We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rochestown Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for two nights on the 30th and 31st of December 2013 as we were attending a wedding. Only fault with the hotel is that it is hard to find and you could easily drive by the main entrance. You would need a map to get around the inside of it too. We got a lovely room but there was some faults with it. We contacted reception and they were very helpful and friendly towards us. There were no other room available the first night but second night we were giving a second room. The front office manager Dawn is a true professional. Food is exceptional, so good that we ate there every day,bar food is of the highest quality. Food serviced at wedding was lovely but due to it being plated in front of us it was a bit cold. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of cereals, pastries, juices, fruit and food for a fry. Both rooms we were giving were very spacious with massive showers. We didn't get to us the leisure facilities but they looked really nice. Its only a short distance from the city center which in a taxi would take less than ten minutes. A really nice hotel with plenty of parking. Wifi is available all over the hotel which helps

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collyb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear collyb89,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you thought so highly of out staff. I hope we can welcome you back for many more stays to come.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    426
    236
    89
    81
See reviews for
444
442
47
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Second stay in this hotel. On both occasions we have found service, cleanliness, location and room to be good. Yes there are some areas where it's age shows and that it could be improved on but overall this is a pleasant hotel. Breakfast is of buffet style, nothing fancy with all the usual suspects but perfectly adequate. Excellent value on this visit due to a winter warmer deal which included an average set menu evening meal but the bottle of wine also included made this a bit easier to swallow. There is nothing major to put me off coming back here if the value remains good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear splodgeIreland,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time her and to read that you will return again.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From check in to check out we had a fantastic stay . Staff were lovely , room was clean & spacious , dinner was fantastic. The pool was nice & warm only issue I would have was the changing room in leisure centre was cold but everything else made up for that .
Breakfast was again lovely & plenty available .
All in all a wonderful experience well done all in rochestown park. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuzzie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Wuzzie13,

I was delighted to read your review and delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we can continue to welcome you back for many more stays to come.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night only during December 2103. Bright & contemporary reception area. Room was clean, spacious & bed was very comfortable. Staff pleasant & friendly- will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear DmS8888,

Thank you for your kind and positive words which I have shared with all of my Team.

I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

From the very first moment we went to RPH to organise our wedding we knew that they would give us the day of our lives. They were so generous every time we went to sort various stuff out. They were able to do a good deal. The service leading up to the wedding and on the day itself was amazing. Colm was our wedding coordinator and he was brilliant from start to finish. I expect excellent customer service wherever I go and we certainly got that from RPH. We felt like royalty. Well done to everyone and thanks for everything. The food was excellent and all went smoothly. Thanks again everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear marostar,

I was delighted to read your review and see that Colm and the Team were able to assist you in having the day of your dreams for your wedding and I hope we can continue to welcome you back for many more special occasions to come.

Congratulations again on your wedding and many kind Returns,

Tom Tobin
Head Of operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in February 2014 for business.
First impressions good - quick check in, lots of facilities, busy restaurant, good facilities in room.
On the plus side - good value, good leisure facilities, good food options (but...), excellent steak
On the negative side - room was absolutely freezing, only plug in heater to use which was rubbish, burned garlic bread served with lasagne with no apology, scrambled eggs for breakfast were totally tasteless, toiletries in room of poor standard. Large function on Thursday night left heavy bass noise all night with no warning.

Overall I would have expected more with the star rating. Someone needs to review standards and improve simple things.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear OffalyPk1973,

Thank you for sending us your feedback. I was disappointed to read that we let you down during your stay with the basics particularly the room, food and noise and I can assure you I have shared your comments with my team for investigation and action.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel multiple times over a course of a year. Most of the rooms are spacious and well equipped, although all of the ones I stayed in faced prisonlike inner courtyard and other rooms. Quality of finishes is good but large scale of hotel and tendency for lifts to break can be a little bit annoying when you're forced to navigate your way back to the reception because of failing room key card.

Quality of service is very uneven, reception and restaurant staff is very helpful and polite on some occasions, but if you're unlucky you'll be met with outright rudeness - this applies especially to restaurant staff.

Quality of food seems to have improved, it used to be very, very low last year - this applies to both breakfast and restaurant service, bit its a bit better now (early 2014).

Breakfast offering comprises of full Irish breakfast, smoked fish and very basic selection of cheeses, fruit and youghurt with some fresh baked buns/croissants. If you avoid low quality bacon and sausages the experience is ok, especially when its accompanied by good service (see above).

Restaurant menu is not overly large and although food is obviously pre-cooked as it arrives within minutes from placing the order it is generally acceptable. I actually enjoyed warm chicken and beef salads and soups, but they cannot seem to get right some of the dishes - for instance battered fish is rather unappealing, chips are of frozen variety, and burgers are hardly palatable.

Be warned that this hotel is used often for functions. Therefore it might happen that you will not get as much sleep as you'd like due to other guests enjoying themselves up until early morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maciej D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear maciej D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Tripadvisor review. Please be assured that I and my team take all customer comments and feedback on board and we will use your comments as a retraining tool for our team and make any improvements we can to meet our customers needs.

I do hope we can continue to welcome you to our hotel so you can experience the positive results of your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,411 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Park Hotel

Property: Rochestown Park Hotel
Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cork
#12 Business Hotel in Cork
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochestown Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochestown Park Hotel enjoys a luxurious new look after completing an €18 million refurbishment and redevelopment in Oct ’08. An exquisite 4-star hotel with 149 bedrooms and 8 Executive Town Houses. It’s home to Ireland's premier Thalasso Therapy Centre and Beauty Salon as well as an award winning Health and Leisure Centre. The Gallery Restaurant provides guests with a unique dining experience of local produce combined with confident creativity. Suttons Bar and Bistro is fast becoming the place to be seen in Cork with a chic interior design and quirky menu. Situated in the suburbs, walking distance to Douglas village and within 4.5km of the City Centre and 2 km to Cork International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rochestown Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Park Cork
Hotel Rochestown Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing