We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend, Amazing Wedding Venue ..!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend, Amazing Wedding Venue ..!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Marborough Hotel & Spa 20th May 2011 for 3 nights to attend a Wedding. The hotel staff are very friendly. The rooms in the hotel are clean, nicely decorated & large enough (huge queen size bed). The Zings Restaurant was very very nice, the food was outstanding & fairly priced. The bar prices were fairly expensive, but name a 4* hotel that isn't.

The Wedding we attended had the WOW factor, the gazebo was gorgeous and was the suite where the reception was held, the food was also of high quality.

Overall weekend was Excellent. Would recommend this hotel to family & friends and will be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MREEVES66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    447
    180
    79
    35
See reviews for
396
807
48
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed in this lovely hotel on may bank holiday weekend and we had such a lovely time. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the rooms are lovely, the food is delicious. All staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay so pleasant. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridie1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Maryborough 5 times and have always found it extremely comfortable, the service is exceptional, if there is a problem (never a big one) it is always rectified immediately by the very polite, friendly and professional staff.
Food in the restaurant is very good, the breakfasts are excellent! a great choice.
Room service is also very good.
The rooms are well appointed.
The location may not suit everyone as it out of the city centre, but there are bus links and the drive in is easy.
Could spend all day in the spa!
Always our first choice when we are staying in the Cork area

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macyOIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a fine little hotel on the outskirts of Cork. The grounds are very nice and the service is excellent. I arrived about 7:00AM after a redeye flight into Ireland. The staff found me a room right away and I was settled in no time. Food is good and the rooms are very nice, larger than I expected. My only complaint was my stay was not long enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACI120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Went for a two night break with my sister. First time staying there. The grounds were lovely as we were driving in. Reception staff couldn't be more friendly and very helpful.
The room was beautiful and big enough for the two of us. We had dinner one night in the hotel and food was beautiful. We used the Spa the next day and this was the highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel early May and was expecting great things based on the reviews. The place is dirty and run down. We had dinner there and while the food was very good, it is a bit off putting when you are sitting at a table that has dirty place mats, dirty menus and where there are stains on the chairs. The redeeming factors were the staff in the bar and the food. I am baffled at why it gets good reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed with my partner last weekend as we were attending my friends wedding. It was ideal for a wedding, the beautiful gardens and the dome made it a perfect venue. If you are planning a wedding it is definetly worth a visit, it is just stunning.
On arrival we were told we had received an upgrade to one of the spa rooms. The room was spotless and it was in a very quiet area of the hotel. These rooms are very modern and different to your normal room, we loved them.
We didnt eat in the restaurant so i can't comment but the quality of food at the wedding was excellent.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Even with everyone checking in at the same time the reception staff still managed to give us their undivided attention. They made us feel really welcome and were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing