the shower leaked water all over the floor and general ergonomics of the room were not right. I.e. no plug near bed or bathroom mirror. Ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and food was average. The leisure centre was amazing. Clean changing rooms, large pool, nice jacuzzi and sauna. Enjoyed it a lot. Overall a nice hotel but it was also a bit too far from the city centre for my liking.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank worldclasstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    471
    192
    83
    37
See reviews for
427
876
53
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

just home from the maryborough and have nothing only good things to say. from the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the friendliest receptionists who throughout our stay were always helpful,obliging and warm. our room was perfect overlooking the beautiful garden. comfy bed and great sleep had by us both!. breakfast was wonderful. tried something different each morning and all excellant. we ate one night in the hotel and the meal was superb. staff in the restaurant were helpful and friendly as were all the staff in the hotel. loved the spa and thermal suite and used it every day. overall we will def go back and a big thank you for a lovley stay. we loved the wine and strawberries too!! have to mention we had a fab meal in a restaurant in douglas called eco.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Maryborough for one night. The website makes this hotel appear a lot nicer than it actually is. Upon arrival we were told we were staying in one of the spa rooms. There was a very long walk to the room and we noticed that the lift and corridors were dirty. When we turned into the corridor leading to the room we thought we had entered the service area as the walls were very badly marked. The room itself was not very clean. The ceiling was badly damaged, a door was missing off one of the cupboards and there were stains on the furniture. The bathroom door did not close fully but I think this may have been how the bathroom was designed. When we checked in we were told to attend breakfast early to avoid the crowds. We arrived at 09.30 and the restaurant was not very busy however it took 30 minutes for my breakfast order to arrive. I ordered pancakes with mixed berries, which consisted of one strawberry and one raspberry. The bowls at the buffet breakfast area were dirty and it took some searching to fine a clean bowl. I would definitely not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank River07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I came across the Maryborough Hotel & Spa whilst searching for somewhere in Southern Ireland, preferably Cork. The Maryborough came up on a search so I looked through their website. They had a number of deals on so I booked 3 rooms. All too often these days, the anticipation, the website & the glossy pics don't live up to the actuality of a venue, NOT the case at The Maryborough! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel (or the Spa). Whilst we only had a weekend there, the time spent was thoroughly enjoyable. Clean, tidy rooms, well stocked with the essentials. The hotel's decor was lovely with a relaxing yet sophisticated colour scheme. Obviously a popular venue for weddings as we saw two there during our brief stay - this didn't detract from the service we received, it just made the place more vibrant in my opinion. The spa was lovely - you get free use of the Thermal suite if you're staying at the hotel - very nice. We booked a couple of treatments too, on the whole we were all delighted (me especially as I had a hot stone massage!) a friend wasn't too taken with the pedicure though. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was delicious and presented perfectly. The staff (from chamber maids to bar staff) were ALL really friendly & happy to help. A thoroughly enjoyable trip and I will, no doubt, return to the Maryborough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emthejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Exceptional hotel has a country atmosphere in a city. Rooms for various types and tastes including tradional and ultra modern spa rooms. Great spa and health club facilities. A really relaxing busines or holiday destination where the staff are brilliant.

Room Tip: There are at least two different types of room. We got a traditional room and a ulta modern room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foynes, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We attended a relatives wedding in the Maryborough Hotel last week.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty.Lovely receptionist had us booked in in no time.Food at the wedding reception was excellent, hot & promptly served by Maria our waitress for the night.
Our bedrooms were lovely,tastefully furnished & so cosy.The beds were huge & so comfortable it was hard to get out of them in the morning.
The breakfast menu was huge & varied.Our cooked breakfast was served with typical Cork humour by Kitty.(Thank you)
All the staff were so nice & helpful.
I would not hesitate to stay at the Maryborough should the occasion arise.
Thak you Maryborough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Marborough Hotel for two nights at the end of a recent trip to Ireland. We arrived quite tired - after driving for several hours - and without a reservation, but relaxed immediately as a result of the helpful attitude of the Reception staff who dealt with all our requirements and allocated us to a really comfortable room. We ate in the restaurant both nights and at breakfast and found the quality of the cooking exceptionally high. We will certainly return to Maryborough Hotel when next we are in Cork and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Reception staff offered to show us two or three rooms. We chose the one we liked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricklatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing