We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Host, Location, and Stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is located in a wonderful QUIET historic corner of Cork City called Shandon. This historic 100+ year old building has charm and quirks like the leaking staircase that make it special, not a cookie cutter accommodation that you get at a hotel. Breakfast was filling and delicious, what was in that coffee we will never know. Yum! To our Host we can only say Thank You Martin for having our family of 5 to stay. Your hospitality, assistance and stories were enjoyable every day. I only wish that our stay could have been longer. Our 3 boys keep asking when are we going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank botanical_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Truly a wonderful B&B experience. Loved all of Martin's stories and his interest in hearing from me and my family as well. Gave us great suggestions of what to do in Cork. The B&B is located in a quaint, quiet area north of the city centre but very walkable to all the sights. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but the area is relatively quiet so that was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Em F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here on 29th June as we were going to a concert in the Marquee, location is ideal, in a very quiet secure area with off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to Patrick Street. The room was spotless and airy and the bed was so comfortable I did not want to get out of it, possibly the best nights sleep I have ever had in a B and B!! The owner Martin was so helpful and gave us a lot of historical information on the area, could sit and listen to him all day, he was so interesting. Breakfast was freshly prepared and plenty of toast and coffee,not like the pre prepared Irish Breakfasts you get in hotels.. I would definitely stay here again and is very convenient for concerts in the Marquee as well as shopping. I left my phone charger after me and Martin did not hesitate to forward it in to me. Thank you Martin for making our stay so enjoyable..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SharonB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location, wonderful owner with all kinds of stories. Really great experience all around. We were close to everything, and he even parked our car for us! Nice and simple breakfast, same with the rooms and it was a great experience all around. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

2 friends and I stayed 2 nights here in Cork. Martin was a wonderful host, and a fantastic storyteller. When we arrived he safely parked our car and got us settled. He was eager to help us navigate the city and teach us about Cork and its unique history. We gained a further appreciation of Irish butter as well :) We also met his lovely dog Sammy, whom we were delighted to give belly rubs to. Thank you for your warm hospitality, Martin!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jsteelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just stayed one nite but wish it could have been longer! Our room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfy. Martin and his wife were lovely people and quite helpful,Was just what we were looking for and then some, don't hesitate for one second book now you will NOT be sorry .We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and did a 10 day whirlwind tour and of ALL the places we stayed this was truly our favorite !

Room Tip: ours had a great view ,but I;m sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Exactly what we looking for. Near centre, very quiet, and for sure clean and pretty. Real homemade full Irish breakfast. And the owner, in addition to being friendly, is a living encyclopedia of the city of Cork.Exactly what we looking for. Near centre, very quiet, and for sure clean and pretty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edge s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
810 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butter Market House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Butter Market House 16 Dominick Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butter Market House is centrally located in the historic and cultural heart of Cork city.Just under the world famous Shandon steeple (built in 1722) and next to the Firken CraneArt’s & Dance Centre, adjacent to the Cork Butter Museum. To the rear, just across the river Lee (connected by 4 bridges) is the famous Cork Opera House. Cork’s vibrant shopping centre is in the same area, grandly supplying all the shopping needs of the most discerning customer. Also in this area are some of the finest restaurant’s and hostelries to be found anywhere in the world, giving a truly international flavour to this beautiful city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing