We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rochestown Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Handy location and good facilities”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here recently for work. It's very well located just off the main motorway and close enough to the main city centre. The new parts of the hotel are lovely and the bar and terrace are great. Nice friendly staff too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookevilledublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear brookevilledublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words on Tripadvisor. I was delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can continue to welcome you back for more stays in the Future.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Opertaions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    438
    241
    90
    82
See reviews for
455
448
50
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have never taken a photo of my food..... But I did this morning..... Pity I can't add it here so you could see what we were 'served' for breakfast. Such a pity as the hotel is really lovely and the service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TsalaWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TsalaWaterford,

I was very disappointed to see how disappointed you were in the food and I can assure you I have discussed this with my Executive Chef for Prompt action. I can assure you we are capable for much better and will en devour to make sure this does not occur again.

I do hope to see you back again at some stage in the future so you yourself can experience the positive results of your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very good standard of accommodation; modern beautifully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms, warm, very comfortable beds/ pillows, top class bed linen, towels and toiletries, spotlessly clean, lovely ambiance. Staff very efficient, extremely helpful, friendly, polite and accommodating, the best I have encountered in Eire. Downside, I stayed for 4 nights B and B and had quite poor quality sleep on 2 nights- lots of noise from wedding and party guests and general corridor traffic. I complained to staff but through no fault of management noise did not abate until early hours. Breakfast however was the real down point; it was truly awful on the two occasions I went to the breakfast room and difficult to understand how such poor quality food could be provided in an otherwise top class hotel? For example overcooked porridge, tinned segmented grapefruit (not fresh), cheap concentrated orange juice delivered from a metal canister (the worst I have ever tasted), rubber lukewarm toast, nasty sugar laden cheap commercial pots of marmalade in tiny plastic tubs, poor quality sausages, sloppy scrambled egg etc. This is the sort of breakfast one expects to encounter at the "Inn" style hotel chains and not a 4 Star hotel. The staff in the dining room were wonderful. I did not have time to see or use the swimming pool/ leisure facilities, which looked beautiful. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and am would be very happy to return. The staff and standard of accommodation are excellent and deserve their stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear 38Mac38,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I was glad to read that you thought so highly of the hotel and staff and I wanted to assure you that we take all customer feedback on board as we welcome any opportunity to make improvements for our guests, with this in mind I have passed your comments on breakfast to my Executive Chef for investigation and action as soon as possible.

I do hope to welcome you back in the Future.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I recently stayed here with my two kids and partner. The staff where lovely very friendly and attentive, the room was beautiful very comfy and relaxing, the beds was ever so comfy and perfectly dressed..it was very peaceful and quite even though our room was on the side by the motorway, the bathroom was lovely, clean and we had fresh towels etc on our second morning there. Swimming pool was lovely with small kids pool and attentive staff, would have liked to have a family changing room though but this is only minor. Overall I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jadepr,

Thank you for your kind and positive comments on your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you would return to us again.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night last weekend whilst attending a wedding. Very easily accessed from the motorway, nice bedrooms, well appointed bathroom complete with rain shower and helpful, friendly staff. It is however a sprawling hotel encompassing many reception rooms, bars and restaurants as well as a leisure centre, which is great if that's what appeals to you, to me it appears to lose a lot of character and atmosphere due to its expanse.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolly1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Dolly1912,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the Future.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

In April I celebrated my wedding at the rochestown park hotel. I had 122 guests and booked the upstairs room, which I think is called the estuary suite. Although the hotel was not my first choice, I spoke to a manager after a friends wedding there and was shocked at the package they were offering. I like getting the best value for money so I happily lost my deposit on a different hotel and switched the venue.

The manager I was dealing with was John Paul Carroll, he was incredible from the start. I don't like beating around the bush or small talk in general and he was the best man for the job. He did what I asked with very little messing around. The week before the wedding I was worried about how the room was going to look as I had 2 bands booked (So I needed 2 stages), I also wanted a separate corner of the room for just kids stuff (games/bean bags/sweet cart) and I decided that I wanted the room to look smaller (due to a few people not being able to go and our numbers dropping a little).
JP set up the room with a few hours notice so I could see it and decide if i was happy...he got couches and plants in, had a massive curtain hanging behind the top table and adjusted the stages so the room looked smaller. He absolutely went above and beyond his call of duty.

The menu we decided on was very generous for the package price that we agreed on. Marcus the chef that was handling our menu was great to work with...again no beating around the bush, I was happy to take on board his suggestions and trusted his judgement. Everyone was raving about the food....excellent cuts of beef, the chicken was nice and moist (I was worried it was going to be dry as a lot of mass cooked chicken can be) the veg was nice and fresh, staff were continually topping up plates and having good banter with the guests.

I absolutely loved the day, I was blown away at how the room looked with the candles lighting and flowers, I was so relaxed...there were no issues, JP kept a close eye on everything...he stood watching as the food was being brought out from the kitchen and made sure it was done quickly, he handled the slideshow that we had prepared for the projector and sorted us out for the BBQ the next day including arranging for tvs to show the rugby match for my guests. My friends and family are still raving about it all.

Couldn't be happier with it all, I would recommend the hotel to anyone for their wedding or indeed any type of celebration or function. 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear kerrydee,

I am delighted that the Rochestown Park could assist you in making your wedding day such a happy and joyous occasion for you and your husband. We strive here to make sure all of our wedding couples receive the best service before and on the day and anything we can do yo make your wedding dreams come true we will do. I have passed on your kind words to all of my team and John Paul who you spoke so highly of in your feedback.

I do hope we can welcome you back for many more special occasions to come.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchardstown, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for some weeks with work throughout March and April and I can honestly say I absolutely loved it. From reception staff, to restaurant staff, accommodation staff, bar staff, the gym staff to even the head chef on the buffet at breakfast, everyone is just lovely ! The rooms are huge, immaculately clean and the beds are super comfortable, which is a rarity in hotels now days. Every morning for breakfast you're greeted with nothing but smiles and laughter. Check in is smooth and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The company I work for use this hotel a lot for corporate travelers and we are all in agreement that this hotel is just FAB !! The food was just perfect and again nothing is too much trouble ( I'm sure I had the chefs demented with my seriously picky requests ) The guys behind the bar were absolute gents and extremely friendly !! I just can't fault the hotel at all, and I really hope I'll be back again in the near future :))

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Leanne129,

I was delighted to read your review and share such wonderful comments with my team. I hope we can continue to count on your loyal custom for many more stays to come.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,466 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Park Hotel

Property: Rochestown Park Hotel
Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cork
#12 Business Hotel in Cork
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochestown Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochestown Park Hotel enjoys a luxurious new look after completing an €18 million refurbishment and redevelopment in Oct ’08. An exquisite 4-star hotel with 149 bedrooms and 8 Executive Town Houses. It’s home to Ireland's premier Thalasso Therapy Centre and Beauty Salon as well as an award winning Health and Leisure Centre. The Gallery Restaurant provides guests with a unique dining experience of local produce combined with confident creativity. Suttons Bar and Bistro is fast becoming the place to be seen in Cork with a chic interior design and quirky menu. Situated in the suburbs, walking distance to Douglas village and within 4.5km of the City Centre and 2 km to Cork International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rochestown Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Park Cork
Hotel Rochestown Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing