We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rochestown Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rochestown Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, on our first night we were on the ground floor next to a very loud party but they moved us to the 4th floor which was much quieter, some of the rooms are adjoining so noise from the next room can seem like it's in your own room. We went for a family event and the hotel gave us a discount on our rooms because of this. Lovely pool and gym facilities, nice bar although there's a nicer bar downstairs that they don't seem to open which is a shame, enjoyed our stay, nice gardens, this hotel used to be a Seminary and that building still remains. Hotel is in Douglas village but it's only 10 mins on the bus into the city centre.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 4th or 5th floors as the main road can be quite noisy, better still try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Parky33,

Thank you for sending me your feedback on your stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you in a quieter room to facilitate this. I will of course take your comments on the downstairs bar under advisement and see if any changes can be made in the summer months.

I do hope we can welcome you and your family back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    411
    226
    84
    78
See reviews for
420
423
44
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from a weekend in the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork, where my wife and i shared a lovely room with our 12 year old son. The room was large with plenty of room for all of us. Kind size double and a single bed in the room. There were weddings on each evening, but we did not hear any noise and had no trouble sleeping. The facilities in the hotel are excellent, especially the swimming pool. The Hotel is close to Douglas village, which is where we ate, so I cannot comment on the hotel foe evening meals, but breakfast was fine. We spent a day in Fota wildlife park, which is just a short drive from the hotel, across the river by ferry.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the trip and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EoghanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear EoghanJ,

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Rochestown Park Hotel and thought so highly of the hotel, staff and facilities. I have shared all of your wonderful comments with my team here as well.

I hope to welcome you back very soon

Kid Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Family Room 420
Half our ambient lights are not working. Cleaners banged on door at 8.30. One tea bag. No safe ("none left"). Awful slow Wifi verging on unusable. Not enough towels. Lifts not even worth getting into. I work for Citco and we have a Corporate rate; mentioned on booking but ignored me thinks.
Other than than great,
Ed :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magicedd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Magicedd1970,

I was very disappointed to read your feedback and see the difficulties you encountered during your stay with the room lighting, wifi and room amenities. I assure you this is not the level of service me and my team like to provide to any of our guests and I will be fully investigating all of your feedback with my team.

I do hope to welcome you back soon you can have another opportunity to experience the level of 4 star service we can provide.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've just returned from a five night family package here. Unfortunately the bedroom allocated to us was extremely dated and basic and definitely not what is advertised on their web site. When we mentioned this to reception, Ronan, the manager on duty, impressed us with his amazing diplomacy, by managing to avert having four unhappy customers by finding us a delux room, even though the hotel was fully booked, being a bank holiday weekend. This room was beauyiful, modern, and what we eould expect from a four star hotel. This turned our holiday around and we had an amazing week. The staff are so friendly, the food in the Gallery restaurant, Sottons Bistto and the breakfast buffet was all amazing. The picnic provided for the day trips was perfect and the swimming pool was spotless and stunning. All in all we hsd a brilliant holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel. Again, fair play to Ronan who turned what could have been a terrible holiday into an amazing one.

Room Tip: Request a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear gracon,

I was delighted to read your feedback and see how Ronan was able to accommodate your needs so well and make sure your holiday started great and I can see from your comments that you really enjoyed your time with us and all the amenities we have to offer for families.

I do hope we can welcome you and your family back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,921 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,045 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stay with our group that stopped here while touring Ireland. Rooms are very spacious as are the bathrooms. Big comfortable beds, mood lighting, tea/ coffee facilities and free wi-fi made this a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review and I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you and your group had a safe journey home and that we may have you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is rated 4 star but really needs to make some improvements to live up to this. The room decor is nice, recently refurbished with comfortable beds but the room itself if a little tight on space. The bathroom is very small and does not have a bath only a shower. It is not possible to open the door of the wardrobe fully as it gets caught in the bedroom door, so not a great design. There was a significant stain on the bed sheet, one that would certainly have been noticeable to the person dressing the bed to prepare the room. On request the sheet was changed and an apology issued.

I would recommend the nearby Maryborough hotel instead if wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Breda G,

I was very disappointed to read your comments on your recent stay and I wanted to apologize for the difficulties you encountered particularly with the room and room maintenance. I also wanted to assure you that we strive to make sure all of our guests enjoy a four star service and I hope to welcome you back soon so you yourself can experience the positive outcome of your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights 6-7 Aug and generally we were happy with the hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was in a good location for walking into nearby village. Staff were helpful and friendly. There was room for improvement. By far the biggest problem was the noise from the adjacent motorway. We were in the East wing and even with the windows closed you could hear traffic noise. The hotel's website doesn't represent accurately the fact that this is a very large hotel attached to a leisure/thalasso complex and is situated next to a duel carriageway. We ate at Suttons bar attached to the hotel which is very pleasant, you can sit outside. The bar inside the hotel off reception was closed? The room was large, bed comfortable and bathroom excellent apart from the hot tap on the wash hand basin - only a trickle of water? Would recommend but there is room for improvement.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMF2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom T, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear SMF2412,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to read that you did enjoy your time with us and would like to advise you that I do take under consideration your comments on the noise from the motorway and this is something that we are looking to improve.

I do hope to see you and your family back soon

Kind Regards,
Tom Tobin
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Park Hotel

Property: Rochestown Park Hotel
Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Family Hotel in Cork
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochestown Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochestown Park Hotel enjoys a luxurious new look after completing an €18 million refurbishment and redevelopment in Oct ’08. An exquisite 4-star hotel with 149 bedrooms and 8 Executive Town Houses. It’s home to Ireland's premier Thalasso Therapy Centre and Beauty Salon as well as an award winning Health and Leisure Centre. The Gallery Restaurant provides guests with a unique dining experience of local produce combined with confident creativity. Suttons Bar and Bistro is fast becoming the place to be seen in Cork with a chic interior design and quirky menu. Situated in the suburbs, walking distance to Douglas village and within 4.5km of the City Centre and 2 km to Cork International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Rochestown Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Park Cork
Hotel Rochestown Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing